We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, fantastic place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Austen Kitchen - CLOSED

Austen Kitchen
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Pleses make reservation in advance by phone or by email!Much appreciate! With a charming arrangement full of mahogany furniture, soft reading lamps and vintage music, Austen Cafe is an ideal place that is sweet and cosy enough for friends' reunion, couple's relaxation or colleagues' small talk after work. We serve Italian cuisine including pasta, lasagne, panini, breads and soups which are totally home made with top-shelf ingredients. And we also serve beef steak with authentic Australian red wine. besides, our cakes and deserts are favored most amoungst all we serve.Warm welcome to make a RESERVATION in advance!and Cash only now:)How to find us?A: Please take a taxi to the Nanluoguxiang(南锣鼓巷)the North entrance, go into the main street to the south, about 30 meters long, passing by a public toilet, on the LEFT hand the First hutong,named Xiaojuer Hutong(小菊儿胡同 )turn LEFT, go into about 20 meters you can see Austen Kitchen!B:By the No.6 subway get off at the Nanluoguxiang(南锣鼓巷 )station, go into the main street to the north, about 1000 meters passing by Starburks, on the RIGHT hand when you saw the Yogurt shop then ture right to the Xiaojuer Hutong(小菊儿胡同),go into 20 meters you can find Austen Kitchen!
Beijing, China
1 review
“Fantastic food, fantastic place!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had the great pleasure of having dinner with a friend at Austen Kitchen while spending a week in Beijing. We called from our hotel and booked a table, but due to difficulties getting a taxi, we were very late. When we finally arrived, the hostess seemed extremely relieved that we had made it there, so she really cares about her customers.

I enjoyed a great mozzarella and tomato salad, then a fantastic pasta Carbonara, all enjoyed with a bottle of the house red wine. I really recommend the Pannacotta for dessert!

Really an exceptional place, well worth the visit. As others have mentioned, Cici is very helpful and accommodating when it comes to helping you find both the place, and to find out which dishes to have. I hope to return one day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnhanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest ,

I guess you are come from Norway, two lovely guys who love our food very much! I am so happy you both enjoyed our food and our nice wine, and yes, i really care about our guests!

Hope to see you next time!

Best,

Cici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place is a real gem in Beijing. A small cozy restaurant with around 12 seats in total. We went there twice the week we stayed there.

Homemade pasta was delicious. Appertizers were great, the wine was good and the lady waiting is adorable!

Call on beforehand and make a reservation. The owner came and met us where the taxi dropped us off, since the place was a bit hard to find. Really nice of her :-)

Appertizers we had was in the range 68-98 RMB
Pasta was 58-68 RMB
Dessert was 28 RMB

One bottle of house wine 220 RMB.

I would recommend to try this out if you get tired of all the chineese food ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear beautiful lady,

Thanks a lot for your warm recommadation and so many details for our guests! It's really give me a surprise about that! Thank you for your kindness!

And i still remember your beautiful hair and smile! Hope you smile all the time!

Best,

Cici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dulce vita in the heart of a hutong!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thank you to Cici for being so warm and welcoming. I ordered the tomato, arugula and mozzarella salad and then the tagliatelle with roasted eggplant and tomatoes. It was delicious and so fresh. The restaurant is lovely and small with a feeling of home. The value here is all about quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbaldrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Debby,

So nice to meet you in Austen, thank you for your recommadation, and i still remember our great conversation!

All the best,

Cici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The waiter was insistent on up-selling us a lot of extras and after we got our main dish we realized why, it was small.
The prawns with cheese for ~150Y got us 3 prawns with two slices of caramelized apple as side.
I guess we shouldn't have gone to a "Italian" cousine restaurant in Beijing in the first place.

Helpful?
Thank Konrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your coming and your review!

You and your girlfriend came to our restaurant at 18:30 yesterday for dinner, you ordered the one pasta and one maincourse, as a dinner, i gave your advice that maybe not enough, what do you think?And because our pasta are all homemade and fresh, so need a little bit more time, you can think about a starter, or a homemade bread, Is that up-selling?

About the main course, we use the Prawn,not Shrimp, good quality and not cheap, made with parmesan cheese and butter, herbs, serviced with caramel apple, it's not simple, yes, this main course is RMB148, not cheap but reasonable. By the way, our most of homemade pasta is just RMB58, homemade ciabatta is RMB 25, is that all overpriced?You refused my suggestion and waited for a little bit time to eat, so you feel not good, I totally understand!

I am the owner, what i did just wish our guests feel good and be satisfied with the meal, so we value the quanlity of the food, also value the worth of our work.

Best,

Austen-C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Nicest people,delicious food and really welcoming place,when I return to Beijing I will come to eat here again!!try the apple pie!!!very delicious!!

Helpful?
Thank pippijambo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, dear guest, lovely family from Italy, although i can't speak Italian, but i really feel your happiness in our restaurant, we felt the happiness too!

Nice picture, nice smile!

Much appreciate!

Austen-C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Austen Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing