We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay hotel, rude...pushy staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwall Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Ranked #2,092 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“okay hotel, rude...pushy staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The bellmen at the hotel are more like salesmen rather than attendants. They always approach the foreign guests and follow them promoting the great wall tours in the lobby. The bellman, the tall guy with glasses even followed me into the restaurant while I was eating to try to sell me a tour. They always seemed to be around to sell things, but never around to help me with my luggage. If you stay here, I promise you that you will be sold a show or a tour at least one point during your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    149
    132
    54
    39
See reviews for
40
86
53
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location was good, walking distance to forbidden city and the garden, but not too close to subway, at least two stops by bus. Lots of eateries just outside the hotel. The room was not too big and the internet wasn't great in the room, had to get down to the lobby quite a lot. The staff was helpful with fairly good English. All in all was a comfortable stay, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The room was large, giving plenty of space around the superking bed. Although the bathroom was clean, the decor needed attention, with peeling wallpaper, tired-looking carpet, curtains and furniture.
We tried to eat in the Western Restaurant on one occasion, and although drinks were prompt, one main was delivered 20 minutes before we reminded the staff that another had also been ordered (it took us so long to ask as we presumed that they were serving as the food was ready as is Chinese custom).
Staff were mostly helpful, but occasionally rude. The bell boy's are very pushy as they obviousley get a cut if you book a tour through them. After arriving from travelling 30 hours travelling all we wanted to do was pass out. Annoyingly we were called on the room phone about an hour and a half from getting in, by the bell boy. He wanted us to come downstairs to book tours with him immediately as he finished work in 10 minutes.
We sadly present during an incident where despite having all embassy documentation for a lost passport, a family were refused a previousely booked room and made to sleep in the lobby.
Luckly we were offered a discounted price, however would not have paid more.

Room Tip: never book their basic option, from what we saw it was tiny, however great location if you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

It's a no frills hotel, the location is fantastic, i stay there for 4 nights, I visited tian an men square,forbidden city,wang fu Jin street all by walking. Taxi ride to or from hotel to nearest subway station is rmb 14 only. But beside arrival,departure n after a tired day I used taxi, the rest is walking. Even that, taxi ride doesn't caused much. My only advise is get a map from subway station n a map from hotel. Very important, print a map to the hotel location with detail street name lead to hotel, that will save some time n agony upon your arrival. I actually took their subway from Beijing airport, changed to line 6 that bring u to dongsi station n take a taxi to the hotel.
Rooms is reasonable,wifi speed at lobby is good,housekeeping did their job upon request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Really and truly I'm more disappointed with the staff and the adjoining tour company than the hotel (we were ripped off on a night show they organised and told to make our own way back to the hotel from somewhere in the middle of Beijing). The room was clean enough and the towels were changed each day. The website says there is a laundry service which I was interested in as we were coming from a week in Tokyo although the cost is extortionate, it's all costed per item and starts from 12rmb for underwear. It could easily rack up to 100s of rmb for a single load of washing between two. The wifi can only be used in the lobby. The whole feel to the place is that it is tired. The carpet in the corridors is faded and torn in places. Our room had the beginning of peeling wallpaper in the corners. Not too much pf a problem if you're out all day though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Bedroom and bathroom were very good. "The Palace Museum" main gate is on 30 minutes walk and Dongsi subway station is on 15 minutes walk from hotel.
They did take ~500 yuan deposit for 4 nights stay. LAN is available in the rooms. Wifi is provided only in lobby.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right at the back exit of Forbidden city. We had booked this hotel a month in advance which was a good thing as that very day the price of the rooms were almost doubled. We got an upgrade on our room which was really big and very well kept. Only problem was there was no view, just a wall of the neighbouring houses. The closest train station was 15 mins walk and bus stop was about 10 mins walk which was ok as either of these modes connected to almost every sight in Beijing. The hotel keeps a lot of maps of various sights n buses so they were really handy and also we tried 2 restaurants of the hotel which were a bit pricy but the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#918 of 6,435 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#134 of 6,435 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#90 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#67 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Property: Redwall Hotel Beijing
Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,092 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing