We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poly Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poly Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1,670 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was a very average hotel in a decent location. I would not stay here again as there are many to choose from in the area that are nicer. The breakfast did not have many "American" choices as we were told. Staff was very friendly and nice. Beds were extrememly hard...ask for foam pads to be added. They did help a bit. The rooms were clean just very out dated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjoy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    104
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
8
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the poly hotel and were more than disappointed! Where do I start? The staff is uncoordinated, inexperienced and unfriendly! When we first checked in we received the worst rooms ever with broken and worn down furniture on a smoking floor without even asking us whether we are smokers or not! After changing rooms for 3 times we received a decent room on a non smoking foor. The staff is not only incompetent but also unwilling to help e.g. When we order Tee to the room they tell you that you already have tea in the room or when you want to borrow an umbrella they expect you to give a deposit and since we didn't have any yuan they were unwilling to lend us an umbrella even though it was pouring outside! Also the floors are constantly loud and the cleaning staff does not pay any attention to not waking guests up at 7.30 - 8 in the morning! The food is horrible so we went to the swisshotel next door to have breakfast and dinner and found out that the Swiss hotel (5 star) costs the same as the 4 star poly. Next time we will definitely not stay at the poly hotel. It's the worst hotel experience I ever had and I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We recent stayed at the Poly Plaza for 4 nights. It was a hotel that was just perfect for our needs. There were 5 of us including 2 children. The hotel is centrally located with lots of restaurants, etc., within a couple of blocks. We even found out that Pizza Hut delivers, since we ordered a hot pizza on a freezing cold night and we didn't want to go out. By the way the pizza was excellent. The hotel has a dollar change machine in the lobby and it is available 24 hours, making it very convenient. Our bed was the typical hard Chinese bed, but they brought us a nice foam pad and placed it on the bed, all you have to do is ask. The breaksfast is wonderful. Any breakfast food you could want. Even the kids found a lot to enjoy. The hotel is decorated in dark wood ,giving it sort of an old fashioned appearance, but our room was clean and neat, and the bathroom and linens were clean and fresh. We only received one English language TV station (CNN). The western style restaurant was kind of pricey, so we didn't eat there during our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was very quiet, and we heard no noise what so ever. We liked the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1975AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
222 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

A decent enough hotel, nothing to complain about and nothing to rave about so average is a good enough rating for it. A bit dated, old design and hardish beds. Don't get too excited about the hotel but the location is good and lots to do nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have stayed at Poly Plaza on four different trips to Beijing. We keep going back because it is a nice hotel in a great location. From the airport, it is a fairly quick cab ride, or you can take the airport express, transfer to line two, and it is just one stop away. The hotel has a very good breakfast every day in their western restaurant. Our room has always been nice and clean, and the service has been good. There is a currency exchange machine in the lobby that is quick and simple, and the business center and concierge have always been helpful with getting taxis and hiring cars. There are good restaurants nearby, and a grocery store is just a block away.

With a subway stop just outside the front door, you can get anywhere quickly. Next time we go back to Beijing, we will likely stay there again. We always feel like we are at home when we get to the Poly Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnipropetrovsk, Украина
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It was only one night. Since the hotel gave me shelter in the stormy night, and in the absence of other options, I think that this is an excellent hotel:))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadymSusayev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Friends,
in January 2012 I had a 4 days stay in the Poly Plaza Hotel in Beijing.

Staff is very friendly. Price is good and the location is very central. There are a
bunch of restaurants outside. Every kind you want. There is a very good HotPot
Restaurant when you go the left from the Hotel. Just a 5 Minutes walk.

Negative: Rooms can be more clean and it is not a business Hotel. Forget to
have any meeting in the lobby or Bar. In this case you need to go to Kempinski or so but
if you do not want to have any meetings in the Hotel it should be your choice.

Hotel Restaurant I did not checked because there are too many good Restaurants
outside. I did not checked breakfast too. Bar is OK but boring. I was almost alone there.

Some trainees or even long employes staff have problems to speak english. But they all
want to speak and try there best to communicate. Good job!

I felt good in this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#203 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#121 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Qing Lan Plaza Hotel
Qing Lan Plaza Hotel
#2,144 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Qianyuan International Business Hotel
Qianyuan International Business ...
#1,849 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poly Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poly Plaza Hotel

Property: Poly Plaza Hotel
Address: No.14 Dongzhimen South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,670 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poly Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poly Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poly Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing