We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Ranked #127 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
rushton england
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“not bad overall”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on 3 separate occasions recently as we were on tour and had another tour to go onto. The 3 rooms were pretty much in the same mold though the last had been used by a smoker as there was still a smell of cigarettes. The rooms were all clean and tidy and had kettle with coffee and tea and creamer . Two bottles of water were also left daily. The breakfast was the best encountered on holiday with plenty of choice of western and asian food. We also ate at lunchtime on one occasion which was very nice though a little expensive.
The hotel is in a safe area and we walked to the tube line in about 10 to 15 mins. Plenty of shops and eateries are also close by.
not that close to the airport and the traffic can be hell at rush hour. Give yourself a hour by car to get there.
A decent enough place to stay.

Room Tip: Try asking for non smoking but it may not get you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaff_hithbj, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Martandvic

Thank you for stay Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven and taking time to write this review.

We would like thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location, room cleaning and food quality. I have passed your comments to our team members in particular our housekeeping and restaurant employees. We will keep motivating our colleagues to further
deliver superior service and build great memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.
Thank you!

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    212
    79
    15
    6
See reviews for
53
60
24
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in April 7 nights on executive level.

Check in was not good alot of problem, they didnt have the room ready that we had booked and payed for.

When we at last got the requested room Everything was perfect during our stay.

Breakfast was good with alot of choices both asian and western style and very good service.

Overall the staff are nice they try to do there best, but most of them dont speak English so good.

As we have stayed here 5 times before we saw that there are many Changes, executive lounge are not working at all, staff there are very poor in English. order a cappuccino took about 25-30 minutes, and it was Cold, same thing what ever you order it takes time.

Location of the hotel are very good , we like this area its among the local people.

Many nice local restaurants Close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StockholmFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaff_hithbj, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven and share your valuable feedback.

I am very disappointed to read your review of the hotel. I apologize for the issues related to the room preparation, staff language skill and took long time for cappuccino. Those problems have been discussed with the concerned department heads and corrective actions have been taken.

Thank you for letting us know about the problems you have encountered during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we booked 2 king-sized bed rooms but we were given 2 twin-bed rooms. 1 room was 'upgraded' but i saw NO difference from the other room. I dunno what has been upgraded except the floor level, 1 is on the 10th floor, the other was upgraded to 13th floor.

we requested strictly 'Non Smoking' rooms but there're ash trays in the rooms. luckily there's no smell in the rooms. basically the hotel ignored every thing you requested while booking.

room is clean and spacious. price is reasonable. the location is not very good. 15-20 mins walk to subway station. a lot of restaurants nearby, but not sure if it suits your taste. some staffs are not really friendly, they won't give you dark face but also no smile to you. i dare not to use the toilet at lobby but i was told by my sister it is not clean. will recommend only because of the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly
Most can understand English
The location of this hotel is not in a great part of Beijing
I was not happy with the room. It was outdated.

About 35km from airport

Won't book at this hotel again even though their food is good and staff is friendly

The location of the hotel is not great

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank STELLIOS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaff_hithbj, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ClaudiaVH,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven and share your valuable feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our room facilities may have caused you. Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven’s convenient location between the South 2nd Ring and 3nd Ring roads puts you 30 minutes by taxi from Beijing Central Business District. It is only 40-minutes drive from Beijing Capital International Airport, 15-minutes drive from Beijing South Railway Station, and 20 minutes from both Wangfujing and the Yizhuang Technological Development Area, 10 minutes by walk to the nearby Metro.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Got a great deal on the room, room was fine, constant smell of cigarettes despite it being a non smoking room, which gave me a headache by the 3rd day. Discovered a few Chinese smoke in the hallways where the smoke drifts into the rooms. If you fancy a spa, I recommend that you don't come here. The hotel out sources it, I entered and sat down on some grubby towels, sofas with the foam missing on the arms and hidden by towels, staff sitting around in their PJs, old toe nail clippings on the floor, staff eating their food on the sofa whilst I was getting my massage with constant flicking on the TV remote on the Chinese channels, again stinking of smoke. To top it off the hotel charges additional to add the fee onto the room.

Breakfast was fine, I had dinner once in the hotel and was practically the only one eating. A very quiet hotel with few westerns, which wasn't a problem. Not much around the hotel, 30 min walk to Temple of Heaven. Main streets about 50 mins away walking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaff_hithbj, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven!
Firstly, please allowed our sincere apologies to you for all the things you encountered at our hotel. Sorry for bringing unpleasant stay experience to you.
I do apologize that we were not able to accomplish your expectation of service and product this time and I have made note of the particular area you felt that we have room to improve.
We would like to respond to you personally, could you please send us your email address or telephone details to michael.gu2@ihg.com?
We look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Beijing Temple of Heaven in the future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for a total of 6 days, starting April 3. I reserved my room through Priceline.com and got a good deal for this fairly nice Hotel. The desk clerks and the bell men are very helpful on helping my itinerary and showed me the way how to explore Beijing. The Hotel is clean and has friendly staff, they speak fairly good English and they will try their best to help you. The breakfast service has a lot of varieties of food, western and eastern style. The Hotel location may not be ideal for a fairly nice Hotel like this but its OK with me. The front pavement of the Hotel need to be fixed or renovated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSabado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stay here in April. The hotel location is to the south near the temple of heaven and although there is limited sights nearby taxis are readily available and don’t take too long to get to the usual tourist spots. The good thing with the taxis is they are always using the meter. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff are friendly and willing to go that extra mile to help you. Michael, Richard and James were even willing to walk down the street and help us with our sim card issues. Daisy at the front desk was also very polite and helpful. You really need to be prepared when travelling to China as English is not spoken outside of the hotel and the language barrier can be a real problem. My suggestion to the hotel is to have more recommendations for tourist sights and especially popular or famous restaurants with information in both English and Chinese on the location plus on how to get there. If you don’t have a guide with you each and every day Beijing can be a challenging place for a tourist. Almost always where ever you go you should bargain, many places like markets etc have a “tourist” price way above normal, so bargain hard!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Wanshou Road
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#111 of 6,520 in Beijing
349 reviews
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#177 of 6,520 in Beijing
255 reviews
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#71 of 6,520 in Beijing
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven

Property: Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Address: No.1 Ding'an East Li, South 3rd Ring Road, Fengtai District, Beijing 100075, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Fangzhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#71 Business Hotel in Beijing
#109 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven Beijing is proud to be in close proximity south to China's prestigious ancient landmark the Temple of Heaven. Only 10 minutes from the Subway Line 5 Puhuangyu Station, 15 minutes to the major business communities and shopping complexes, 20 minutes to the Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area. The hotel offers 245 graciously designed guest rooms and suites with free broadband Internet access and user friendly furniture and facilities. The 504-square-metre Grand Ballroom and 368-square-metre conference room, which are adjoined by a multi-purpose function hall that can enlarge their capacity, serve as a pre-function hall or provide breakout rooms. An additional eleven multifunction meeting rooms are of different styles and are available for small meetings, seminars and training sessions. Three different Food & Beverage outlets are offered for your dining pleasure, featuring a range of cuisine from authentic Western and Chinese to local specialty, as well as a comfortable lobby lounge and a modern underground bar with fashionable decor, which is the perfect place for relaxation or to gather with your friends. The hotel also provides a variety of well-equipped facilities for your fitness and entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven Beijing is surely one of the most enjoyable and comfortable place to stay, where you can just easily relax yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Temple Of Heaven Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing