We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel in Beijing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #96 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Yes, as many have indicated, this hotel is in a quiet neighborhood with just a taxi ride to many tourist attractions. Storm Li, the amazing hotel concierge, can arrange ALL your travel needs. I highly recommend this hotel to families, business people and couples that want to enjoy getting away from it all in Beijing, BUT have the fantastic services of the very BEST concierge I have ever found in all my global travels. Storm can also arrange dinners at nearby (usually within walking distance or less then 10 minutes taxi ride) to a mushroom soup restaurant, or Roast Duck place without paying tourist prices. Whatever your fancy, Storm can point you in the right direction!!

This is my second stay at this hotel during this China visit. I am departing tomorrow for another city in China (arranged by Storm), and return next week to this hotel, before going home. I have stayed in other Beijing hotels (closer to the busy attractions). This hotel was recommended to me in 2008, and is now my rest stop when I am in Beijing!!

As for service... Western people will usually find restaurant service to be mixed between OK to poor. This is China, with a culture that is not always service driven to western standards. If you need something... just ask, and someone will be running to make it right. The rooms are a good size, with all the amenities you would expect in a Holiday Inn Hotel. Good selection of English channels on a HD TV, including HBO and CineMax. The rooms are very modern, and kept extremely clean by a very good maid service!! I highly recommend upgrading to a Club Room, with excellent amenities... with express check-in on the 16th floor, complimentary local phone calls, complimentary use of the Club Lounge meeting room each day for one hour, including use of a private computer room, 4 pieces of laundry free each day, up to 6 cans of soft drinks free per day from the mini bar, complimentary broadband or wireless internet in your room, choice of daily breakfast in the Club Lounge or at the Salt & Pepper restaurant on the 1st floor or room service, complimentary hot and cold snacks with cocktails, beer, and wine in the evening from 6pm - 8pm, with all day coffee, tea, soft drinks, and a variety of fresh fruits throughout the day. And, the girls working on the Club Floor all speak English, and are extremely helpful!!

To improve services... hotel management needs to change worker thinking in dealing with western standards, and has been somewhat relaxed in that thinking. BUT, overall... Each of my stays at this hotel has given me reason to return again and again!! Please consider joining me in experiencing a relaxing time at this hotel. You won't need to find Storm Li... He will find you, haha.

Room Tip: Club Floor room, with wonderful amenities and service!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alurolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Central Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hi,

Somone had recommended holiday inn. I was initially worried as I like staying in 5 stars. This hotel was excellent. Had a nice indoor pool and gym. The best of all the staff were very helpful, especially "Storm" who i am not sure is the manager or concierge. He helped us make all the bookings. I thoroughly recommend that you book through him. Beijing is a little bit hard to get around especially hailing a cab back from forbidden city is near impossible. .

The hotel has a very good breakfast. Very decent sized rooms. It says on the web site that you can only have 3 in a room. However in our family, we are two adults and two children, 8 and 6. They let us stay in one room and it was very large & comfortable. In Hong Kong I stayed in a 5 star which slept 4 people and I can honestly say this room and hotel were way better.

Had a great time in the hotel and in hind sight should have booked everything via the hotel, rather than one of the days trying to do forbidden city by ourselves. A tip to see the great wall is dont get sucked in by tours who just take you by bus up the great wall and back. We took a cab and actually went up the wall with a cable car and came down a slide. Even the kids really enjoyed it due to the slide down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Staff were helpful all the time, big confortable rooms and bathrooms, breakfast was very diverse with wide chinese food choices and also plenty of american platters. Coffee can improve. The location is far from main tourist attractions, but taxi ride can be arranged by concierge. The concierge also arranged our Peking Opera outing with tickets and transportation for around US$50 per person in excelent seats. There is a very convenient money exchange machine (ATM) in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtangulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in this excellent hotel. On our arrival at 2pm after a very long journey from the UK the reception staff were very kind and helpful, we were offered a good deal on an upgrade which included breakfast and we ended up with a lovely room and access to the executive lounge. We were on the floor below. We found the exec lounge very useful as from 6pm to 8pm there was complimentary food and beverages available, including, wine, beers, spirits, soft drinks and a selection of snack items including salad, sandwiches, and a couple of hot savoury snacks which were varied each evening, Coffee/tea and soft drinks were available free all day.
We took a good substantial buffet breakfast in the main dining room, we usually had enough breakfast to last us most of the day! There was a good range of food and the service was quick and efficient.
Before we booked the hotel we had checked it out on trip advisor and were a bit concerned about the location, it was quite a distance from the nearest metro and we did experience some difficulty in getting taxi drivers to take us back to the hotel, even though we had directions in Chinese they were not keen to go to that area of the city. However we found the small bus station about 200 yards from the hotel was very useful as the number 10 bus left us at Tianamen Sq. The fare was 1 yuan each way and it took about 30 mins depending on the time of day.
The hotel was very clean and well run. It's biggest plus was the excellent staff throughout the hotlel. We should particularly mention Elena and Annabelle, they were 2 young students from Singapore who were working in the hotel on a 6 month internship from a College in Singapore, they were charming, well mannered and both had lovely personalities they couldn't do enough in order to make our stay as happy and comfortable as possible, they were a credit to the hotel and their college. The other member of staff that 'stood out' was Michael Cheng the night Manager. My wife was taken ill on the evening of our second night and needed a doctor, we called reception and were told that the hotel didn't have a doctor on call. However with a couple of minutes of me putting the phone down Michael was at our door and said he would take us to a hospital for treatment. He took us in his own car to the International hospital which was about 25 minutes away, the hospital was very modern, however they suggested we go to a hospital that 'specialised' in my wife's complaint, no hesitation he took us to another part of Beijing another 30 min drive and stayed with us the whole time, he acted as interpreter and looked after the payments of bills and wrote out the dosages of the medication, he then took us back to the hotel. In all he spent at least 3 hours with us and was the most caring considerate and discrete person one could wish to meet. Another member of staff the hotel can be very proud of, he was superb!
Overall we found the hotel to be very comfortable and well worth the minor inconvenience of it's not ideal location. We would have no hesitation in commending this hotel and would definitely stay there again when we are in Beijing.

Room Tip: Consider the executive floor if you can get a good deal!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffjonesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

When we booked this hotel we checked the map and it looked like it wasn't all that far from the main tourist sites but we were wrong. It is located in a largely residential area quite a long way from anywhere we wanted to go like the Forbidden City. Sure you can take a taxi but it is very difficult for Western people to hail a taxi - even if cabs are empty they tend not to stop for Westerners.

We fortunately had a tour booked for 2 of the 3 days we stayed here, which limited the impact on us but the 10 or more restaurants that were recommended to us to go to were all at least 30 - 45 minutes away from the hotel. This meant we basically didn't end up going to them. Added to that, there is very little immediately near the hotel - there are a few local restaurants and a KFC but almost none of them had anyone that spoke any English. We also had trouble finding a nearby convenience store.

On the plus side, the service by the hotel staff was excellent. Check-in and check-out were both fast and the services provided by the concierge were particularly good. The rooms were reasonably large and although the hotel is a little old, it is in reasonably good repair albeit some things like the air-conditioning did not work until we had it repaired, which was facilitated fairly rapidly. The beds were comfortable enough including the pillows.

Cleanliness was okay but certainly could be better - for example the carpets in the room badly need a clean.

The shower was good - both the spray and the water pressure. However, the water out of the taps is not drinkable so some care needs to be taken.

The included breakfast was okay with both Western and Eastern choices - nothing to write home about but even our kids could find decent things to eat.

The hotel has an indoor pool, which we used and was quite busy. It also has a small putting green and driving range.

If we return to Beijing we will stay somewhere else closer to the main tourist attractions, shopping and restaurants. There are at least 2 other Holiday Inns that meet this requirement as well as numerous other good choices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snitchbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

weve stayed at over 200 hotels around the world and this is one of the best ,clean,friendliest staff,good size rooms, amazing ambassador(storm) good food, great breakfast, not rock hard beds,we were absolutely amazed. storm is a hotel ambassador and helps with everything from hailing taxis to walking 2 blocks to show us a good restaurant. most at the hotel speak english and those that dont ,try very hard . we had deluxe rooms and i beleive they also call them business rooms, comes with free water and softdrink from executive lounge all day and at six at night ,free wine spirits ,beer and food .so there is really no need to buy evenging meal (this goes two hours) everybody is so helpful at tyhis hotel and cant do enough to help. there is plenty of eating places within two blocks ,although the subway is a little too far to walk,but taxis are very cheap and easy to get. deluxe rooms come with free internet as well. great breakfasts and no i dont work for tyhe hotel, would have no hesitation reccomending this hotel as they all try so hard ,right down to the cleaning girls ,its a good quiet location as well ,dont stay anywhere else

Room Tip: get deluxe or business for all those extra benefits
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Booked a China holiday for my parents. At the end of it all they made it clear that one of the many highlights of their trip was staying at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza. It’s the personal service which makes this hotel a wonderful option! From the start the hotel made the booking process easy, to the check in and finally with making sure my parents had a comfortable stay. In fact, the hotel concierge (Storm) took it upon himself to make sure that they had a great holiday, what more could you ask for?! He gave great suggestions, made the bookings and offered genuine advice. My parents loved the hotel breakfast which offered plenty of good options. The room was great and easily surpassed their expectations. Would highly recommend the hotel and cannot wait to go there myself!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayfunk12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#131 of 6,531 in Beijing
415 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#69 of 6,531 in Beijing
232 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#192 of 6,531 in Beijing
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing