We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small gem a stone's throw from the Forbidden City”
Review of The HuLu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The HuLu Hotel
Ranked #84 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Hulu is a small gem very centrally located in a hutong, 25 mins walking from the Forbidden City. It can be found between Dongsi and Dengshikou subway stations.
The staff, all composed from young people, is extremely friendly.
We found it to bring good value for money when compared to other hotels in the surroundings.
Bedrooms are not huge, but nicely decorated with traditional furniture, and very comfortable. Kettle is available. Good amenities from L'Occitane.
We did a Great Wall tour, to Mutianyu, arranged by them, which we definitely recommend.
There's plenty of offer for the breakfast: eggs, omelette, french toasts, Chinese pancakes, wonton, etc. Though, their coffee can be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The HuLu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

if your looking for glitz and glamour this is not the place for you. You will find a very nice, well kept mini-hotel, with a great staff that is very willing to help in anyway they can. But make no mistake this is a hutong in a hutong area! So if you want to experience what it is like to live in a hutong (even though I suspect, the Hulu Hotel is a very upscale hutong compared to the others in the area) this is the place for you. I'll have to admit though, at times I wondered if the local residents mind us visitors from far off lands being their neighbors for such short periods of time. To me it may be one thing to visit the hutongs but another thing to have to live there, I'm sure the other residents hutongs do not look like the Hulu hotel inside! But maybe they do???
Please understand there was no problems with any of the locals, and we even seen some smiles,

The Hulu Hotel itself is great, perhaps the perfect place to get away! The Breakfast provided by the staff was very good! The Staff is wonderful and can offer suggestions on places to eat.

The area is safe, even though westerners not familiar with walking down narrow alleys at night may not think so, there are several good restaurants near by (Try No. 9 a few blocks away) and many stores near by where you can buy anything from food, to clothing. Taxis are easy to get and you can go anywhere, Be sure to visit Art Zone 798, a great day trip!

I think this would be a great retreat to get away from the modern world for a few days, take some walks, enjoy the people and food. Leave your cell phone and laptop at home! Experience something truly different!

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank HeadsUp737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I decided to book a room at Hulu Hotel for our stay in Beijing on 30th June to 5th July 2014 after reading many great reviews on the hotel. This hotel didn't disappoint us at all. In fact, we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Orange and other staff were all very friendly and helpful and tried their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Another great thing about staying in Hulu Hotel was there were not too many rooms, so every guest was treated as an individual rather than just a number. We did feel like at home at Hulu Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Unique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This charming little hotel of only 9 rooms sits hidden in the hutongs of Beijing. Outside vendors are yelling out to passers-by trying to sell their wares, cars honking and the bells on bicycles ring away constantly but inside the compound of the Hulu hotel, it is another world.

The next morning, we were not expecting much of the breakfast which is included in the cost of the room, but we were pleasantly surprised with how substantial and great tasting it was. It would have been hard for tourists to find a good sit-down breakfast place in the vicinity so this greatly satisfied us.

The city is very chaotic and every tourist attraction is always chock full with people. All of this can get to anyone. You would not waste a day if you decide to stay in the hotel and have some peace and quiet for a change because on the roof-top, you can usually have it all to yourself and read from your iPad or write, whatever you feel like doing. Sort of have a day to recharge yourself before you go out and explore again. The staff is very helpful in advising you where to go for meals. In the surrounding hutong area, there are many small, local restaurants which serve up tasty fares and for very reasonable prices.

On the third day of our stay, it had started to rain at night and into the morning. When we were ready to venture out we were pleasantly surprised that the staff had left an umbrella at our door. I love little things like that. That tells me that they were thinking of us.

I love simplicity done in a tasteful way and the Hulu hotel certainly is that. And just when you think it can not get any better, the staff gave us a little momento to remember them by when we checked out.

Keep up the great work, Hulu hotel! We certainly will come back again the next time we are in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Bei House, it was very quiet except for the next door neighbour for that one night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whichcitynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a great two nights in this charming hotel in central Beijing. Great location for exploring the Forbidden City - hire the HuLu's bikes to range a little further. Incredibly friendly staff with great English - they even have homemade cookies on offer. Check out the little roof terrace about the breakfast room - a lovely place to chill out after a long day with views across the Hutong rooftops. Blissfully comfy beds. A simple set up that is perfect for those who don't want a big chain, preferring to get a taste of local living.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Hulu is a great change after big chain hotels in Beijing with their attentive service and lovely design. Great central location in a peaceful courtyard, nice breakfast and unique design make it one of the best places to stay in Beijing. Many thanks again to the stuff for making us feel at home at Hulu!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roopet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in the hulu hotel for 6 nights in june 2014 as part of our honeymoon. And we loved staying here! :-) The staff is very helpful and kind, trying to make it as comfortable as possible. Giving useful suggestions for visting the great wall, arranging a taxi to bring us to the airport, and we loved the dinner on our final day before leaving for our flight. :-)
Rooms are very clean and nice. Airconditioning in the rooms makes it even more comfortable, as the temperatures rose to over 43 degrees celsius during our stay. ;)
The hotel is located in a traditional hutong in the heart of Beijing, and within walking distance of the forbidden city, tiananmen square etc. Subway stations, restaurants and convenience stores are around the corner :)

Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjruigrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#72 of 6,528 in Beijing
250 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 6,528 in Beijing
427 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,528 in Beijing
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,316 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#36 of 6,528 in Beijing
504 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The HuLu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The HuLu Hotel

Address: No.91 Yanyue Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The HuLu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HuLu is a courtyard hotel in the middle of the old Beijing city. Just 10 mins away from The Forbidden City (by bike). The courtyard is combined with vernacular wooden houses and new modern building together. All rooms are well renovated with wooden furniture and equipped with floor heating and cooling system. The HuLu is an ideal place to experience the traditional context with modern comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The HuLu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing