We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great amenities, but far from everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #79 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
APO AE
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great amenities, but far from everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here on a group trip so it was not booked by myself. The hotel was clean, great breakfast, awesome gym and large rooms. I found the staff less helpful and most were not aware of any local places to eat in the area. There is a KFC about 2 blocks from the hotel, but nothing else. The hotel does offer a bar and a menu if you get in late. The food was tasty and affordable.
Would have rated 5 stars if the staff were educated on things in the area. One was not even able to point me in the direction of the subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina3043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear katrina3043,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing!

Thank you for staying with us during your trip at Beijing and sharing with us your comments about the hotel. We feel it a great honor and pleasure to offer services to you. Thanks for your appreciation for our room cleanliness, breakfast quality, fitness center and also lobby bar.

Besides, we are so sorry about the failure of our staff to offer adequate suggestion and effective help to you during your stay which deviates from our purpose of offering comfortable and pleasant services to our guests in order for them to feel at home.

Thanks for your feedback about our hotel which shows us the places we need to improve in the near future, like staff's common sense about the hotel from nearby restaurants and places of interests to how to get the nearest subways and other places that guests could interest. Meanwhile, we need to improve staff's oral English ability unremittingly.

There are still some places we need to improve in the near furture. Your feedback is highly valued and appreciated! Thanks for your review again and look forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    311
    88
    15
    9
See reviews for
155
202
78
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I started here on a 3 month travel throughout Asia. We were here for 4 nights. Breakfast was great each morning. The place was better than we expected. We used it as a base for seeing the great wall and all the other sites around Beijing. The gym and fitness area was also more than expected and worked well for us each day to use while there. Overall, it was an very good hotel for the money paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Brady N,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing during your travel in Aisa. It is our great pleasure and honor to stay with your wife and you and meanwhile bring our services to you during the five days.

The hotel is located within the 2nd Ring Road of Beijing south and west areas, which means it is convenient for guests to go to the main tourist attractions of Beijing such as Beijing Grand View Garden, Qianmen Street, Tiananmen Square, the Imperial Palace, Summer Palace, Great Wall etc. in additon, there are some bus stations nearby for you to go directly to some shopping centers like Xidan and Wangfujing Street shopping street. Besides, it is within 3km from the hotel to the nearest railway station, making your trip more convenient and less costly.

Thanks for your satisfaction with our breakfast and gym. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely yours,
Distribution Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed during Xmas week of 2014 for 10 day.
Staffs were friendly and helpful. Good international buffet. Checkin and checkout was fast. Rooms were clean and cozy. Quiet far from the nearest train station which was approximately 30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasnijaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear jasnijaal,

Thanks so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing for your 10 days stay in Beijing. It is our great pleasure and honor to bring our service to you and make you feel at home.

We are delighted to know that our staff has brought you with good and helpful services. Our room and buffet made you satisfied. In addition, the hotel is within 4km from Beijing South and West Railway Stations.

Thanks for your supporting and appreciation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights in October as part of a tour. THe hotel is a little out of the way, ie an inexpensive taxi ride to the 'sights' of Beijing but all in all the hotel was up to western standards. The breakfast was 'ok' but partly due to the main restaurant being refurbished so was temporarily prepared in the small coffee shop. We upgraded to a club room which at $25/night was a no brainer as this included internet access (excellent speed) which otherwise would have been $9/night and access to the executive lounge where all drinks are free and between 6-8pm includes both alcoholic beverages and snacks which were both welcome after a long days touring, too tired to venture out for a meal. Our room was modern and nicely appointed although bath as well as a shower would usually be expected in a club room. There is a supermarket 5 mins walk from the hotel as we as an excellent bakery. Youth Restaurant just a few hundred metres from the hotel was used by members of our tour group and was said to be very good chinese food with a large menu where the owner spoke english.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My friend and I were booked on a tour of China and arrived at the hotel three days earlier to do some exploring of our own. One morning I asked for a map and I was told I could not have one because I was with a tour group. Then I asked how or get to the Forbidden City and was told a taxi was the best option. At no point did the staff member offer to get a taxi for me.
The position of the hotel is out of the way with not many places to get food from, I never found a supermarket. There weren’t many Restaurants in the area, and one I found the staff didn’t understand English. The hotel breakfast was very average and lacking a good range of breakfast cereals. The dining room service was average as I was never shown to a table it was a matter of finding one.
The Wi-Fi only worked in reception. The rooms were and comfortable and the staff were generally friendly. If staying in Beijing I would choose a hotel closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Lesley M,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza!

Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you during your stay at the hotel. Actually, our Beijing map is free to get for all our guests. For this problem, I think this should be a misunderstanding and we have looked into it for details and correction. We hope this would not deter you from choosing the hotel again in the future. In addition, your comments about not offering to get a taxi for you has been reflected to the related department and will certainly be valued and improved immediately! We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

The hotel is located at Guanganmen commercial and civic area. It is about fifteen-minute drive from the West/Sorth Railway Station and about 50 minutes from the Capital International Airport. Besides, it is within10-minites drive from the hotel to the nearest Line1, Line2 or Line4 Subway Stations by which you could nearly get to all the main tourist attractions in Beijing. On the other hand, there are some different kinds of Chinese restaurants of various cuisines like Sichuan, Jiangsu, Beijing, Hunan and halal foods etc. within the neighborhood. Your comments about our breakfast is also very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Not as good as what you would expect from a Hoilday Inn in a major city. It's a old hotel structure, that needs to be revamped. Clean and bright lobby and the bell boys are very helpful land go out of their way to help you and will not accept a tip.

The drawback are Internet is not free, and you pay per hr and is expensive and slow. For a hotel of this standard to in major city to do this is bad. Breakfast is poor for both English or Chinese standards. They can do much better.

Room Tip: Location is not great, no restaurants around the hotel so need to take a taxi out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Nairobi_KenyaAspi,

Greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing!
Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing during your stay at Beijing. It is our great pleasure and honor to accompany you and offer service to you.

The hotel has witnessed a history of nearly 10 years till 2014. These years, we have been in the process of revamping and maintaining the hotel in order to bring a comfortable and pleasant experience to our dear guests, and constantly improving our services. So, public areas and guest room renovations are being carried out to impress you in recent days.

The hotel is located at Guanganmen commercial and civic area. It is about fifteen-minute drive from the West/Sorth Railway Stations and 50 minutes drive from the Capital Airport. Besides, it is within10-minites drive from the hotel to Subway Line 1 at Nanlishi Road Station, Line 2 Changchunjie Station or Line4 Taoranting Station by which you could nearly get to all the main tourist attractions in Beijing, like the Tian'anmen Square, the Forbbiden City, Qianmen street, Wangfujing street, Xidan shopping center, Houhai Bar street, Sanlitun Bar Street etc.

Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused by internet fee, which is still a hotel group policy that we need to obey. However, as a good news, IHG Rewards Club memeber could enjoy free wired and wireless internet since the beginning of 2014. In addtion, your comments about breakfast has been shared to the relevant department, which will enalbes us to upgrade our breakfast standard. Also, your detailed information about our breakfast is highly appreciated!

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Best regards,
Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here wtih friends as part of a tour package. Overall, I have to say that the hotel was clean, staff were friendly. There are some really good and inexpensive restaurants close to the hotel if you wish to venture out of the hotel. The hotel had typical western fare mixed with local specialties. Location was a bit out of the way for the tour, as traffic can be bad in Beijing. My only comment would be that the hotel should be more helpful with westerners and taxis, as Beijing taxis seem to not want to pick up westerners. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask about smoking vs non-smoking options if this matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtoVancouver8374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear newtoVancouver8374,

Thank you for choosng the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing for your stay at Beijing together with your wife and friends. We are so delighted to find that you are satisfied with the hotel cleanliness and staff service. Our Salt & Pepper Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet of both western and Chinese cuisine, hoping that it is good for you.

The hotel is located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area. It is fifteen-minute drive from the South and West Railway Station and 50 minutes drive from the Beijing Capital International Airport. I know it is a little bit difficult to find a taxi in Beijing especially in rush hours. Our Concierge staff would like to help hail a taxi for you and instruct the taxi driver where to take you in your time of need. Besides, you are entitled to choose smoking and non-smoking room when making reservation or designating it upon check-in.

We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing in the near future. Thank you!

Best regards,
Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#61 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#109 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#70 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing