We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sicheng Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
366
280
70
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
280
70
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeambassador memberexcellent business hotelmain restaurantfitness centerupgraded to a suitebusiness centertourist sitessubway stationdim sumroom was largenon smokingihgconciergetaxienglishchina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2009

During our recent trip to China, we stayed at the Intercontinental Financial Street three times -- and every time was a pleasure! The rooms were excellent; the staff were solicitous; the breakfast was wonderful! And these stays were our third year in a row for lodging in this hotel. So it is a wonderful place! The only negative comment would have to do with its being located in the west of Beijing. But two stops on the Circle Line are quite close -- and the door staff are very fast dealing with any request for hailing a taxi. Special mention should be made also of the concierge's desk. The men there are dependable and knowledgeable. All in all this has to be about as good as a hotel can be!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed 5 nights at this property with two different classes of rooms (we did a side trip so checked out then back in on the club floor).

Both rooms are of a high standard. The club room has a little more in terms of "looks" and space.

The service is exceptional and the food we had was excellent.

Breakfast Buffet is one of the best we've had. The dinner Buffet is excellent value too. We tried Zen for Yum Cha and again, it proved exceptional - the Peking Duck was served up perfectly.

The Internet Connection pricing is extortionate but if you are on a club floor, it is included in your room rate.

The Happy Hour in the Club Lounge must be taken advantage of - the place was empty and there is all manner of food and drink to make you smile. The Hardys Red Wine (usually about US$100 bottle in China) was free (ok - its a very average wine but hey it was free!!!). Use the lounge area for some quiet time - Internet access is free too on this floor (in fact, the system tells you that you have 30 days free usage on that floor).

Booking a Club Room gives you many benefits especially if you use the Lounge - do it!

Pros:
Perfect place to stay for business or tourists
Great selection of Restaurants
Well positioned in the financial district

Cons:
The price of steak is eye-watering
The Wine list may be extensive but its very expensive

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Stayed in a Club room for a week in early December.

The location is fine. We didn't find it inconvenient for sightseeing, eating or drinking, and we travelled all over the city every day and night. Yes, you will have to take some cabs, but we only experienced one really bad traffic jam in a whole week (and that was trying to get back to the hotel at 5:30pm on weekday). The subway is a very convenient way to reach many areas, and it is less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. In addition, the hotel is a short cab ride away from the hutongs of Houhai, which contain lots of little bars and restaurants. There are also a number of small eateries behind the hotel (we had our best noodle soup of the whole trip here).

The room was very well appointed with all the usual amenities of a 5 star hotel.

The pool, gym, steam and sauna facilities were also very good.

Breakfast was excellent in the main restaurant and slightly more limited in the club, as is usually the case. The canape selection in the evening was pretty poor, but there was always plently of cheese etc. Afternoon tea was practically non-existent in comparison with many other club lounges. The wonderful aspect of the restaurant and the club was how quiet they were - perhaps this was because we visited in winter, but it was very refreshing.

The hotel suffers from some of the problems all Chinese hotels suffer from, whether they claim to be 5 star or not. Service can be patchy, and this was especially evident in the club. Although the club manager was excellent, as were a couple of other staff members, mostly the staff were neither overly friendly nor helpful. In most hotels the club staff act as a concierge service for club guests when it comes to restaurant and travel bookings - not always the case at the Intercon, where we were redirected to the concierge unless we happened to be talking to the manager. Which brings me to the other problem common to many Chinese hotels - the concierge service is patchy, and we were sent on a couple of wild goose chases (and I'm talking about simple things here, like being assured we could get the boat to the Summer Palace despite our strong suspicion that the lake at the Palace would be frozen - it was). Laundry is ridiculously expensive, especially given the cost of labour in China. I wonder when free or discounted laundry will become a standard benefit of club rooms - it seems so stingy to milk guests when it would be so inexpensive for the hotel to offer this perk.

Overall, this was the best hotel we stayed in in China (we were there for a month and stayed mostly in 5 star hotels). However, the service was inferior to the equivalent standard of hotel just about anywhere else in Asia. Once again, the Intercon is not alone in this respect and in a few years I'm sure mainland Chinese hotels will be offering the same service as other hotels in the region. The problem is that Chinese hotels charge the same as hotels in major cities with top notch service like Hong Kong and Sydney, so one leaves feeling a little hard done by.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravellinAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

The room, the view, and the selection of restaurants are pretty good. There is a buffet restaurant/cafe, and a steak house with live band (well, two people band) playing. The food at the steakhouse got my thumbs up, but a bit pricey. Service at the hotel lives up to its "five star" claim. Except for the reception and concierge. The reception and concierge was pretty scattered with information for checking in and/or tour information. Don't expect too much in getting help with your luggage, what you'll get is a stare of some sort, unless you specifically ask for a hand.
The location is not as convenient as we thought, except for the department store almost right around the corner of our hotel. For us it was not the best location to find a restaurant that's walking distance. Overall we enjoy our stay and the hotel lives up to its expection.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teresa-MTML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We were in China visiting Beijing, then Shanghai for a holiday trip. The stay at the Intercontinental was from 1st Jan to 4th Jan.

Location wise - it was in the financial district. We were there during Yuan Dan (which is New Year day and it was public holidays for a few days in China). Hence, we did not encounter very bad traffic jams. The metro is around 5-10 minutes walk away and is an ok way to get around. But, I can imagine it is difficult to get to and away from the hotel during peak hours as we experienced on our last day of stay. The area around the hotel had heavy traffic. It is not walkable to the various tourist spots and hence, would suggest to take the taxi or the metro.

The room was very good. It was huge with a spacious bathroom. Bathroom is nicely fitted with a lovely long bath which was very inviting. Likewise, the bed was fabulous with nice linen as well. Only grouse is the tv is not the plasma tv for the room we stayed in.

The gym was well-equipped and spacious and was open 24 hours. The spa was quite good as well and opened til midnight. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful city.

I think that it would be a good hotel to stay in over weekends/public holidays or if you do not need to travel to / from the hotel during the peak hours.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annil_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews