We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New World Beijing Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Exceptional service and very modern infrastructure.The room was fabulous and large. The rates were almost half of those in India for a similar room in the Delhi.The service was so good that everytime I needed to get a cab, the staff would seat me and prepare an info sheet of the place I was going with the map and address in chinese and give it to the cab driver. I got a card with the mobile number of the cabby and they also noted the cab number.
I needed a nail cutter When I was leaving for the airport, they even sent a flask of tea along with the cab for the way. Dont know how they get it back. All in all, strongly recommended for everyone traveling to Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabahatazim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sabahatazim thank you for your very good review, which I have passed on as always to the team here at the hotel. Please do let us know next time you will be in the city, by contacting us directly for your reservation. best regards Andrew M Whitaker andrew.whitaker@newworldhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Rooms in this hotel were large, well equiped and very modern. Location of the hotel is not fit for leisure, but fit was very conveniently located for my purpose. Travel time from and to the airport depends on the traffic. Do not arrange a hotel car as they highly overcharge. Minimum of 550 YUAN for a trip to the airport is ridiculously high compared to a regular taxi in Beijing, which will cost you appr. 100 YUAN.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorJaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Lor Jazz2011 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following you recent stay at the hotel this week. I am very surprised that you mentioned that the hotel is not suitable for leisure, as we are located very close to the most popular tourist attractions in China. In addition the hotel has its own Swimming pool, Health Club, Yin Roof top bar offering great views of the city. Please do let us know next time you are visiting the city as we would be more than happy to show you around the area, and perhaps parts of the hotel that you missed on your recent stay.
The hotel does offer private limo transfers to the airport at standard city wide costs. Taxis as you have mentioned are cheaper as is the case in all citys around the world.

best regards Andrew Whitaker General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My tour guide left a message for us to meet him at the lobby at 7am. Message was not conveyed in any form, only until the next day at about 6.45am! Missed breakfast and is late for the tour!

Housekeeping is very inconsistent. First day when I checked in a flower bud was on the floor next to the bin in the bathroom. On the day of checkout it was still there. Oily window stains can be seen when you draw up the curtains. Amenities not replenished, first day I did not have any vanity box. Housekeeping staff left shaving cream in the rinsing glass that we are using! Half bottle shower gel was not replenished when the room is occupied for 2 pax. I have to inform front desk to replenish it. Toothbrush which was in the rinsing glass was left lying on the vanity counter. Power socket beside minibar fridge is faulty. Bathtub was not cleaned. First two days room was in a night turn down position, next few days it was not.

The selection for western food breakfast is very limited. Hostess at tian tan kitchen is rude. I wanted a bigger table but was told off by her in a rude manner that it was occupied. I understand that during weekends the restaurant might be busy and larger table is reserved for a bigger group but she could have put it professionally. A big turned off for the day! Staffs at tian tan kitchen always looked so gloomy and they don't even bother to smile or greet you in the morning. Chefs was seen to handle food without gloves!

I've been to Beijing many times over the years and have stayed in doubletree and Hilton wangfujing properties. This is a nice property with beautiful rooms situated at a good location. Service wise it is still far away from being 5 star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OriginalAngryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in our very first time in China with my husband and two teenage boys. I could not recommend this hotel more highly. A great location for tourists, right opposite the park and right on top of the Metro. We loved walking in the park in the early morning and watching the TaiChi and kite flyers out enjoying their day. I must congratulate Keith who was incredibly helpful and ensured the Club facilities ran smoothly. In addition the most lovely concierge Frank who even walked us down to ensure we got local SIM cards on our first day. Rooms were great and breakfast in the Club lounge was fantastic. Overall, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Caroline, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel with your family, and that you receommend the hotel as a place to stay in Beijing. Please do book directly with us next time you visit China. With best regards Andrew Whitaker General Manager andrew.whitaker@newworldhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Brand new hotel with a beautiful and modern interior with a fantastic water feature in the lobby bar. Some of the reviews we saw on this hotel were talking about an unideal location but for sightseeing purposes I thought this is a great location. It is also not on a main road which makes it slightly quieter than some other hotels. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and a nice rooftop terrace. The general manager was also very helpful for our special requests. In the room they provide USB plugs and EU plug adapters for all sockets. Free Wifi also. We visited the spa as well which had a beautiful swimming pool and good masage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thilo__82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Thilo__82, thank you for your review today, as you have pointed out or location we think is perfect in the centre of the city, close to the tourist attractions and also the metro and CBD area.
Thank you for booking directly with us, which we apprecaite. with best regards Andrew Whitaker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights for our first visit to Beijing. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are VERY modern and spacious - the bed is comfortable, especially for Asian standards.

We had some trouble with the room temperature at night with the room becoming very warm - tried to ask the front desk about it but didn't get very far with it. Luckily, the weather was moderate and we really didn't need an AC but if it were the summer, I would hope there would have been a better solution.

Some decent restaurants are within walking distance, as well as various stores. Wangfujing is a short taxi ride away (although we walked one direction and it was a pleasant walk). We were able to walk to the Temple of Heaven and Forbidden City. Overall, the location is central. Since the hotel is so new, not many taxi drivers know if it. From the airport, our driver took a little bit of time finding it. Make sure to have the hotel's name in Chinese as well as a phone number.

Be aware the meal's in the hotel's restaurants are good but quite pricey. Our breakfast was not included in our room rate, and although it was a good meal, it was certainly overpriced, especially for Asian standards. The hotel can also arrange tours for you - but also quite overpriced.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is free and your room is always being stocked with free water bottles - very useful.

If we were to go again, I would stay here. The hotel is so classy and gorgeous!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear ShivG81 thank you for you review posted today, I would like to thank you for staying with New World Beijing Hotel. As you mentioned the hotel is brand new, and some taxi drivers may not yet be aware of it. We can provide a map in Chinese prior to your arrival from our reservations department should you require on your next stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your aircon, which we have subsequently fixed.
With regards to the breakfast we our currently looking at the pricing and will make adjustments in the next few weeks. However I am pleased to hear that you liked the selection.
I would strongly recommend that your do not use other local tour companies who may be cheaper than the hotel directly, these tour agents make the difference in cost by taking commission from the shops, attraction entrance fees and restaurants that they take you to on the way and back from the tours, which is something we do not encourage, and our passed guests have complained about.Many independent tour guides are also not licensed by the government.
Please do let us know when you or your friends are visiting Beijing by booking directly with us. regards Andrew Whitaker General Manager andrew.whitaker@newworldhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the New World Beijing Hotel for four nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by Nancy Liu, Assistant Front Office Manager. She was extremely helpful in getting us settled and answering any questions we had. During the check in process, we were pleasantly surprised as Andrew Whitaker, the Hotel General Manager had upgraded us to an amazingly spacious suite.

The hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms had a contemporary decor and very generous in space! Our suite had a terrific wet room/ rain shower! Breakfast was delicious! The Head Chef, Richard Hilton was very accommodating with special requests and ran the restaurant smooth and efficient.

The hotel was convenient to the subway. Since the hotel is new, most taxi drivers were not familiar with its exact location. I suggest you take the address in Chinese in case the taxi cannot find the Hotel.

I want to thank Andrew for the upgrade and for taking the time out of his busy schedule to say good by to us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinghenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at New World Beijing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Henry, thank you for the posting, which I have also passed onto Nancy and also Richard.
You are correct that we are new and some Taxi drivers are not aware of our location, however we do have a map that we can send you in Chinese from our reservations team upon making a reservation. we are located very close to Tianamen square and the Temple of Heaven as reference points.
Please do let us know next time you or your friends are looking to visit Beijing as we would be happy to look after them best regards Andrew andrew.whitaker@newworldhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#16 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,549 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
823 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Beijing Hotel

Address: No.8 Qi'nian Street, Chongwenmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100062, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £91 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Beijing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 309-room New World Beijing Hotel is only a short stroll from the Temple of Heaven, and is conveniently located near important cultural sites such as Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, as well as the popular Wangfujing shopping district. Designed to impress both business and leisure travellers, the hotel provides tastefully appointed guestrooms and suites and has an extensive range of recreational and business facilities. The hotel features stylish contemporary design themes accentuated with distinctive Chinese elements. From delicious Chinese delicacies at 8 Qi Nian to refreshing cocktails at the YIN on 12 rooftop bar, the hotel offers an authentic taste of this extraordinary city. With the largest outdoor terrace of any of the capital's luxury hotels, the Residence Club offers ultimate privileged privacy and superlative luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New World Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing