We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful authentic hutong hostel!”
Review of Red Lantern House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lantern House
Ranked #6 of 1,437 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hostel is in a great area, a hutong! This is the way to explore the real Beijing. Hire a bike and cycle through the hutongs or cycle all the way to the olympic Park or the 798 Art Dstirct.

The serve western and local food, but its nicer to walk into the hutong. around the corner is a food market and small restaurants.

The hostel itself is clean, nice staff, they have REAL COFFEE (expensive but great) and they have very cheap local beer (only 3 rmb!).

If i ever go back to Beijing this will be my place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DhrNeorej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for help from the staff with booking tours and onward travel.
Quite well located - not far from the local subway and easy enough to reach tianaman square / forbidden city from.
Rooms are very basic, but have air con. Bathrooms all clean and good working hot showers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6weekholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Upon arriving in Beijing on an overnight train, we found the hotel hard to find, but thankfully a helpful local pointed us in the right direction. Our room was ready early, which was great as we could check in and start touring the city.
Breakfast was delicious, a bit expensive but was quite large so it filled you up for the day. The location was about a 5-10 min walk from the subway, so easy to get around. All the staff spoke good english, and helped with directions, organizing tours, tickets, etc. They organized our trip to the Great Wall (Muktianyu section), which was amazing and without any hidden "shopping" stops. Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancouvergirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hostel is located in a traditional Chinese hutong and is easily accessible from 3 different metro stations which gives great access to Beijing where ever you're planning to go.

We arrived on the overnight train from Shanghai and found the hostel easily using the metro and the directions on the website.

We stayed here for 5 nights in a twin room with shared bathroom facilities.

The room was a little cramped with the 2 of us, 2 backpacks and 2 day packs but we managed. The room was clean, beds ok, fairly hard but that's common in China, they were by no means uncomfortable. The room was air conditioned but water from the unit dripped into a bucket by my bed constantly which was not emptied, I did it myself as I was worried it may overflow. The shared bathroom facilities were very good, clean and I never had to wait. Showers were hot and powerful.

Food was very good and as we stayed 5 nights we qualified for free breakfast which was different every day, French toast, fruit, sandwiches etc.

We went on an organised trip to the great wall with the hostel. We went to Mutianyu which they recommended as it was quieter. I really enjoyed the trip although I felt a little rushed, we only managed to hike about 14 towers then had to rush back as we were late for the lunch which was provided.

Staff were excellent here, always willing to give advice and help.

Wi-Fi signal was strong.

The only down side to this hostel was that our room was located off the communal area which could be noisy at times considering the paper thin walls. We were woken up most mornings by people having breakfast at 7am so no lie ins for us!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Good food, nice an peaceful, very clean and above all great travel desk! The staff speaks great English and is very helpful. Situated in a nice little hutong to boot, so you can explore in your slack time - just walk out and get lost. Close to public transport too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bspremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My cousins stayed here on a trip to Beijing before and recommended for us to stay here. The Red Lantern is a lovely, quiet authentic B&B. what I was most impressed by we're the friendly staff. In China, the locals don't have very good English, but the staff at Red Lantern spoke English very well. They organised our trip to The Great Wall and our train journey down to Xi'an. They were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The Red Lantern is located right beside the metro so it was very easy for us to get around Beijing. We stayed here in November so it was quite cold, and it being a relatively old establishment, the stone floors were freezing and the rooms a bit nippy at night. The showers were really hot and powerful though, so it made up for it! The rooms were very clean and had a real chinese feel to them. The only other negative thing, is that the beds weren't that comfortable. Aside from that we really enjoyed our stay here and if I was to come back I'd feel obliged to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garda_shayhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My son and I just returned from a wonderful trip to China. Stayed 4 nights at the Red Lantern House backpacker hostel at 5 zhengjue. We had a twin Room with shared bathroom. Price was awesome as was the welcoming staff, the ambience of the lobby, the other guest, the location and the tour to Great Wall they offer. We were able to get around by walking, subway and renting bikes from Red Lantern. Our last day we took there tour to the mountain you Great Wall. Amazing place and still had time for last sight seeing back in Beijing. The location feels like China, with the Hutong so quaint. For 4 nights total under $150 we had plenty of money eating out and sight seeing. Our room was small but great air conditioning and perfect get away from the heat, as it was pretty hot and humid in Beijing. Would stay again if I ever go back to Beijing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#126 of 6,606 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,437 in Beijing
111 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Chongwenmen
RJ Brown Hotel
RJ Brown Hotel
#5 of 1,437 in Beijing
111 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Heyuan Courtyard International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lantern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lantern House

Address: No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,437 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The information service available in Red Lantern House is based on "Simon's Tourist Information Office" which is the first generation of information and tour services provider for low budget international travelers in Beijing from the beginning of 1990's . Information and tour services are available at the reception. Staying with us will reminds you of staying as a member in our family as there is no counter or glass between us. Meet the Simon's Office Team that helps make your travel and travel planning much easier, better and possible! Your questions of where to go and how much it costs will be responded as precisely as possible. Tours and Information services including: Beijing City Tour ( Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven) Tours to the wall Night Show in Beijing Ticketing Service Bicycle Rental Car Service( airport pick-up and drop offer) Laundry, Sewing & Mending Service Barbecue in the Courtyard Dumpling Making Practice Tour to the Great wall departure from Red Lantern Guest house: Great wall at : 1 Mutianyu ( recommended) We run the trip to Mutianyu section of the wall with minimum two people by our own car or van. 2.Jinshanling 3.Simatai 4.Badaling and Ming Tombs, To avoid the crowds and sometimes terrifying shopping intervals of the Great Wall at Badaling, our hostel has specially designed and organized a daily tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It takes 1.5 hours one way to arrive to the wall with no stop over for shopping, and begins around 7:30am to get away from heavy traffic jams so that you will be the first one standing on the wall there and nobody bothers you. We guarantee you have at least 3 hours on the wall and no push throughout the whole trip. When you are back from your trip, you still have a whole evening for other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Lantern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lantern House Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing