We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time is a charmer?”
Review of Shatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shatan Hotel
Ranked #530 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time is a charmer?”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I returned to this hotel for my 2nd holiday trip to Beijing, China. The reception staff this time around needs improvement in the "friendly smile" department because you don't get the 'welcome atmosphere' when you check in the hotel anymore. There rest of the hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Yes, they do understand and can speak a bit of the English language.The dishes from the hotel restaurant for dinner are actually excellent! I had a wonderful stay and the hotel location made a lot of my trips/walks around the city much easier.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    153
    63
    13
    15
See reviews for
25
133
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Now getting to the hotel by taxi if it is during the day is a bit difficult. The neighbor hood is a Chinese neighborhood and getting through trafic can be trying. We had one taxi driver tell us know when we showed him the address. I have traveled all over the world and read a lot about China and the taxi drivers NOT speaking English. Well it is very true. Make sure you have the Chinese address before jumping in a taxi. The hotel staff was great. They booked a private car for us for the Great Wall. They also helped us with directions for all the attractions. The Hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. The closet metro station is Dongsi and it is still about a 15 minute walk minimum. There is also a metro right by the Forbidden City.
I enjoyed the hotel - it was very clean and the staff went out of their way. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

+ Location
Very good location near many of Beijings attractions, like The Forbidden City. Many Hutongs are in the neighborhood also for those interested. Supermarkets are nocturnal so getting bottled water for example is not a problem. Remember to check the expiry date on everything you buy as almost everything had expired!

+ Price
Not too expensive.

+ Rooms
The rooms are big and clean with a nice toilet and hot showers. The refridgerator worked well and the AC kept us warm! Very quiet during night.

- Language skills (English)
A language barrier exists here also. But the receptionist tried at least. It's OK!

- No metro station nearby.
The closest one is Dongsi (to my knowledge), about 1,5 km from the hotel.

All-in-all, I would definately stay there again and I recommend it to everybody!

Helpful?
1 Thank kankelbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Conveniently located, Sha Tan otel is 20 minutes walking from Tiananmen Square and Subway line 1, and 20 minutes walking to Drum & Bell Towers. Clean and 1 block from Bus that takes you to West Beijing Railway. Clean, safe, and friendly front desk personnel. Even it is in an alley if you arrive at night make feel not so secure, but once you walk around feeling changes. Good breakfast buffet, tipical chinesse buffete at good price. If you want to Visit Forbidden City, the rear entry is only 1 block of distance. We spent 3 nights here, I may recommend it. I may only advise that some times hotel smells as ash tray but I learn that even you may say Non smoking signs everywhere Chinese do smoke alot.

Room Tip: Looking for better rate, we choose a non window room, but we were all day out so no needed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clausen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Together with 3 friends, I have stayed in the Shatan Hotel Beijing for 5 nights in total in March 2013 and would generally recommend this hotel for people who want to visit the main sights of the city as Forbidden City, Tianenmen square, Wangfujing Str., etc.

The hotel is located in a hutong area (Shatanhou) which is right next to the Jingshan Park and the rear side of the Forbidden City. This is a significant advantage for tourists, but it can be sometimes a bid hard to catch a subway line, as the closest subway station is approx. 20-25 mins away on foot.

Otherwise, the hotel is clean and provided us with free breakfast (though breakfast includes almost exclusively Chinese dishes, there still is bread, butter, fruits and strawberry jams for Europeans). The rooms are nicely furnished and the bed is quite comfortable.

So overall a good service at a very good price. Here I would like to point out that while the hotel service in general is good, we always felt that we have to be careful with what the hotel staff said and could NOT rely to 100% on them. Good that we had an excellent guide to help us!

The following information about airport and train station transfers might be important for you:

- Taxi from Beijing Capital Airport - DON'T BARGAIN and just let the driver know the hotel address in Chinese (prepare a card) and indicate that ypou want him to activate is metering machine -> PRICE to Shatan Hotel should be RMB 80 roughly. If you want to bargain, use this price as a base.

- Taxi from Shatan Hotel to Beijing South Railway Station (trains to Shanghai) - PRICE should be roughly RMB 50 per taxi. If you want the hotel to call a taxi for you keep in mind that this is very difficult (almost impossible) on Fridays and in the rush hours as the distance is short and you should speak to the hotel staff on the day before. Otherwise you might fall in the same trap as ourselfs, who were told by the hotel staff that we can call a cab just before our train departs (on the same day). But as we did that no taxi arrived. Luckily we had 3 hours left and only with the help of our tour guide (Skye Gao) could we catch our train with the help of some "un"-official taxies.

- Shuttle bus from Shatan Hotel to Beijing Capital Airport - let the Hotel call organize a shuttle bus for you (but insist on a price of RMB 200 or below) as they sometimes offer a shuttle bus for RMB 300, which is more than enough.

Pros:
+ clean and specious rooms
+ received free breakfast
+ very good price of RMB 358 per night (and value for money)
+ WiFi in the lobby

Cons:
- English is an option, but sometimes difficult to understand
- always difficult to catch the subway, since it is far away from the hotel
- expect a deposit payment of roughly RMB 400 (this seems to be the standard for China)
- hotel staff twice mislead us when we wanted them to call a taxi for us (to the Beijing South Railway Station), but then made up with a very good offering for a shuttle bus to the Beijing Capital Airport (RMB 200)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiens, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Located in the heart of old Beijing, this hotel offers quality service, the staff is very friendly and attentive to customer needs. The breakfast is of varying quality combining Chinese and Western food, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious.

It is both close to the Forbidden City, the grans parks, wang fu jing Avenue and subway stations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FREDERICHEDUIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Shatan Hotel. It was clean and well located in the city, close to the forbidden City, Jingshan Park, Beihei Park. The hotel was very clean, the price was excellent, friendly and helpful staff and a good restaurant located in the hotel. I was there in August 2012 and am on my way back end of march 2013.

Room Tip: All the rooms I looked at were acceptable. The hotel is located off the main roads and is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
King Parkview Hotel
King Parkview Hotel
#1,839 of 6,522 in Beijing
231 reviews
Houhai
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Redwall Hotel Beijing
#1,692 of 6,522 in Beijing
418 reviews
Houhai
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Jingshan Garden Hotel
#127 of 6,522 in Beijing
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#106 of 6,522 in Beijing
456 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#67 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,041 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#132 of 6,522 in Beijing
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shatan Hotel

Property: Shatan Hotel
Address: No.28 Shatan Hou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shatan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing