We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with good buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel
Ranked #521 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Minster, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place with good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I needed a central hotel in Beijing during a recent business trip. This place is pretty quiet, and a little bit off the main street. Might be due to some street construction.
The room was nice and the internet was effective for my needs. The food at the ground floor buffet was 210 RMB, but pretty good. Sashimi, as much as you want. Local beer and wine, as much as you want included in the price. I also found the BBQ ribs to be tasty. Comfortable atmosphere.
No problem for me to return to his place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
7
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

we would like to thank the security staff of your hotel for helping our mother during our stay in Beijing (March 28 - march 31,2013). our 81 yrs old mother got sick maybe because of the cold weather, it was 2 am in the morning when we must go to the nearby hospital for treatment. thanks for the 2 security staff namely ZHANG WEI and ZHANG LIAN JING, for the help and support they have given us...we are very grateful for the service they have provided, keep it up and God Bless...hope to see you when we got back in Beijing...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilyc142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

Our tour group stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, we thought it was fabulous. We had a beautiful room on the 8th floor.
Some of the tour group were on lower floors and said their rooms were not as nice, but we were very happy.

The room was big, very clean, and in the evening they had a turn down service. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

About 1/2 block away was a bank (ATM machine) and for those who tire of Chinese food, a KFC, a pizza place and of course a McDonalds. However, across the street from McDonalds is a department store, and on the bottom floor is a big supermarket - you can get most everything there.

The only problem anyone seemed to have was exchanging the $ for the Yen. They only want new crisp money. They run it through a machine and if that machine does not like it they will not take it.

  • Liked — Rooms & restaurants
  • Disliked — Lack of English speaking employees
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Longsrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
198 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

Given the big name hotels available in Beijing I was a little apprehensive with our tour being booked in a hotel without a recognizable name/reputation. My apprehension quickly dissipated after spending three nights at this fabulous hotel.

The Grand Metro is situated on a major road feeding into the city center several very long blocks away. It is across the street from the main post office. As neighborhoods go, it must be a nice one as some very expensive European brand shops are just around the corner and not far from a Bentley dealership.

The hotel is medium sized. It has a gleaming white marble entrance. Absolutely spotless. Service is impecable (doorman, front check in/concierge, even a lady whose job it is to push the botton for the elevator when she sees a guest coming).

The breakfast buffet is fantastic and on the order of some of the best hotels in north America. The food is western, Chinese, and Japanese. All very good.

There is a casual dinning area we did not go. I ate on my own in their formal dining. The service, atmosphere were excellent and the room spotless and well appointed. The food was average.

The room was spacious enough, comfortable, very clean, modern, and well air conditioned. The bathroom also spotless and equipped with a variety of amenities (toothbrush/paste, comb, mouthwash, etc...).

I used the indoor pool. Again, everything was immaculate and the pool refreshing (esp. with the harsh heat of summer). There is a very well equiped gym and locker room adjoining the pool area.

I cannot say enough positive about this hotel. I was a very nice introduction on our tour of China.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Too far to walk to city center
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

While travelling in Beijing on business, a colleague made reservations for my wife and I at a nearby hotel (Golden Sun). When we arrived, we found this hotel did not have non-smoking rooms. My wife has asthma and could not stay at their hotel, so the desk clerk arranged for us a room at the Grand Metro Park.

The desk clerk at the Grand Metro Park was very gracious and made accomodations for us without reservations. My wife and I were very impressed by how the hotel was kept so clean and quiet. The common areas are beautifully decorated, and our guest room on the non-smoking floor was absolutely impeccable. All of the staff was very kind, especially the hostess and wait staff in the resturant where breakfast is served. We felt well taken care of during our stay, and would recommend this hotel to all our friends and colleagues. I look forward to staying there again.

Keep in mind that this hotel is not on the east side of Beijing with all the other western branded hotels. It is Chinese owned and operated, so don't expect western kiss-a$$ service. It is however in a much more traditional area, and a short taxi ride to Tiananmen Sq and Beihai park. It is also on the opposite side of the city from the airport, so expect a 1-1/2 to 2 hour taxi ride.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, comfortable
  • Disliked — Bed was a little stiff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Global_Project_Mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
404 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

Stayed at the Metropark the first several nights of a 15 day tour, and it was a fantastic place to start. Very upscale and a grand lobby. Super clean. Actually the only hotel that gave us lotion on the trip... so standard in America, but all the others gave slippers, toothbrush&paste... everything but lotion. The service was great, and everyone at the hotel was very helpful.

Many hotels had great breakfast buffets, but this one had the best. Good coffee, eggs cooked to order with sample plates to point at, lots of choices of fruit, absolutely every option both western and eastern. Also, it's a very attractive room just off the lobby.

This would be a good choice if you have kids who demand fast food, as not only are there lots of choices for breakfast (and dinner, we heard) -- but a block or two up the street there are a KFC and pizza place-- there might have even been a McDonald's.

Only negative-- some people complained that the beds were too hard. However, I have a feeling that, because it was the first hotel of the trip, they just had not gotten used to the very, very firm beds throughout China.
We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xizhimen
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
#195 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Chongwenmen
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
#181 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing South Railway Station
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
#83 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Chongwenmen
Jingtailong International Hotel
Jingtailong International Hotel
#153 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#112 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel

Property: Grand Metropark Hotel
Address: No.338 Guanganmen Nei Avenue, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#288 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropark Beijing
Hotel Grand Metropark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing