We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of this hotel has dropped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #88 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality of this hotel has dropped”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel numerous time in my travel to Beijing. I'm a Priority Club member thus I prefer staying at IHG hotels. Used to be this hotel was clean and good place to stay.
During my stay in Sept 2013 (6 days), the room I had had a wet portion of the carpet by the dorr to the bathroom. I thought that eventually it will dry out but I guess that was a typical problem for this room. The service people just lay towel over it.
I always request for non smoking room. My last stay, I was in the 10th floor. Some people will hang out by the chair by the elevator and smoke. The ventillation is not good so the rooms will start smelling smoke. I have to notify the fron desk on this.
For the fitness center, I can't understand why there are no cold bottled water available for people working out. They have all this bottled water at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimcoach1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Swimcoach1030,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing!

It is our great pleasure and honor to welcome you back to our hotel for many times. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the wet portion of the carpet has been documented and will certainly be looked into. Also, your suggestion about preparing cold bottled water at fitness center for people working out there is a very good advice for us. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope this would not deter you from choosing Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back toour hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    312
    89
    16
    9
See reviews for
157
204
78
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here as part of China tour organized by Cruise1st UK. Check in was very smooth and I was upgraded to a room on the Business Floor when I mentioned that I was a IHG Priority Club member. Others less fortunate travelers in my group had to wait for their rooms to be cleaned and become available. Had lunch there twice - very good value for money. Chef was very attentive - often leaving the kitchen to talk to us at our table. Dinner on our last day was a bit of a let down as they were overwhelmed by the number of guests wanting to dine in as a result of late return from day tour.

I accidently left my suite, jacket and shirts behind when checking out. Called hotel's Victoria Li from cruise ship and found her very helpful and responsive. She agreed to hold my belongings until after the cruise. A day prior to my ship arriving in Tianjin, I rang and asked for Victoria but she was not on duty but Daisy Shi was equally helpful. She coordinated with the agent responsible for port-to-airport transfer to pick up my stuff from the hotel, and personally delivered it to me at the port. A very commendable and praiseworthy act indeed.

Thank you Victoria and Daisy from the bottom of my heart for their cooperation and professionalism.

Room 1326

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzMaidencruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear OzMaidencruiser,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in finding your stuff and returning it to you personally, which made your visit enjoyable and memorable. Meanwhile, being a Priority Club member, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Being our valued guest, your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our members.

Thank you again for your feedback and support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thankyou!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel in Aug 2013 as a family in inter- connecting rooms. The hotel has good facilities but the location is not good. The breakfast was good with a variety of food. The service was good and most of the staff could speak English.The staff was very helpful.We could not find other restaurants nearby except KFC which is a bit far.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear muza s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in making your visit enjoyable. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thankyou!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our family group of 6 stayed in 2 rooms at the hotel for 7 nights. Before our arrival, we had
been on e-mail and had requested inter-connecting rooms and earlier check-in. Every mail
was very promptly responded to by Bob Tan. Upon check-in, inter-connecting were not available due to other occupancy but we were upgraded to a suite and with the other room
opposite. Also, we could check-in earlier before 10am. It was indeed a very pleasant start to
our holiday in Beijing, considering that we had been travelling since the previous night, local time.
The rooms were very clean, well furnished and equipped, and very comfortable. Toiletries were
more than adequate, and housekeeping was punctual and efficient. Wi-Fi was available in both
rooms, but was occassionally problematic which was quickly resolved when reported. Comfy beds, good TV sets, and no external noise problem. I was impressed by the community charity
project undertaken by IHG China, which is on Channel 1 on the room TV.
The Lobby is not very big but spacious enough with a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The
breakfast restaurent, near the Lobby is not very large but is nice and comfortable. During hi-occupancy, it is advisable to go earlier for the buffet breakfast. Buffet spread was ample, but
was largely similar every day.
We found almost all the staff we encountered to be outstanding in their diligence to assist and
serve, and most times patiently and cheerfully too, even when occassionally we tried to communicate in our limited Chinese language. The green umbrellas we loaned fron the Concierge during wet days were very useful against the drizzle and also amongst the crowded
tourist sites. As it was during the mid-autumn festival, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel
with complimentary delicious moon-cakes. Our appreciation and thanks to Bob, Jason, Jimmy, Sunny, Cici et al.
The location is not very near to a sub-way, but bus services are frequent, reasonably punctual and cheap. Bus stops/terminal are nearby. No. 10 goes to Tiananmen area, whilst No. 5 goes to Gulou area where The Bell and Drum Towers and Houhai lake are. Taxis to Hongqiao Market, which is also near the Temple of Heaven, cost about 26 RMB. Taxi from Houhai to the hotel cost about 40 RMB. All such info initially came from the Concierge and the Reception staff. Within 10-15 mins walk from the hotel are numerous restaurents, convenience shops,
pharmacies, liqour and tobacco etc.KFC is quite near too. We ate at several outlets along Nanxiange Street,--- Goody House and Subject Dining Hall of Jiangxi Province ( tel. 18656525737 ). Youth Restaurent is at the other end of the street.
Overall, we are very pleased and very satisfied with our stay, culminating in a memorable holiday in Beijing

Room Tip: Our 9th floor rooms gave good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikay239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear tikay239,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijig in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A one night stop over before a cruise. Large room, slightly faded but clean and pleasant. We arrived after midnight but check in was smooth and quick. Some English speaking staff, friendly and helpful. Beds comfortable and bathroom was clean and well organised. No kettle or hot water but we didn't ask so it may have been available.
Area is out of the main tourist areas, in a business district, very quiet no shops etc nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janex52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Janex52,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing for your one-night stop at Beijing and taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff service and guestroom faciliies made your stay experience morememorable.
All of our guest room is equipped with a kettle. So if needing, you can just ask for it thru service center or housekeeper. In addtion, it is much convenient from our hotel to the main tourist areas, although our hotel is not so close to them, where you can keep away from serious traffic jams at Beijing.
We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riehen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had booked a China trip with TUI Switzerland including transport and guides and it is their Beijing branch that booked us for 3 nights in this hotel. Firstly, the reception claimed that there were no reservations for us, then after the guide complained, the manager, the only person who seemed to know English in the hotel, offered us tea, and finally we were kept waiting for more than 5 hours after a long flight from Zurich to Beijing to get to our room. The room #0610 was old and tired, the old carpet was stained, the plaster of the bathroom ceiling was peeling, the corners of the bathtub were brown with dirt as also the borders of the shower curtain and the splatter on the bathroom mirror was a stark reminder that this room had had previous occupants. Coming from Switzerland where even a guesthouse is expected to maintain high levels of cleanliness, hygiene and efficiency, this hotel was a poor welcome to our first stop in China.
Since our package included transport, we were not too concerned about the location until we got stuck in a monumental traffic jam returning from our visit to the Great Wall. A colleague who was unfortunately out of station when we visited has in the meantime told us that this hotel is in the Tourist Zone 2 whereas hotels located in Tourist Zone 1 should be preferred.
It would appear from other reviews that the hotel has rooms that are "updated, clean and comfortable". After our experience I must say that either these reviews are scams or the hotel has different standards for different guests. It is possible that this Holiday Inn offers TUI Beijing very cheap rates for sub-standard, old and not so clean rooms so that they can both maximize their profits.
The only positive aspect of ur stay in this hotel was the very good breakfast.
Both this hotel as well as the TUI Beijing do a great disservice not only to their customers but also to the capital of the great nation of China by conveying a very poor image of the country to first time as well as repeat visitors.
I would suggest visitors to
- choose a hotel located in Tourist Zone 1
- if this is not possible, choose a different hotel in Tourist Zone 2
-if this is not possible absolutely refuse room #610

Room Tip: I would suggest visitors to - choose a hotel located in Tourist Zone 1 - if this is not possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear TouristZurich,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments has been documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. As we would like to respond to you personally regarding the mentioned problems, could you please send us your email address and telephone details to natalie.niu@centralplazabj.com?
We hope you'd give us a chance in the future to show you our improvements, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A very clean and welcoming hotel however there appears to be a variety of rooms as our friends were in the main building and we were placed in what appeared to be a self contained room in an extension to the main building with cooking facilities,etc. It took us three attempts to find our room and only found the lift for our building when we went to reception to ask for help. Another guest was in the same situation as us. Room size was ok but you couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom which was very different to the bathrooms our friends had.
No problems with the breakfast as there was a good choice and made to order eggs,etc.
Location is not great with not much around but we ventured out to two local restaurants/cafes on advice from others and both were excellent and so cheap. None of the staff spoke English but this was part of the charm. Picture menus are a great asset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building accessible by the lift near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivets1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Rivets1952,

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to our hotel guest room. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience about our apartment guestrooms. Rest assured that we are looking into both our software and hardware facilities, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us.We hope this would not deter you from choosing Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back toour hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#61 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#116 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#78 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing