We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star - maybe a 3 at best...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beijing Xinyuan Hotel
Ranked #1,696 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star - maybe a 3 at best...”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Visited for 5 days with a tour group. This hotel is at best a 3 star by American stds. The rooms were clean, but dingy and old. Their was mold in the bathroom shower and on the shower curtains. The furniture is Holiday Inn 1950 style...and the hallways smelled like old cigarette smoke. This hotel needs a serious rehab...spend the money and stay next door at Raffles.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyClymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    57
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
10
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in December 2008. Since we were part of a group tour, we didn't have to worry about any of the booking and check-in hassles. If you are traveling for leisure and and need to arrange your own transportation, this might not be a good place for you since it is kind of far away from the attractions in the center of Beijing, and considering the traffic in Beijing, it'll take you a while to get to those places from this hotel.

The hotel itself is very nice and modern. We got there just before Christmas and the lobby was decked out in Christmas decorations. We really had no complaints about our room. Yes, the beds are hard compared to Western hotels, but that's the case everywhere in China, and we got used to it pretty quickly. To me, the best thing about this hotel was its breakfast buffet, which was excellent. It offered a wide selection of both Chinese and American dishes. One funny moment: One of the platters in the American buffet was labeled "Cheese Plate" and had individually wrapped slices of American cheese.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed here during the Olympics as part of a group booking.
Agree with other reviews that the beds were very firm, the hotel was not close to the centre and it was disappointing to have to pay for ammenties such as the swimming pool.
The most frustrating thing was dealing with the staff on reception. We had a number of problems regarding pre payment of rooms, whether we had paid for breakfasts and ended up needing to speak to the sales manager to try and resolve things which took a significant amount of time. To end it all we were charged for using/opening items in the room (which we hadnt) and no matter how much we protested our case they wouldnt listen to us. As we needed to leave for the aiport we ended up paying for these items and later found out that others groups had had the same problem

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bel0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Stayed here with a tour group from June 18-22, 2008. A very nice hotel. Very good breakfast. Nice amenities, but most come with an additional cost.

The hotel is ill-suited to those who would like to see a bit of the city on foot. It is right off a freeway, and a short walk doesn't immediately get one to shops or a street scene that feels safe and interesting.

Very nice rooms with many complimentary items as well as several items for sale. Determine the difference before sampling.

  • Liked — Beauty of the Interior
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerman, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We were booked here as part of a group tour. The room was very nice and the beds were very frim (the firmest of the 4 hotels we stayed at on our trip) that was fine for us as it is our preference. Not so for some we were traveling with. The breakfast buffet was good. We were able to have some familiar western food (e.i. eggs- fried, scrambled, potatoes, coffee, toast) along with a variety of Chinese fare. The room had blow dryer and a hot water pot for boiled water, a fridge, and assorted toiletries(some complimentary -some for sale) and snacks(for sale). Upon arrival the room was stuffy. the thermostat did not seem to work. But we left the window open and by the next day we were comfortable. Cannot comment on location as we were carted by our group tour bus and we did not pay much attention to relative distance to attractions.
We went to the Temple of Heaven one morning. That would be a place to go back and spend more time--huge and interesting if you enjoy a park like setting and alot of activity along with cultural interests. I was surprised how close to a section of the Great Wall we were. We were amazed to see the preparation all over the city, as well as the country, for the Olympics.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Stuffy room
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MGPiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Ritan Hotel
Ritan Hotel
#100 of 6,474 in Beijing
146 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,474 in Beijing
450 reviews
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#78 of 6,474 in Beijing
496 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#37 of 6,474 in Beijing
527 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Beijing Friendship Hotel Grand Building
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Xinyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Xinyuan Hotel

Property: Beijing Xinyuan Hotel
Address: No.6 Shifangyuan, Haidian District, Beijing 100036, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing West Railway Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,696 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Xinyuan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Xinyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing