We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap room decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wangfujing Dawan Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,320 Beijing B&B and Inns
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    35
    44
    21
    23
See reviews for
16
14
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The staff was very rude at the reception, they didn't accept our Visa credit card, the bed was like sleeping on a grill, and the bath was terrible.
DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE LIKE US, PLEASE!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — staff at the reception
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
54 Thank nelombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Location was excellent, 30 steps from Dengshikou metro station, and about 0.5 km from WFG Dajie.
It is a budget hotel, so we had realistic expectations. The Standard B room (23 sq m- says the website) was large enough for 2, and more then enough space that we do not have to avoid our 2 luggages. There was a longish writing table and even a coffee table with 2 single sitters. The aircon works, and there was a kettle but no fridge.
Toilet facility, towels and bed sheets was slightly sad looking but clean. There is a eating place in the basement, but it looks very unattractive.
The staffs were quite varied; some were a bit abrupt, others were helpful.
As a place to rest our heads after daylong outings, it was quite adequate.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — everything looks a bit tired
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuangMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Da Wan Hotel was quite adequate for what we needed - a double room at a cheap price. The location was fantastic - only about 50m to a subway station, and a 5 minute walk to Wangfujing shopping street. The room was ok but also had it's downfalls (bathroom not very well kept & not very clean), dimly lit.
Other than that though it was all we really needed for our stay and would be suitable for anybody on a tight budget seeking a good location to stay in Beijing.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

well as soon as i arrived they said they dont have my reservation, i showed a copy finally i got a key after 30 minutes looking like a fool.then the room was ok except the bathroom not working shower not working properly, bed hard, noise and phone after phone for a massage, after one day they want to move me to a room with shared bathroom i refuse then last night i went to shared bathroom or leave so i did, and the room has no towels no toilet tissue nothing so i went i bought the towel and tissue....i am contacting travelocity and get some of my money back .
so please do not stay there its worth to add a little more and have a peace of mind.
aamoun.H

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
47 Thank aamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I booked this hotel because I was looking for a cheap place with a good location. My overall impression was that the hotel is just ok. A cheap place to sleep (we paid 200 RMB / about $30 USD per night for a simple room with two single beds), and a 7 minute walk east of Wangfujing pedestrian street. The rooms look a bit old, but the bathrooms didn't smell and the shower unit was separate from the rest of the bathroom. (Many budget hotels in China just have a shower head over the toilet so the entire bathroom floor stays wet after showering, but not this hotel.) They provided free teabags, cups, and a water heating pot, but didn't provide any free bottles of water, though there were two bottles sitting on the counter available to purchase for 3 RMB each. They also provide an electric mosquito coil, as well as the basic amenities: toothbrushes, combs, shower caps, soap, shampoo (no hairdryer). There is a convenient store just across the street, as well as a bank, and it was easy to catch a taxi in that area. In one of the rooms the air-conditioning unit dripped water onto our suitcase below the entire night and we woke up with a wet suitcase. The beds were hard and the pillows whimpy and flat, but I didn't really expect much more from a decently located budget hotel in Beijing.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — ugly rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jess214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tianrui Beijing
Tianrui Beijing
#1,485 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
#1,809 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,514 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#3,198 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#793 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Botai Hotel
Botai Hotel
#3,265 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangfujing Dawan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangfujing Dawan Hotel

Property: Wangfujing Dawan Hotel
Address: No.2A Ganyu Alley, Dongdan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,320 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wangfujing Dawan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beijing Da Wan Hotel, opened in August 2002, is centrally located in Beijing's well known shopping and sightseeing district of downtown Dongdan downtown and the Wangfujing area. The Da Wan Hotel is within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the China Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wangfujing Dawan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangfujing Da Wan Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing