We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beijing of the last century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Capital Residence
Ranked #689 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beijing of the last century”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a lovely stay. Having lived in Beijing in the 1980'ies, it was wonderful to be back in the Hutongs, which are now under threat from developers. Moreover, for anyone with a bit of interest in the history of 20th century China, it will be a great experience. Sure, there is a bit of dust on Zhou Enlai's personal radio receiver, which is found in the bar, but that is surely to be expected and adds to the charm. The courtyard is a little oasis in Beijing's hectic tempo, and the breakfast served there in the morning is perfect. Simple, and good.

All in all, it is a distinguished and peaceful little window to a Beijing of the last century - if that appeals, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartebeespoort
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A unique experience in an authentic and original Beijing Hutong house that enriched our China adventure. The staff were helpful and always present. The rooms were quaint, and as such not the most comfortable, but that probably added to the authentic experience. The rooms could have been cleaner. All in all, it was an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The author's room bed was very narrow - not recommended for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We just spent three nights at the Red Capital Residence and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is not a five star luxury property, but that is not why you stay here. It feels like olden day China, yet you are only walking distance from the new shops, restaurants and subway. We had a few issues with a cold room and no hot water, but Helen, who is possibly the best hotel worker I have every dealt with changed our rooms immediately. My husband was a bit poorly and Helen rushed out to get some honey for his tea. The service is the best I have ever experienced, the location and feel of the hotel was perfect and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

It is an interesting hotel but it is not very clean
Nice and helpful staff though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stilwell, KS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel, in an old courtyard residence that once belonged to Mao's minister of defense, is for those who want some adventure in their travel experience. The setting is mostly original and authentic, not for those who want to feel like they could be anywhere in the world in a cookie cutter luxury hotel that insulates you from the local experience.

We loved it, and wouldn't change a thing. The bomb shelter (real, not contrived) bar is as cool as it gets, and the overall setting is nothing short of gorgeous. The staff is attentive an accommodating, and responded well to all of our extra requests.

We plan to return again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jcgrant4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

The Red Capital gave us a taste of the 'old china'. It was very atmospheric and passing through the large red doors you felt a sense of travelling into the past. We were staying there during the 60th celebrations of the PRC. We had an amazing time and the Red Capital added to our experience. It is NOT a luxury hotel, so don't expect this. The Red Capital is an experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The first two nights, we are staying in Chinese Traditional Boutique hotel, the Red Capital Residence. It is very impressive since we walk into the main gate thru inside where is the Chinese style one floor house, 5 bed room surroundings in square. quiet, pieceful cover with one big tree. All rooms are special decoration with Chinese Boutique furnitures. We feel special because we stay in Chairman Mao Suite where Chairman Mao used to stay before. There are a lots of interesting books, about China all over the place. I guarantee for the travelers who loves reading will be enjoy them and won't want to leave the place. Big breakfast serve to your bed . Red Capital is located in the center of Beijing so it is easy to walk 2 minutes to the subway and it is very convenience to take taxi. We choosed to take taxii, which it starts from 10 RMB (1.5USD), with a couple of dollars the taxi can bring us to Tiananmen Square. We can spend one day to seeing Tiananmen Square, Olympic Village and the Summer Palace. Night life at Houhai lake are also great relax. A lots of bars and restaurant for your choices. The next day we went to Lama temple and leave to the Ranch in the afternoon with 2.30 shuttle.

From Red Capital Club, we took a Rickshaw from the Residence pass thru the small road in the village, it was cool! We enjoy it. The food at the Club are great, we had Mongolian beef, my husband keep saying “this is the best beef I had ever have in China while eating. The long bean with pumpkins is also highly recommend, it is a combination of sweet pumpkin with the salty garlic of long bean.

The shuttle tookd 1.5 hrs. from the Residence to the Ranch, the place where surrounding with mountains, water, trees, .... Inside the Rach area we can climb the Great wall ruin. Unfortunately, my husband got sick when we arrive so we only had a chance to have massage, and sauna. It is a good place to breath fresh air and away from busy town.

The staffs at Red Capital, Residence and Ranch are all nice smile, friendly and good services.

Chantana & Chris
Sept 24-28, 2009 at Red Captial Residence, Club and Ranch

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chantana_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
DuGe Boutique Hotel
DuGe Boutique Hotel
#533 of 6,517 in Beijing
33 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#169 of 6,517 in Beijing
103 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#143 of 6,517 in Beijing
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,517 in Beijing
422 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,517 in Beijing
495 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#74 of 6,517 in Beijing
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Capital Residence

Property: Red Capital Residence
Address: No.9 Dongsi Liutiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#358 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Capital Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Capital Residence Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing