We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Ranked #481 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here while attending a conference at the BICC. The location was really good (5 min walk), but the hotel was disappointing for the price. The upgraded business room had only the basics and the bathroom was poorly done. The "free" internet didn't work most of the time making it frustrating to do any work. I had to visit nearby hotels to get a reliable signal. Lastly, the Elysee restaurant was overpriced for mediocre breakfasts. On a positive note, the service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halifamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    82
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
7
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with four other coworkers. The rooms and services were very inconsistent. While my coworkers were ok with their rooms, the shower in my room leaked and everytime I took a shower, the entire bathroom flooded. The room was tired and needed a overhaul badly to even meet the 4 star hotel standard. The staff at the hotel barely spoke English and the English drink menu printed "Coc*" for 30 RMB (it should be Coke, but it now becomes the ultimate bad translation joke among my friends that you can order a coc* in your room for less than 5 USD). It was very difficult to get a taxi in front of the hotel as the location is out of the main traffic path. What made the hotel worse was the unreliable concierge; the night before my departure date, I had them order a 6:30 AM taxi to airport for the next morning, at 7:00 AM my departure day, the doorman was still standing out on the street trying to get me a taxi. Since it was very difficult to get a taxi during rush hour in Beijing, I almost missed my return flight because of it. While the regular taxi fee was less than 100 RMB, my coworkers left a day earlier, they used the hotel car to get to the airport for 600 RMB but they did get to the airport on time.

I would stick with the western brand Crown Plaza across the street next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEBinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was there for a couple of nights on a business trip. Location was good relatively to where we were working. I have no idea if it would be a good place to stay as a tourist. There are a few good restaurants nearby though most are a bit hard to get to because it requires crossing a big, busy street. Same with the bird's nest - it's right next door but it isn't obvious how to get in to walk around. The nighttime view of the Birds Nest stadium was pretty spectacular. Both nights I was there there was a concert in the stadium and it was pretty loud, but inside my room it was quiet. The bed was perfect.

I used the gym one day - nothing special at all, quite small. The buffet breakfast was excellent, as was the Chinese restaurant in the lobby.

Room Tip: Above the 12th floor the rooms have a great view of the Bird's Nest stadium. The otheralso have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in August. The location is great for the Beijing International Convention Centre with only a 5 minute walk separating the two. Also great if you want a stroll (or jog - not recommended with the air quality being as it is) around the 2008 Olympic park.

Staff are limited in their English language ability - as is the case in much of Beijing - which makes ordering room service problematic. Beware of the surcharges on lots of things such as laundry and room service, these can add up. Breakfast was vast and varied, costs about £10 if you don't have included in your room price.

There is a TGI Fridays attached to the hotel on one side and a bakery on the other. Both very good if you want to get away from the hotel food. I'd recommend turning left out of the front of the hotel and walking 200 metres to the "beer garden", which operates like a hawker stall in Singapore but with a top up card; so, give the attendant 100 or 200 Yuan, they'll give you a card with the credit on, then walk up and down ordering your food or beer. This was by far the cheapest food in the area.

The hotel itself is far from a number of tourist attractions but the hotel has a handy little card that you can take with you that has all of the main attractions written down in English and mandarin, so if all else fails, pull the card out and point, the taxi driver should get you there (hopefully!).

Overall, a pleasant stay.

Oh, for non-smokers it can be unpleasant as everywhere there is the pungent smell of smoke. Ash trays on non-smoking floors is a good indicator to how little attention is paid to this rule...

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bird's nest. It lights up every night at dusk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mail4matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has an enviable location next to the Olympic Stadium and all the olympic venues made famous by the 2004 Olympics. However, it felt somewhat isolated from many of the attractions. Nevertheless, we were there on a business trip, not to go and see attractions. The hotel has a nice restaurant in the lobby area. The restaurant serves mostly chinese cuisine, which is nice as we were able to taste the local food. This place was critical for us, as we were having a hard time trying to communicate with people. It was really easy to go down, get breakfast, lunch or dinner without the hassle of trying to communicate by signs. There is also a TGI Friday in the lobby area. The staff was mostly cordial. They barely speak english, so at times, it was difficult to communicate. Regardless, we were in their country and it is our responsibility to try to adjust to the situation, not the other way around.

The room was huge and clean. While it was supposed to be a non-smoking room, one could still smell smoke. In fact, while walking to our room, many time we saw people smoking with their room door open. So, it was no surprise that we were able to smell cigarette smoke in our room. Overall, I will stay in this room, if on a business trip to northern part of Beijing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Keeping in mind that location compared to your intended activity, this hotel can be a fine choice. My room was a "superior" room, also known as a Business Suite. It had a separate sitting room and bedroom arrangement with work desks in both rooms. The breakfast buffet is excellent and an evening meal at the hotel's Chinese restaurant was of the highest quality. Cleanliness was acceptable though there were telltale dark spots in the bathroom tile work. Room and building infrastructure worked very well with plenty of lighting and good air conditioning in the guest rooms. The hotel did not have the evident odors of stale beer or cigarette smoke that dominate many Chinese hotels and my non-smoking room appeared to be just that, a non-smoking room and not just a room without ash trays. Staff is diligent but English is a stretch for many. What they lack in foreign language skills isle than made up for in positive attitude and diligence. The marketing as a five star hotel does not hold up but this certainly can be classed as a good, striving to please 3 1/2 star property on an international scale.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Firstly Im not complaining that few of the staff seemed to speak English and most of them not brilliantly and I dont think anyone should, its a Chinese owned hotel in the Chinese capital. It seems to cater for a mostly Chinese clientel. What else would you expect?
And having a window that you can see through (ie its not frosted) between the bedroom and the bathroom seemed a bit strange.
Ive seen complaints about sex toys being sold mini bar style in the bathroom, this isnt unusual in Beijing.
The staff despite the fact that most couldnt comunicate with us in our language were all very helpful and attententive.
The rooms were not as luxurious as some, and the windows were on the small side, but the furniture was better built than at some more expensive places Ive stayed.
They have two Chinese restaurants, some shops selling clothes, souvenirs and a useful litlle shop that sells anything you would need really, snacks, toiletries, wine, cases and more but its round a corner from the lifts, you have to look for it.
There's the Elysee restaurant which also doubles as the nearest this place has to a hotel bar, it sells Boddingtons Beer amongst others and thats a plus point for me. Its supposed to be European and it is almost, but they are friendly folks, the prices are very good and if you get a window seat at the back you get a view of the birds nest stadium.
There is also a TGI Fridays and a nice cake shop in the front of the Building.
If you want other restaurants, there is a shopping centre at the olympic park or you can cross the main road in front of the hotel and then go a small way to what is your left if you have your back to the hotel to the cross roads at the entrance to the Olympic park and then up the Huizhong Road which is the one that runs at right angles to the road the hotel is on and on the opposite side, If you look there are one or two places to eat on the opposite side of the road (the side that the National Jade Hotel is on) keep walking to the next junction you'll find plenty of places to eat, whichever way you go.
There is a subway station at the shopping centre in the olympic park.
The prices are good value, for both rooms and to use the restaurants.
Taxis are plentiful and cheap
I found that my room was cleaned to a high standard
when I used both of my complimentary bottles of water, they put more in the room.
it has a relaxed informal atmosphere, Id go back.
The bed was firm and comfortable
The curtains kept all daylight out when closed
my room was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middenface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#134 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Asian Games Village
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Asian Games Village
Pangu 7 Star Hotel Beijing
Pangu 7 Star Hotel Beijing
#94 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Skylight Catic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Skylight Catic Hotel

Property: Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Address: No.18 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Region: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Skylight Catic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Skylight Catic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing