We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting haven with good food”
Review of Austen Kitchen - CLOSED

Austen Kitchen
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Diner, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pleses make reservation in advance by phone or by email!Much appreciate! With a charming arrangement full of mahogany furniture, soft reading lamps and vintage music, Austen Cafe is an ideal place that is sweet and cosy enough for friends' reunion, couple's relaxation or colleagues' small talk after work. We serve Italian cuisine including pasta, lasagne, panini, breads and soups which are totally home made with top-shelf ingredients. And we also serve beef steak with authentic Australian red wine. besides, our cakes and deserts are favored most amoungst all we serve.Warm welcome to make a RESERVATION in advance!and Cash only now:)How to find us?A: Please take a taxi to the Nanluoguxiang(南锣鼓巷)the North entrance, go into the main street to the south, about 30 meters long, passing by a public toilet, on the LEFT hand the First hutong,named Xiaojuer Hutong(小菊儿胡同 )turn LEFT, go into about 20 meters you can see Austen Kitchen!B:By the No.6 subway get off at the Nanluoguxiang(南锣鼓巷 )station, go into the main street to the north, about 1000 meters passing by Starburks, on the RIGHT hand when you saw the Yogurt shop then ture right to the Xiaojuer Hutong(小菊儿胡同),go into 20 meters you can find Austen Kitchen!
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I'd say that Austen Kitchen is a gentle place- soft lighting, classical music, off the main hutong drag and a relief to find.

You won't be overcrowded here, sitting at one of the unique wooden tables on antique furniture. It is both minimally and perfectly designed.

Food is Italian, as you've read in other reviews, and it tastes fresh and alive; if you're work out by steamed and fried foods, the presence of olive oil in their homemade pastas is subtle and reassuring. Ahhhh- that's a taste I've been missing in China! The silverware is heavy, and clinks pleasantly against the ceramic plates as you eat: even the sound of the good is Italian.

Different soups served daily. Enticing desserts. I had a dinner of salad, pasta, and white wine and feel light on my toes, ready for more wandering.

Try to find it. When you do, go no farther.

1  Thank LadyL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear LadyL99,

Thanks a lot for your nice review, it is including almost every part.Especially the details about the food, "Ahhhh- that's a taste i've been missing in China!" I really happy to hear that my guests enjoyed time in Austen, because of our Italian food, atmospyer, or maybe just the nice music or the light!

I really agree with you, try to find us, when you do, go no farther!

Much appreciate!

Best,

Austen-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is more like a cafe kitchen than a full restaurant. Foods are good and owner lady are very nice.

Location is like a hidden corner of Hutong and step away from a mass crowd. There are basically 4 tables and recommended to book in advance. Short lists menus are very good. Taste of food is awesome for little kitchen. Order fried octopus as a starter. The smokey smell can make you mouth watering.

Asked me if I come back again or recommend other to try. ? Definitely yes.

1  Thank Sirichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Sirichy,

Thank you for your kindly review! And i am so glad you like our food, and it's great you and your nice friends all enjoied the dinner time in Austen!

Soooo warm welcome you and your friends come to taste our food again!

Best,

Austen-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hidden in the back alley of Hutong district of old Beijing, Austen Kitchen is a breath of fresh air (literally) where most eateries have turned "trendily commercial". With only 3 tables, Austen serves genuine Italian home cooking, reminding me of the fat Mama commanding the back kitchen; except we were served by the gracious lady co~owner speaking excellent English who was most attentive. Was told the chef co~owner who was on leave apprenticed with some famous Italian master chef. All bread & pasta are home made as all the dishes. The Penna Cotta was awesome as their most famous chocolate cake & teramisu were sold out. Given the quality, US$80 with beers for 2 was excellent value. Better call in advance to book table. Having lived in Beijing for 5 years in the early 2000s, Austen Kitchen is totally a pleasant surprise after days of Peking duck or greasy noodles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cyrus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear cyrus h,

Thank you for your sincerely review! I really like what you said "reminding me of the fat Mama commanding the back kitchen", yes, we just wish our guests taste the awesome food just like your Mama cooked in your kitchen with warm love.

Beijing is developing so fast, losting so much, but we still keep a warm place in the centre area served with warm food.That is Austen!

Best,

Austen-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Have tried Italian food in new york, florence, rome, melbourne, taipei, beijing, and shanghai, this one is definitely one of my favorite.
"Wonderful" is exactly the word you wanna say for the whole dining experience here.

The FOOD is heavenly good, with home-made pasta and bread, texture and flavor are all great, from appetizer, main course, to dessert, all so good! not to mention the wine they serve.

Furthermore, SERVICE quality and atmosphere here is absolutely excellent, Cici is very friendly and professional, the course, set she recommends never went wrong.
COSY and TASTEFUL decor, good place to dine with your loved ones.

Highly recommend the octopus potato salad, any kind of pasta, and the best ever - chocolate lava cake with the special homemade source!

Will visit Austin again tomorrow to try the new dish : )

1  Thank Hsing-Yu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Hsing-Yu P,

So nice to meet u and have a honor to treat you and your lovely friend! As a Sagittarius,i feel a lot of same character from you.And the one i want to mention is sincere!And of course we both love and enjoy our lives!

And thanks for Austen for meeting so many lovely and sincerely friends! i really cherish what i have!

Best,

Austen-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I went to Austen Kitchen with a university friend a few weeks ago. My friend was having a bit of trouble in finding the place as i got there first, but the lady owner Cici was very kind to talk to her on the phone and even texted her how to get there and where to park. i was very impressed ! bt the surprise didnt stop, the food,especially the sirlorn, and the mushroom soup was top-notch, the best i have ever had in China. my friend and i both enjoyed that dinner very much. btw, Cici was the best restaurant owner i have met, very welcoming, very considerate in providng the service, bothering to introduce us every dish! Bravo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Li R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austen C, Owner at Austen Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Li R,

I am so glad to host you again in my tiny restaurant, i still remember your smile and lovely voice in Austen,i am happy you and your friend enjoyed the dinner in that night, and i do wish to see your smile more!

Thanks for your sharing!

Best,

Austen-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing