We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Ranked #2 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, but could be better”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I booked this hotel because of its name. Four season normally meets my expectation and needs, but not this one. I mean its still a nice hotel, but for the two nights that I stayed here, I could never get a taxi in or out. I ended up having paid one of those illegal cab to take me to downtown. (No it's not in downtown, and it is near nowhere.) I also had trouble finding food nearby. So I think the location is a big problem for this hotel. Breakfast was ok, considered its price, it could provide a little more varieties. Service is good, room not that big but bathroom is comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask a room that's away from the Main Street as it gets loud in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Wanderer T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing and for sharing your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfactory experience during your stay. Many visitors to Beijing have noticed the difficulty to find cabs during the city's rush hours. The hotel is working very hard to assist guests by stationing front office staff outside the hotel to help catch cabs. Thank you again for letting us know your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Best regards, Sanjiv Hulugalle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    95
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
159
166
48
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in... the experience was incredible, the staff goes way above and beyond, and the whole place oozes luxury and comfort.

All the spaces in the hotel are pretty perfect, though I think my favorite was the amazing pool, hot tub, and spa area. They had probably the nicest gym locker room I have ever seen, with awesome toiletries and amenities. The pool and hot tub were just glorious. And no stupid attempts to force you to buy swim caps like you get at some Asian upscale hotels.

Our room was also lovely. Really comfortable, plush furniture, awesome extra touches like postcards with scenes of Old Beijing on them. The room had free wifi (you only pay extra for the very high-speed connection). I think my favorite was the bathroom though--ENORMOUS, with huge tub, separate rain shower, separate toilet, huge sink area with great counter space, lots of toiletries, super plush towels--every detail was great. I think my only criticism of the room (and indeed, of the entire hotel) is that the bed is not quite as comfortable as it should be... pillows weren't soft, and the mattress wasn't our favorite.

We enjoyed the incredible breakfast buffet that was included in our room. It was really a cut above, everything was really high quality, and the baked goods were perfect. The croissant was excellent, the French toast was like bread pudding, and the homemade jams are lovely. We also enjoyed the Chinese dim sum options available. In addition, we had afternoon tea at the lobby lounge, and they really do it right, with tea sandwiches, scones, clotted cream, and great little desserts. Highly recommended.

This was all complimented by just such incredibly friendly, positive, and thoughtful staff. I have yet to experience such genuinely friendly service elsewhere in Beijing (I live here and stayed at the hotel as a staycation).

Location is in the embassy area by Liangmaqiao, near subway but not near much of the tourist stuff. Beijing is so huge and spread out though, so anywhere you stay you end up getting around mostly by taxi and subway.

I loved this hotel and would recommend it highly, especially to those traveling on business with an expense account or willing to splurge. It is a great experience and one that surpasses the rest of the market here by far.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Katiekins570,
We are delighted to read your kind words for the hotel, it is particularly important for us to know that you had a memorable stay with us and encountered the signature Four Seasons quality service. You can rest assured that I will share with the rest of the team your very encouraging message, including the F&B team, Spa and all departments that contributed to your pleasant experience. You mentioned that in the comment that you live in Beijing, in which case, you may also like to try our other facilities. Please don't hesitate to contact us should you require anything at all. Best Regards, Sanjiv Hulugalle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

hotel is one on newest collations in city for 5 star hotel. its in more none center of CBD. other words nothing in very short walk. exceot of you have related work in area.

i will prefer park Hayyat or china world or opposite house. GYM is very nice. swim pool is very nice. but not deep enought. so not very relax to swim.

room is very nice and clean finishing but will not be one of best in city. mattres was super amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q8engrchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear q8engrchina,

We are pleased that you have shared with us your comment on TripAdvisor. For the convenience of our guests, we provide free shuttle bus service. The shuttle buses provide short and convenient commutes bringing guests to the CBD area as well as Sanlitun Village. For more information, our concierge would be happy to be at your assistance. With your continued support, we are confident in polishing all aspects of the guest experience. We hope to be of your service again in the future. Best Regards, Sanjiv Hulugalle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

warm welcome from hotel reception to manager. with good smile from every staff in the hotel
Good breakfast, with wide range of food. serving good tea and congee
Nice room with soft bed, big toilet room

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Nelson563,

We are delighted to read the positive comment you left on TripAdvisor hotel after your stay with us. We are especially pleased to know that you have encountered the signature Four Seasons service and was greeted warmly in the hotel. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you require anything at all. Wishing you a great weekend ahead. Best Regards, Sanjiv Hulugalle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Amazing Hotel - Great Food. Our room was big, very clean as in every Four Seasons and the room amenities were fantastic. Exceptional Service. Italian restaurant is a must try. Kids amenities were very special. The Hotel staff is very guest oriented and they know how to pamper kids. The service is unbelievable, everybody is trying to help.

Thank You ALL
Esra

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esrabayru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Malcom B,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your business trip. We appreciate your kind words and enjoy reading about your stay. You can be assured that this comment will be shared with all the departments that are involved in making your stay a pleasant one, whether it is house keeping, front desk or the executive club. We look forward to welcoming you back again in your future visits to Beijing. Thank you again and have a great weekend, Sanjiv Hulugalle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

What a fantastic hotel, the rooms are spacious and very well appointed and taking a bath is just a wonderful experience as the bathroom is massive, and you can sit and have a bath with a glass of wine overlooking Beijing embassy district, lovely...

The Bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were "duck down" and so so soft. The room had its own complimentary ILLY coffee machine with capsules provided as well which I loved because I am a big coffee drinker. For my wife there was also a very good selection of Tea and so we were both well and truly satisfied in that regard...

They also provide an abundance of free water which is particular good for Beijing which is quite a dry climate and you tend drink a lot more water.

Mini Bar is very comprehensive but like all hotels, pricy.

Ate at two restaurants during our stay, firstly, Mio was the Italian restaurant with very good service and very good food, with an open kitchen environment and a great atmosphere.

The other restaurant we visited was the Chinese restaurant called Cai Yi Xuan. Again the food was first class and I would say that the service there was just a little better than the Italian restaurant, not to say that the Italian restaurant service was bad but I found that the staff in the Chinese restaurant were more friendly and always smiling and laughing which creates a very nice ambience. We also dined with a local Beijing person who was very impressed as well which says a lot about the restaurant...

Wife had a pedicure and manicure at SPA in the 6th floor and she was particularly impressed, especially given that she was able to lay down flat on a massage bed rather than sit down on a chair which makes the experience all the more enjoyable.

Very easy to get a taxi downstairs and the concierge people are also very efficient in helping.

Check in and checkout were both handled with extreme efficiency and speed, best I've ever seen.

The Executive lounge on the 26th floor has almost 360 degree views, excellent place to do a casual business meeting or just sit and relax and watch the sun go down.

All in all the experience at this hotel was one of the best experiences I've ever had on a business trip in Beijing and would most are definitely recommend this hotel to the business traveller or the weekend escape for couples as it is not ridiculously overpriced for what you get in return...

The three photo's attached are of the room, the view from room 1917 and the Italian restaurant

Room Tip: Asking for a high floor as of April 2013 there is still some construction going on next door. Room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Esra,
We are thrilled to read your positive comment on TripAdvisor. Our hotel staff has certainly come up with creative ways to spoil the young guests at our hotel, whether it is a colorful in-room amenity or the Kid’s Corner in Opus Lounge every Sunday. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we are most happy to be of your service again in the future. Best Regards, Sanjiv Hulugalle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and I am not easily impressed. This was my first trip to Beijing and I have to say this hotel was amazing. Fantastic gym, beautiful rooms, sensational bathrooms and awesome service. The concierge was extremely helpful. The spa was lovely. A great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaGia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSH_Beijing, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear LisaGia,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Four Seasons Hotel Beijing and for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are pleased to learn that we have made a good impression on your first trip to Beijing. We certainly hope you have enjoyed the fantastic city too. We look forward to welcoming you again on your subsequent trips to Beijing. Best Wishes, Sanjiv Hulugalle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
757 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,520 in Beijing
392 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,520 in Beijing
360 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Opposite House
The Opposite House
#3 of 6,520 in Beijing
884 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,520 in Beijing
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Beijing

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Address: No.48 Liangmaqiao Road, Beijing 100125, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Seasons Hotel Beijing enjoys prime location within the Yansha area of Central Business District, close to the Third Embassy Precinct in northeastern Chaoyang, the city's most dynamic business and entertainment area. Enjoying a short commute to both the main airport (25 minutes), popular tourist destinations like the Great Wall (45 minutes), Sanlitun Village Entertainment Hub(8 minutes).Various rooms are equipped with high-speed broadband internet access, Plasma TVs, ipod docks, espresso coffee machines, marble bathrooms and huge bathtubs. Diners can discover fine Chinese cuisine in a dramatically modern setting at our Cantonese restaurant "Cai Yi Xuan", enjoy Southern-Italian food at the Italian-style eatery "Mio" and tradition with a twist at the Tea Garden.Guests can relax and lounge around the indoor heated swimming pool or whirlpool, work out at the fitness center and enjoy themselves at the sauna and steam rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing