We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't recommend enough ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The HuLu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The HuLu Hotel
Ranked #68 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Can't recommend enough ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Hulu is a great change after big chain hotels in Beijing with their attentive service and lovely design. Great central location in a peaceful courtyard, nice breakfast and unique design make it one of the best places to stay in Beijing. Many thanks again to the stuff for making us feel at home at Hulu!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roopet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    59
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
116
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in the hulu hotel for 6 nights in june 2014 as part of our honeymoon. And we loved staying here! :-) The staff is very helpful and kind, trying to make it as comfortable as possible. Giving useful suggestions for visting the great wall, arranging a taxi to bring us to the airport, and we loved the dinner on our final day before leaving for our flight. :-)
Rooms are very clean and nice. Airconditioning in the rooms makes it even more comfortable, as the temperatures rose to over 43 degrees celsius during our stay. ;)
The hotel is located in a traditional hutong in the heart of Beijing, and within walking distance of the forbidden city, tiananmen square etc. Subway stations, restaurants and convenience stores are around the corner :)

Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjruigrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Hulu Hotel is located in the old Hutong district. There are only 8 rooms are all are equally wonderful. This place is a true gem. You will be treated like an individual and catered for well. Our room was very comfortable, a good size and a large clean bathroom. Breakfast was divine, choose from a reasonable size fare from the ipad and it will be cooked and delivered, as many items as you wish to eat. Everything we chose was wonderful. Our only problem was we could not stay longer to envy this great space. Walking distance to Forbidden City, Maos Mausoleum. Great local restaurant in the next small Hutong street, local BBQ hotspot style.

Room Tip: If you want a bath request that room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAZJMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for ten nights in May while visiting our daughter studying in Beijing. It is a small hotel comprising 8 rooms. The staff are all young and most work part time and are studying. They were very welcoming and friendly and would try and accommodate all our requests. The hotel is located in a Hutong which is a traditional Chinese street and you certainly get a feel for the local area rather than being up high in a chain hotel. Breakfast is cooked to order and there are western and Chinese dishes. The menu is fairly limited and we were looking forward to something different by our tenth morning. The rooms were clean and fresh although the shower over the bath in our room tended to flood over the side of the bath and over the floor. Our room had table and chairs outside which was a pleasant place to sit and drink coffee and tea which can be purchased. The hotel is not staffed after midnight and while this was not a problem during our stay, no instructions were provided about what to do in case of emergency. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hulu but to make it even better thought could be given to providing a kettle and small fridge in the rooms to allow hot drinks to be made out of hours (reception opens at 7.30 am). In addition, while there are lots of movies and TV series available to be downloaded for free, all of the TV channels are in Chinese. It would be great to have one English speaking news channel. However, these are all minor things which do not detract from all the wonderful positive aspects of the hotel. For somewhere different with attentive staff you can't go wrong with the Hulu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hulu is tucked away on a quiet hutong close to two central underground stations. My partner and I just loved it: the room was cute and stylish, the hotel is calm and peaceful and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Being a "smaller" hotel, we were treated like individuals. I would definitely recommend it and go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Londo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This fantastic little hotel was a lovely end to a two week journey in China!

Located down a hutong (traditional Beijing alley), you will be forgiven in thinking you've walk down the wrong street given the residential Hulu is located... But what awaits you when you find the front door is a tranquil retreat you need after the crazy crowds in Beijing.

The room and bathroom has been beautifully decorated with comfortable bed and soft pillows! The bathroom is clean and stocked with lovely L'Occitane toiletries. While a kettle and cups don't come standard with the room, if you ask reception for them, they happily provide you a set. The breakfast that's included in the rates is great - there is some variety and you order what you want each morning. It can take a little bit of time to make, so make sure you factor that into your day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved this place! It was quiet, clean, and near the metro. The staff were very helpful and their English was excellent. My only suggestion would be to have more staff cooking breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#103 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#65 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The HuLu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The HuLu Hotel

Property: The HuLu Hotel
Address: No.91 Yanyue Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The HuLu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HuLu is a courtyard hotel in the middle of the old Beijing city. Just 10 mins away from The Forbidden City (by bike). The courtyard is combined with vernacular wooden houses and new modern building together. All rooms are well renovated with wooden furniture and equipped with floor heating and cooling system. The HuLu is an ideal place to experience the traditional context with modern comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The HuLu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing