We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you want a taste of Hutong life and be near the Forbidden City”
Review of Shatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shatan Hotel
Ranked #526 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you want a taste of Hutong life and be near the Forbidden City”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Just a block north of the Forbidden City and smack dab in the middle of a good taste of hutong life, but with westerner accomodations. The staff was courteous enough and modestly helpful, but typical of most Chinese hotels. Rooms were clean and neat. Beds were hard by western standards but also typical of Chinese hotels. A few English tv channels, ample water pressure and hot water for showers. The neighborhood street(esp the eastern portion) is a typical street market of little shops selling butchered meat, raw noodles, fresh produce, and a few drop-in eateries, etc. that are for the locals and not tourist oriented so an excellent opportunity to see Chinese day to day living.

Do NOT book with the tour service which operates indedependently in their lobby area, you will get dragged to focused selling stops and they will require you to pay them extra if you want to opt out. In our case, I refused to pay and we were uncerimoniously dropped off right on the road! Fortunately, we were near the 2008 Olympic area so it was an unexpected opportunity to see the Water Cube and Bird Nest stadium and we just caught a cab back to the hotel. This is NOT a reflection on the hotel, but the dubious tour operator in their lobby. No written contract or agreement, so you have little recourse.

Room Tip: Get rear room or hear elevator chime all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    153
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
25
133
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is located about 1.5 blocks from the Forbidden City on a tiny street, called Shatan Hue Loo (which means Shatan Back Alley. The hotel is only 3 stories high, very clean. The windows can be opened, and you can see people riding their bikes, putting out the wares for the day, setting up their markets, and frying dough in the street. Staying on this street was the best part of our being in Beijing. We felt we got a little flavor of real life. Warning, get someone to write the address in Chinese characters. Our taxi driver got us close, but had to refer to a map to go all the way. Another couple told us they always tell the taxis they want to go to the Red Hotel which is a bigger hotel around the corner or to Jiang Park, which is at the end of the Shatan Hou Street

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donadpree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed here in April (hot) booked hotel on internet and got a fantastic rate. Just round the corner from Forbidden city and across road from beautiful park.
Looked at other reviews and hoped for the best.its located on a busy side street but dont let that put you off. We were greeted by a lovely lady who spoke excellent english on reception. Shown to our room and we were delighted, it was just as good as any four star hotel i have stayed in before in Beijing. Clean and bright, sheets and duvet excellent, plenty of towels in a great bathroom. Get reception to book a tour to Great Wall for you with private taxi and they take you to Mutiyanu very few tourists. Always get hotel to give you taxi directions of where you want to go in Chinese.
Hotel breakfast is chinese so not great so If you go over the road, on the corner there is a lovely place with a courtyard and free wi fi. They do a fixed breakfast ie eggs any way/toast jam, tea/coffee/orange juice and fruit platter for about £3.00. They also do lunch and dinner .

Room Tip: Found hotel cheaper on internet site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbarapagesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We booked this hotel via Expedia. The hotel is tucked away down a narrow road. Some taxi drivers refuse to drive into it. The hotel is not huge, but is nicely furnished and is quiet. The rooms are somewhat small, as compared to the other hotel rooms we booked in China. The receptionists speak perfect English and are helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant in the basement, which we tried out and the food was very good and reasonably priced. When we arrived at the hotel after a long flight, we walked to Jingshan Park, about 5 minutes walk away. This is a lovely park, where you get fantastic views of the Forbidden City from the hill top. Most tourists & torurist groups tend to miss this park, which is a great shame. The Forbidden City is also within walking distance. When you come out of the hotel and turn right, there are some small restaurants in the street. The food is good and cheap. There is also a cafe, which most Americans and Europeans mention. This is to the left, when you come out of the hotel. We found it to be very expensive and not very Chinese. This is a Hutong area and it is interesting to wander along the lanes. If you need a Chinese sim card, then turn right out of the hotel; when you get to the T Junction turn right and the shop is just along on the right, before getting to the main road. The best supermarket for drinks, bread, ham etc. is in this main road. Turn left onto the main road, having gone past the Telecom shop and it is a few yards along on your left. Carry on past the supermarket and go straight along the main road for 15 minutes and you will eventually come to Dongsi Metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JUte8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Above average hotel near Forbidden City/Tian An Men square. Difficult to find as it is in a small neighborhood 2 blocks off a main street. The street is lined with markets, food stalls and people doing their daily shopping. The non-window single room I booked was upgraded free to a window room that faced into a passageway between the hotel and it's offices. Room was average size with flat panel TV, refrigerator and desk. Internet speed was reliable and high speed (wired). The bed was the most comfortable I've had in 3 visits to China. Worth staying here just for the bed. Extremely quiet and safe at night.
Hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful in providing information, directions and procuring taxis. Breakfast (42RMB) had a wide variety of Chinese and Western food (8-12 dishes), but as I arrived with only 15 minutes remaining, there wasn't much coffee, milk or juice left.
A taxi to/from Capital airport costs roughly 100-120 RMB each way but is the easiest way to travel as there is no metro nearby. Taxis are also the best way to get to most other locations like Sanlitun or Houhai.
Overall there is no down-side to this hotel other than no metro near-by and the difficulty for taxis to find it (get several taxi cards once you arrive and you'll have very few problems). You get a true feeling for what typical life in Beijing is like. I highly recommend this for any type of traveller and would choose this hotel over the others I have stayed at in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobthedogOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The room was clean, towels are changed every day during my 5 days stay, room amenities are well provided for by the hotel and service are excellent by the staffs. Staffs do speak & understand the English language but it helps if you know how to speak Mandarin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Arrived by taxi and felt like I was in a National Geographic film, street crowded with locals and bicyles and a half dozen on-the-street restaurants. Fell in love with the people on the street, who did not even notice me even though I was the only Westerner. The hotel rents bicyles on-site from the front desk, so I usually spend at least two days riding the wide bike lanes or sidewalks down to Wanfujing shopping and around Tianamen Square (10 minutes by bike). Easy biking for all levels. In the evening I go to the corner and across the street is the northern grounds of the Palace, a quiet forested park that holds a large temple. Usually people are playing chess, but it's very peaceful. Have now stayed three times and don't even look elsewhere. The street is very quiet at night and in a very safe location. A walk around the block makes the entire trip to Beijing worth it.

The rooms were semi-luxury with new LCD screens and new bathrooms. The breakfast was fanstastic -- a mix of authentic Chinese food (OK it's pretty wierd for breakfast) but western-style food as well and lots of decent coffee and pastry. I ate there every tday. Corner taxies are always going by.

Caveats: If you walk at night it's safe, but make sure you carry a map and cellphone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#1,809 of 6,520 in Beijing
231 reviews
Houhai
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Redwall Hotel Beijing
#1,691 of 6,520 in Beijing
418 reviews
Houhai
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Jingshan Garden Hotel
#126 of 6,520 in Beijing
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#108 of 6,520 in Beijing
456 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#66 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,041 reviews
Houhai
Scholar Tree Courtyard Hotel
Scholar Tree Courtyard Hotel
#3,244 of 6,520 in Beijing
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shatan Hotel

Property: Shatan Hotel
Address: No.28 Shatan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shatan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing