We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make use of the personal concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Ranked #10 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New Norcia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make use of the personal concierge”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this totally refurbished hotel which was once an office building. The rooms are fantastic - large and beautiful with great beds and bathroom. The entrance floor with the reception and concierge are a little hard to find. The personal concierges are available to assist in many ways and the service provided by them is excellent. Twice we were taken directly to the restaurant by them(once in a taxi) and with the Chinese menu (no English) this was interpreted for us. Shopping tips were also much appreciated. Lucia was absolutely amazing! The breakfast staff, mostly Chinese, need further training to ensure orders do not have to be chased up, and you are not neglected. Centrally located it is in walking distance of a shopping mall, night food market and many restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank glentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Cathryn Claire M,
I really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. I thank you for your kind words about our hotel and Personal Concierge. I am sorry your experience at breakfast was not as it should have been. I can assure you our training is ongoing with our Chinese team with their English comprehension. It is also our aim for our Personal Concierge team to connect with our customers prior to their stay. Once we have email contact we can do this. We will have to work on better communication to get these details before you arrive. This will enable us to ensure you have a memorable experience. Safe travels and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    55
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
100
149
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A diiferent concept for Sunday Brunch, Feast on Meat. There is also a great selection of Seafood and other items available. Great quality product and ingredients. A Champagne add on also available. Worth a try!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Beijing eye,
Thank you for writing about your experience at our Feast on Beef Sunday lunch. We are delighted you joined us in our first few weeks of offering an alternative on Sundays in Beijing. We do have several cuts of beef along with some beautiful fresh prawns, scampi and fish, as you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to try the starter and dessert buffet. Maybe next time you can save some room for some Baby Suckling pig.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My first time to Waldorf, celebrated my marriage anniversary with my wife. We really enjoy the stay here, walked around in Wangfujing like tourists did, there are plenty of good choices for restraunts and shopping malls. After dinner, we have a lot of fun in the pool, although it is small ,but no other people there make it a private pool. The first class hardware in the room make my wife very happy, we will be gald to chose Waldorf next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Gang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gang C. Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay. The team and I thank you. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back. We agree that our location may even help Beijingers feel like they are on holiday. Please do remember to pack your swimmers for another after dinner swim on your return to us.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at WA for our anniversary and we were surprised by what the staff had prepared for us prior to check-in. The upgraded room was spacious, clean and beautiful. All of the staff have been warm and friendly during our stay. The only downside was there wasn't much to choose from the breakfast buffet. All in all, we enjoyed every bit of this stay, and we'll come back for sure!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the southeast side enjoy nice views and sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17HomZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 17HOM2
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am delighted you celebrated your anniversary with us and we look forward to being able to assist with any future special occasions you celebrate. Thank you for your feedback on breakfast. We are always looking to improve our breakfast offering and do make many of our hot dishes a la minute for our guests. If there is anything in particular you require our team will be delighted to assist.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautifull new hotel, situated in the very center of Beijing. We loved the room, spa, bar, ... Everything is decorated with great taste and very clean. The service provided by all staff was excellent. Special thanks to Lucia for the efforts she made to look up some information for us and we also want to thank Carmen and Lily. Breakfast is very good - Albert remembered our preferences and Aimée was very friendly and helpful. Perfect porter service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Limburg1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Limburg1971,

thanks for sharing your comments about Waldorf Astoria Beijing.
Besides your appreciation for the hotel features and decoration, we have been all pleased that you recognised the "True Waldorf Service" by some of our Team, happy to have been recognised and remembered by you.
We all thank you and hope the memory of your experience at Waldorf Astoria Beijing will inspire you to return to our property soon.
We are all looking forward.
Kind Regards,

On behalf of Marlene Poynder, General Manager,
Paola Caciolli
Director of Operations
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just finished our Asia trip /( Korea , Japan, China) with 2 nights at the Waldorf.They really impressed us by their exceptional service. It was a really hard call to leave the room for the superhot/dusty streets.

We admired ( and still do ) the paintings in the reception areay .Is it possible to provide the name of the painter of the grey-ish ,squared spots large painting depicting a city or buildings

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MarC007,

thanks for sharing your positive feedback about your experience at Waldorf Astoria Beijing. Glad to read that after your trip in Asia, you found true comfort in enjoying our service and the hotel features.
I answer also with pleasure to your question about the artwork you noticed: the painting was created by Luo Ziaodong, an artist living in Beijing. It is entitled: "Postcard", it is a stunningly evocative oil on canvas painting of the Forbidden City, evoking a timeless dimension where the viewer is invited to think about the image’ s common sentiment in our memory and to question the way we view the outside world. That's why the Forbidden city shape sometimes is not immediately recognised.
Dear MarC007, thanks for having noticed the artwork, we have many others and each of them, in different way contributes to create inspirational moment to our guests, glad to see you had part of it and enjoyed it.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,

On behalf of Marlene Poynder, General Manager
Paola Caciolli
Director of Operations
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Brand new hotel at a great location. Checked in at the front desk and door man had all the luggages. The lady who checked us in led us to the room and went over some features in the room. We had been upgraded to a larger room, with a king size bed and a living area, each area had a TV. The bath room had separate bath and shower areas. The toilet was the newest one with all kinds of functions. We went to the pool for a quick swim and enjoyed it very much. One thing that made my stay was when we came back to our room after dinner, there was a very nice cheese cake with Happy Birthday on it, plus some fruits and sweets, and a card signed by about 10 hotel staff. What a nice surprise!!! Had the breakfast at the hotel the next morning and received very good service as well. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Beijing, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Ahu98,

thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. It has been a true pleasure to discover you were very impressed both with the property, the room features and the swimming pool. Our Personal Concierge team was all very glad to see that the cake surprise with their card made your day! They are all keen to create authentic moments and your words have been their reward. We all thank you for having appreciated our service and we wish you will return soon to enjoy our True Waldorf Service and another memorable experience at Waldorf Astoria Beijing!

Kind regards


On behalf of Marlene Poynder, General Manager
Paola Caciolli
Director of Operations
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#41 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Beijing

Property: Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Address: No.5-15 Jinyu Hutong, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Beijing is an extraordinary place where your own story begins. Standing as a dramatic bronze building, the hotel is a landmark in the heart of the Wangfujing district, and an icon where time transcends through the rich Chinese tradition to today’s sophisticated affluent lifestyle. The hotel features 171 luxuriously appointed guestrooms including 9 with furnished terraces in the main hotel tower and 1 Waldorf Hutong Villa, plus 3 Hutong studios and a room in two beautifully constructed (to original specifications) Hutongs. Guests of Waldorf Astoria Beijing also enjoy the unparalleled benefits of the Hilton HHonors Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing