We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Guohong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guohong Hotel
Ranked #2,451 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I wouldn't choose to stay here, but it was fine. It's close to the Muxidi subway station. Breakfast wasn't great but edible. They do have non-smoking floors which, strangely, they denied having and wrote to me about how they were going to thoroughly air the room before my stay. The whole hotel did stink of cigarettes though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Beijing was our last stop on the Grand Circle tour. Hotel was clean and rooms were spacious, but the AC was inadequate. Breakfast was so so. Staff spoke limited English which was a problem for me. But the location was great! Walking distance to a shopping mall and supermarket. And a subway station just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goyandjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

The smartly-decorated lodgings are standard three/four star hotel rooms, with a small bath, good shower with steady temperature and pressure, comfortable beds and room to move. The air-con works fine and many extra conveniences are available, such as slippers, toothbrushes, bath foam, body lotion and a rarity these days, the complimentary emery board. Two-layers of double-glazed windows perfectly shield guests from the incessant noise from construction sites and traffic in the neighbourhood. The walls were a bit thin which is a shame as the family next door had a very young and vocal daughter, whose father had a habit of raising his voice.

Some rooms were not ready upon our arrival, which was unfortunate as we got there after 9pm. There appear to be no non-smoking rooms, or perhaps one floor of non-smoking, so you just have to hope your room has not been smoked in for a few days. This was not the case for some of the people in our party making the check-in process a bit more laborious than it should have been. In fact, the lobby and particularly the restaurant were entertaining some sort of "cigarette party" it seemed. People were smoking like it was 1963.

Checking out was weird, with smoking men pushing in front of me at the desk, similar to being in Russia or the Ukraine. The "complimentary" waters in the room turned out to not be complimentary at all and this caused a bit of friction at check-out.

We chose to dine at the ground-floor restaurant rather than go out, as our late arrival and need for sleep was paramount. In hindsight this was an error, considering the gastronomic delights available in Beijing. The dinner menu was aimed at foreigners, however the "chef" (I can not believe the food we were served was prepared by anything more than a dish-pig) seemed completely lost as to the techniques involved in cooking western dishes.

Grilled prawns were smothered in what I think was Keen's Curry Powder (I can't be sure as I have not eaten this awful product since childhood). Limp salads were served with hard-boiled eggs with that tell-tale green-black ring circumnavigating the yolk that normally announces a forthcoming bout of food-poisoning, and searingly spicy rings of what looked like Romano peppers but were in fact something devilishly more piquant. Pizza arrived and tasted of Uncle Ben's sweet and sour sauce. The two choices of red wine, an Italian Barbera and an Australian Hardy's Cabernet were about as cheap and nasty a selection as you could make. The local Chinese beer had a colour so pale as would embarrass a Pinot Grigio, and an equally insipid flavour. It was a miracle the breakfast was edible the next morning...

And it was. Nothing special, but there were plenty of local dishes, including steamed buns, congee soup, preserved fish, pickles, many interesting and surprisingly spicy salads, and the usual eggs, sausage, beans, breads and so on. Unpleasant drip-filter coffee aged morosely in it's pot, as did the Lipton tea. No Oolong or green tea was to be found, which was disappointing. All in all however, the breakfast was quite palatable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clownshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Stayed there for one week with my family and enjoyed our stay. Modern business hotel. Excellent location just 300 m from the MuXiDi subway station. Quiet neigbourhood. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Worth its four stars. Good price/quality ratio.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fintourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

Fine business hotel. Clean rooms, several nice restaurants, full service business center, good Internet access in room. Convenient to subway stop -- about a block away. Attentive staff. Posted price was about USD$80, I paid about USD$50.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guohong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guohong Hotel

Property: Guohong Hotel
Address: No.11A Muxidi North, Xicheng District, Beijing 100038, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing West Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,451 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guohong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guohong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing