We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great food, okay location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Ranked #101 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't praise the staff enough, definitely one of the best group of staff I have encountered in any hotel. From the moment you enter, they've been great. Perhaps due to the location which was not very tourist friendly that made the place relatively quiet (and quaint), the atmosphere was relaxing. It was also situated near the west railway station for those who want to take the high speed trains to other cities.

We paid a little extra for breakfast everyday, and I can't emphasise how great it was to have a good breakfast to start each day of our free and easy tour. International buffet breakfast was delicious, and the staff have been extremely friendly. Location wise, it may be a little far from most tourist attractions, but the taxis in beijing is rather affordable and is a great tool to travel from the hotel to an attractions cluster and back. The gym seems newly renovated and has all you require for a good workout. The pool staff has been very friendly, and the water is maintained at a constant 28degree celsius great for a swim. Overall, a very rejuvenating hotel.

Room Tip: High floors have better views, but choose a floor that is 12 and below if you are an internet junkie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1701D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear jypann,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your feelings of staying at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing where comfortable and pleasant experience is expected to be conveyed to all dear guests. Thanks so much for your appreciation for our hotel facilities and staff services. That is the greatest encouragement for us to keep on making improvements.

With regard to location, it is convenient for you to get to both West and South Railway Stations where you can take high speed trains to other cities. In addition, generally speaking, the hotel is located within the 2nd Ring Road of Beijing west and south areas where you can go to anywhere of Beijing conveniently. Moreover, wired and wireless network is offered in all rooms for free if you are an IHG Rewards Club member, even though internet service is complimentary provided in all other room types except superior rooms.

Thank you for choosing the hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early/mid April as part of our group tour. Checking in and out was quick and easy. The front staff had decent English skills. The rooms were fairly clean, spacious and decorated in a conservative style. You couldn’t really control the temperature in the room and AC was not available because it was April, so it was quite warm. There's an in-room safe and free bottled water. The buffet breakfast had standard Western food (pastries, muffins, bacon, eggs, etc.), hot Chinese food, and fresh fruit. There's no free Wi-Fi in the room - only in the lobby and in the business centre which was moved from the main floor to a higher floor (check elevator button for floor number). And, after connecting to the business centre Wi-Fi, we were able to get free Wi-Fi in the room although it was spotty.

The hotel is in a fairly quiet area. There are a few restaurants in the area, but not many. Most have limited English. We found it easiest to point to pictures in the menus.

As we were part of a tour group, we’re not sure about the public transit options near the hotel. Overall, the hotel was a comfortable stay, but there’s not much happening around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear AWTravels,

It is our great pleasure and honor to offer services to you during your tour in Beijing. We are extremely thrilled to know that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel.

With regard to the in-room AC, we have to obey the operation time of city government, so we beg for your understanding and leniency. In addition, we have wired and wireless network in all rooms. For any question, please contact our service center or housekeeper directly for help. Nearby the hotel, there are some authentic Chinese restaurants, like the Youth Restaurant, Shuxiang RenJia, Goody House etc. Getting just one block away, you can find some well-known Chinese Muslim Restaurants in the Niujie Street where you can taste authentic Halal food like instant-boiled mutton and enjoy local customs and practices.

All in all, thanks for your stay with us and look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time.

Best regards,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here one night for a business trip while traveling through the area. When I arrived in the afternoon, they had my room ready and I was checked in promptly. The front staff were friendly and courteous. My room was a bit dated, but mostly clean. The breakfast was slightly better than marginal. On the property is a golf training facility, exercise facility, and restaurant. I didn't have the time to try any of them. Not sure I would stay here again or not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DePassiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear DePassiago,

Warm greeting from Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing and thanks for your stay with us during your business trip. Thanks for telling us the places that we need to improve. All of our staff will work better together in order to provide a comfortable and pleasant experience to you.

Thanks for your stay again and still look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in Mid April. We stayed in a club room which was a nice size room and very comfortable. As the hotel wasn't using air conditioners at all the room was very hot and uncomfortable for sleep. We were not explained to why they were not using it but did deliver a fan when we complained. The hotel itself is nice but very isolated. There is not much around the hotel and to go to points of interest you need a taxi. We did go to dinner at the Youth restaurant down the road which had a large menu (including some unusual items). It was really nice and reasonably priced. The hotel itself is very quiet with not a lot of people appearing to be staying. Breakfast is good with a lot of selections. The Club Lounge is disappointing during happy hour compared to other hotels and with no atmosphere, not a great choice of food, and beer placed one at a time in the drinks area. Pity if two people want a beer at the same time. We gave up going. Other times it was nice for a coffee. A big advantage with the club room was the four free pieces of laundry per room per day. Every one in the Hotel was helpful and had smiles on their faces.. Particularly Carry Wang in reception and Judy our room attendant.. Not all the staff are fluent in English but try and you can always get someone in the reception area who can speak good English. Disappointments in addition to the isolation is the pool which is nothing like the brochure photo and the golf area which doesn't look maintained. Enjoyed our stay but because of location not sure if would stay there again.

Room Tip: The club room was really good value especially with the free laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenandbrianPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear JenandbrianPerthWA,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Central Plaza for your stay at Beijing. We feel it a great pleasure and honor to bring services to you. With regard to the using of air conditioners, we have to explain that we must follow the city government's time schedule of offering cooling. Therefore, at this time, we can only offer a fan or humidifier to you and make all our efforts to cool down the rooms by pulling around curtains or open the windows. Your feedback about Club Lounge has also been shared with the related department and the hotel management for improvement.

Thanks for your review again and still in the hope of welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is well maintained, the rooms are large, clean and hot. The air conditioning could not be turned on until after "Golden week" The staff at reception advised us to open a window. The windows were very small and I was not impressed with this suggestion with all the pollution outside.
The breakfast was excellent.
The location was not really suitable for tourist who want to go out form a walk and pick up some souvenirs or supplies. It is in a poorly lit residential area. I did go out and walked about 5km and felt safe. The residents of the area were out walking their dogs.

I would recommend this hotel if you just want to stick with your tour and not venture out on your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVIC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear MVIC A,

Thanks so much for staying with us during your trip at Beijing. It is our great honor and pleasure to provide services to you. Thanks for showing us your comments about our hotel which will definitely enables us to make improvement.

The hotel is located at the residential area with many small stores and restaurant nearby where you can experience the ture life of Beijingners. Besides, because we are centrally located in the 2nd West and South Ring Road of Beijing, it is convenient to get to many interesting places of Beijing, such as the well-known Tiananmen Square, the Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace; the famous Xidan shopping center, Xuanwumen SOGO, and Wangfujing Street directly by subway or bus conveniently.

Thanks for your feedback again and looking forward to welcoming you back next time! For any suggestions or assistance, please contact our Concierge or service center directly.

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Got a cab from beijing airport to the holiday inn central plaza. Takes 50 mins to reach at midnight. Gave hotel name to taxi driver in chinese , but was very difficult to locate. Check in was quick and effecient. Breakfast was good. Metro station far and need to get cab. Good value for bed and breakfast , most time spent sight seeing during day. Lounge and bar good. Visited tiamen square , forbidden city and summer place all in one day using metro. Have an english to chinese translation app on smart phone in case stuck for directions. Next day took bus tour to visit ming tomb and great wall of china. Be careful when tour guide includes free foot massage. More like a fraud . They seem to know all your ailment and translator keen to provide medicine at inflated prices. Best not to request doctor. Had a late night flight and had checked out and left bags with conceirge. Had a hot shower at 2nd floor gym and a change of clothes. Good value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear AGM-MARTZ,

Thanks so much for your stay at the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing as well as your pertinent and important comments which will motivate us to keep on making improvement and moving forward.

For those visitors who are interested in one-day Beijing tour, our Concierge staff could help to introduce a tour agent for them or might help to organize a tour if possible. Also, it is convenient from our hotel to take subway Line1 at Nanlishi Lu station, Line2 at Changchunjie station and Line4 at Taoranting park station by bus No.56, 10 and 40 or 604 respectively.

Thanks for your stay with us again and would like to welcome you back next time!

Sincerely yours,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed between 15-17 April at then of our holiday in China. The initial experience was pathetic starting from the check in with the reception staff giving really poor service, no bell desk help with the luggage, check in took almost 25 minutes. The 24 hour concierge service was not manned to answer calls. internet is also not free unlike other hotels I have stayed in China.

The staff here speaks really poor english and just cannot understand. Location has no restaurants around it.

After making a compliant about the service with the tour company that made our booking, things started to turn around ... we got fruit in the room, free internet and food.

although the end the experience was decent, but still dont believe it is a 4 star experience.

Holiday Inn needs to review their relationship.... If this is a franchise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie_niu, Distribution Manager at Holiday Inn Central Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear RKBose,

Thanks for staying with us during your stay at Beijing and sharing with us some unhappy experiences. Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by our hotel. That is the last thing we want to see. Your feedback has been reported to the hotel management and shared to the related departments for enhancement and improvement.

To bring a comfortable and pleasant stay experience to our guests is our consistent and constant pursuit and goal. Your review show us the places we want to improve. We are bound to make some improvement in the nearest future.

Thanks for your comments again and would like to have another opportunity of welcoming you back next time!

Best regards,

Distribution Manager
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#216 of 6,606 in Beijing
263 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#140 of 6,606 in Beijing
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#76 of 6,606 in Beijing
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Central Plaza

Address: No.1 Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Central Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing, an Award-Winning hotel, is conveniently located in Guanganmen commercial and civic area, adjacent to the new Municipal Government Office Building and is within a stone's throw from Beijing's Financial Street. The hotel is close to tourist and shopping attractions such as Wangfujing, Oriental Plaza and the Forbidden City. It is 10 minutes drive from the West and South Train Station and 45 minutes from the Capital Airport.The hotel has 322 contemporary guest rooms, including suites and two floors of Executive Club rooms, all equipped with wired and wireless broadband internet, speaker telephone and multi-language voice mail. With a 640 square meter, pillar-free ballroom and 8 other function rooms ranging from 35 to 176 square meters, the hotel is an ideal venue for business meetings and social functions alike. All the meeting rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audio-visual facilities, built-in work station, wireless broadband connection and video conference facilities. The hotel's professional meeting team will ensure every event a success.The hotel also provides other facilities like business center ticketing and tour desk, kiosk, car rental, concierge taxi and limousine service, baby sitting service, karaoke as well as a Mini Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing