We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very convenient hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shatan Hotel
Ranked #541 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, very convenient hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

General: We spent nine (9) night at the Shatan hotel and were _very_ satisfied, definitely would go there again. It's a bargain! Great location near the Forbidden City, nice and clean rooms, confy beds (!), and nice staff. It's a western-style hotel in a lively chinese-style block. Even late at night, the surroundings felt very safe. But if you're into more western-style Beijing with fancy malls and restaurants, location might not be the best for you, but grown-up backpackers like us it was the place to be! Only minus was that the receptionist could not help us to get tickets to Beijing Ducks's basketball playoffs...their english was sufficient enough for basic stuff but that was too tricky to understand/arrange. Well, we went to see the Acrobatic show in Chaoyang Theatre instead and were not disappointed, that was the greatest circus we've ever seen! The hotel also sells trips to the Great Wall, Ming Tombs and other sights, I guess they were a bit on the pricey side but easy to participate.

Transportation: Chinese address and tel. no of Shatan hotel can be found on their home page: http://www.shatanhotel-beijing.com/. Print those to show to your taxi driver. If the driver doesn't know the address, ask her/him to call the hotel (with her/his own phone). Chinese
taxi drivers do not usually know how to read a map, even one with chinese street names!
Nearest metro station is Dong Si, easy 15 min walk. But taxis are so cheap (10 rmb to get from the hotel to Tiananmen square, for example) that we used them all the time. You can ask to hotel to call you a cab or just walk to nearest bigger street and wave and catch one. And take the taxi card from the reception, it has the chinese addresses to the most important sights.

Nearby tips: Good and cheap massage (50 rmb foot massage, 100 rmb whole body massage) and be found near hotel, a small hair salon on the eastern end of the hotel street. They asked us to keep our clothers on during the body massage (= back, neck, legs, hands, arms, face were massaged).
Try the small shabby-looking restaurants on the hotel street, food is delicious (and cheap)! We did not get any stomach problems:)
There's a great breakfast cafe, Alley Cafe, in the western end of the hotel street (near Jingsan Park). Good italian coffee and english-speaking staff. They were actually more useful in giving advise than the receptionists at the hotel (and spoke better english)! And don't miss Jingshan park, it provides great views over the city, a small buddhist pavillion temple, local people doing stuff (singing, playing games, taiji...).

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the hotel street provide a nice live morning-TV. That means, following the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Empiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    152
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
25
134
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I arrived to the hotel in the wee hours of the morning. The staff were there to help me get into my room quickly (which was hugely appreciated after 25 hours of airports and flying). I was always greeted by staff with a happy hello and they even helped me grab a taxi on a very busy morning. It has an absolutely fantastc location that connot be beat and is on a lovely little street full of fun an character. It was close to Jingshan park which was an absolute lifesaver with my 1 year old son and such a beautiful place

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a window to avoid stuffiness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Not knowing where to start the search for a hotel in Beijing, I searched for hotels close to landmarks. This hotel did not disappoint. It is located down a street at the back entrance to the Forbidden City. The street seemed a little sketchy when we arrived (more like an alley). However, the businesses came alive at night. There was street food and many small (and I mean SMALL) restaurants within walking distance from the entrance of the hotel. Rooms were clean and small. The lobby smelled of cigarette smoke, but this is extremely common in China, as every male over the age of 12 smokes. However, the rooms were not smoky. The bathrooms were also very nice. It made it very easy to see the sights. We veered off the beaten path when it came to the Great Wall. The hotel recommended the way to go, but we had a friend who lives there who was able to get us there to a less touristy area of the wall. The hotel was helpful and had free internet in the lobby. Internet is restricted in China, so don't expect to get on any social network. We enjoyed our stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cortney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was a really good value hotel. We could negotiate our prices after deciding to stay a couple of extra nights and got a room upgrade. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Set in a busy, hard-to-find street close to the Forbidden City (so it could be a good idea to let your taxi driver speak to the hotel reception if you can't find the 'alley'. If the taxi driver speaks English, explain that the hotel is in a backstreet right next to Jingshan Park's East Gate).

I don't give 'excellent' ratings lightly, but this hotel deserves to be in your Beijing shortlist if you are not a business traveller and don't mind being quite far from a metro station. After all, there are affordable taxis and other public buses available. You have everything you need around the corner, even a pharmacy with English-speaking staff, not to mention the street vendors with fresh, crispy food all around.

10 minute walk to the Wang Fu Jing da Jie avenue (a busy commercial district full of western-style shopping).

Room Tip: We were quite happy with our street-facing room. Insulation was pretty good for the standards we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were there with my girlfriend for 4 nights. We got a room on the 4th floor, that was basically ok, because it was above the smog level and sometimes we could see even some sunlight.
The breakfast was not a big deal (from western point of view), but the caffe and the usual, toast, jam , butter egg combination was ok for their price. We paied 400 RMB/night with breakfast for two.
On the small street where it is located, there are several food shops and also a VERY GOOD Chinese restaurant. One must try the eggplant and the freshly made pasta. It is as good as in Italy. We do recommend that. We had a small problem with the heating, but we got a mobile heater quickly, the reception was helpful. Before this stay we were at an other hotel (see previous reviews), but I recommend this because of the location and also for the cheaper price. One can easy get the metro station Xi'si by bus, or just walk to the shopping street, that is only 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen_profate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel in May 2010 for 4-5 days, and maybe since then things have changed. I quite enjoyed staying there. The room itself was very clean and spacious + had free wired broadband. Housekeepers would bring me fresh towels everyday. If you're craving for European/Western breakfast, Alley Cafe is just 2 mins walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siberianchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Shatan was a great place to stay, just north of the Forbidden City. While room rate was reasonable, the room was clean, modern and had a comfortable bed (hard to find in China). The hotel is also in this great alley with lots of food vendors, so you can grab breakfast on-the-go or a late night snack on the street.

They had a few computers in the lobby with internet, but no wifi available. Some staff spoke better English than others, but those that didn't speak English went out of their way to use a translator on a computer. You may want to ask the staff to call a cab for you when you leave, as it was a bit hard to hail one and many just line up outside of the Forbidden City and try to charge you way more than the going rate.

Overall, I highly suggest this hotel for a stay in Beijing. Great location, friendly/helpful staff, and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm7543a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#174 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#175 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#124 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#133 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shatan Hotel

Property: Shatan Hotel
Address: No.28 Shatan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shatan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing