We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hua Wei Business Appartment Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HWA (Apartment) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HWA (Apartment) Hotel
Ranked #56 of 921 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Okinawa Japan (US Military)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hua Wei Business Appartment Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

This is truly an outstanding value! We stayed for ten days with two children, age 9 and 15. Price was USD $110 per night including all taxes for a large two BR, two full bathroom, spacious living room and small kitchen. Hotel is located in the middle of a busy shopping district with large department stores all around. We could see the Forbidden City in the distance. Go armed with a map with the location clearly marked with a big red X as even with the hotel's business card most taxi drivers seemed confused as to the location and needed some direction from me. They also don't seem familiar with the name of the big department store Huawei Center of which the hotel occupies the 9-11 floors. As other reviews have mentioned, it isn't on Xidan but instead is located on the small side street Tangzi (Hutong). The photo of the big building posted by an earlier reviewer was most helpful in finding it the first time, and also there are a couple of pedestrian overpasses going across Xidan that serve as a good landmark. Again you NEED a map with you to show to taxi drivers to get back there. The awning is now orange instead of green as per previous reviews, and it is located on the north side of the street. The room itself was clean and generally in good repair but not perfect. Housekeeping cleaned every day, fresh towels, etc. My only major complaint is that they cut off the heat the week before we arrived and the weather in Beijing (Apr 3-5) was cool with highs in the 50s and lows in the upper 30s F at night. The rooms have functional air conditioning but the heat is central. They provided us extra blankets and we used the oven (electric 'broil') to help warm up the apartment in evenings and mornings. It wasn't bitterly cold but the room was probably 60-65 at night. Happily by our third day it had warmed up and the rest of the stay was comfortable. Showers and hot water were great, housekeeping did a very good job. Desk staff spoke limited English-it was kind of hit and miss, though usually there was someone there that spoke a few words of English. We found the staff to be very friendly and they always tried to be helpful. They also arranged taxis for our two full-day Great Wall hikes. Their taxi tour prices were a bit high and you might want to negotiate a bit with their vendor. Lots of very nice and reasonably priced restaurants all around (local prices, not tourist rip-off prices) and this was great especially for kids who got tired of Chinese food. Lots of pizza, a Sizzler, DQ, McDonalds, Starbucks, KFC, Yoshinoya's (Japanese fast food). There is a small bakery across the street on the street level by McDonalds entrance. Very few non-Chinese people in that area and it definitely does not have a tourist feel at all. It felt very safe there. The pool was very nice and just long enough for laps (small $3 USD fee per use) and the gym also charges a small fee and was not much--a couple of exercise machines, ping pong, and a squash court. The breakfast buffet was nice, price $7 USD. Location of hotel is very central, one could walk to places like the Forbidden City though it was over one mile away. Taxis are cheap, pleantiful, and always right outside the hotel front door so we just took them all the time and saved the hiking for other places. Bank of China is in the building 4th floor but you have to go out and back in the store entrance to get there. Internet access worked fine and was free.

I most highly recommend this for the price and value! This is not the best place to stay if you are a demanding or needy traveler. However you will not find a better value anywhere in Beijing for family travel. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
taipei
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

After reading all the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to stay in this hotel, and it proof to be an excellent choice!
1. For people travelling with family (especially kids), this hotel provide 2 bedroom apartment with dining and sitting room and kitchen. A family can gather together in the sitting room, with ample space and even make popcorn out of the microwave in the kitchen!
2. This hotel is well situated. It is on the 9th to 12th floor of a department store, yet it is quiet and safe (there is a 24 hour guard on the entrance). The hotel is about 5 to 8 minutes walk to Xidan underground, and there is a food court that open from 7:30 to 10 pm at the basement of this hotel. (We do not suggest breakfast in the hotel, as there are so many choices outside)
3. It is clean and affordable, we book directly via the hotel websie, for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment (with kitchen and washing machine), it is 898 RMB pernight! It kep 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teens) very happy, and yet with adequate privacy!
4.Only down side is that English is a challenge to them. But I would not mind trying sign language, giving the price of the hotel!!

  • Liked — location,computer in sitting room, washing machine, free internet...
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HLChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the HWA Hotel in Oct 08 for eight nights. We found it to be exactly how others described in on TA, which is to say it was a comfortable, clean, no-frills place to stay. Heck, for $74/night +tax, we were able to stay in a space nearly three times bigger than a typical hotel room. I normally don't look for luxury when I travel, since I'm out & about most of the time, so this property really fit the bill for quality and tremendous value. I really appreciated having an in-room safe large enough to accomodate my laptop and free, wired internet access. I brought a Cat 5 cable with me, plugged the laptop in, & in no time was checking email & news from home. The kitchen appliances we used (full-size fridge, water boiler, microwave) worked fine. We didn't use the stove, so I can't comment on that. CNN International was the only English channel on TV, but a couple of other channels occasionally showed programming in English. My daughter used the pool once & said it was OK. It cost RMB20 to use it.

As others have noted, finding the place can be a challenge at first. If you're arriving by subway, go out exit A at Xidan station. At the top of the stairs, go right. You'll see pedestrian overpasses ahead on North Xidan St.. Take a right on the third side street where you'll see the telltale green awning. Our taxi driver from the airport had no idea where it was, even with the hotel's directions printed out, but he got us close. We got out & simply walked around for about 5 minutes until we found it. The hotel shares a large building with the Xidan Shopping Center. If you're facing the Center from North Xidan St., the hotel entrance is around the corner to the right. I've attached some pictures of the area that may help.

I would definitely stay at the HWA again. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for accomodations that offer very good quality and value in this magnificent city.

  • Liked — 24 hr McDonalds directly below our room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank danou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

A good deal, esp for the weary traveler who would like to cook his/her own food -- serviced apartments with kitchens and living rooms. Right in the middle of the mall district, in case you need a new outfit. You can negotiate price a bit with the front desk. Tell the driver you are going to the "Xidan Shangchang" but prepare for the fact that if you're heading south on Xidan Bei Dajie, the driver can't turn on the side street where the hotel is actually located, so you may have to cross the pedestrian walkway to get there yourself, bags in hand. Some road construction in front of the building is not audible from the room. The "fitness center" is a couple of machines, ping pong tables, squash court and a decent pool.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newyorkmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

Lovely large apartments with a nice balcony in a very central location, close to a subway and about 20 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and Tianamen. Surrounded by shopping, restaurants and bars.

As others have said it was difficult to be understood; not so much at reception, more so in the locality since it is not really a tourist area. We struggled even to buy a hot cup of coffee one morning. Pointing seemed to suffice for the rest of the time. The apartments are also quite difficult for taxi drivers to find and we got out at the subway station most times and walked the short distance back.

The traffic in the vicinity was horrendous, as they were preparing for the Olympics, it may well have settled down by now. It was about a 20 minute walk to Tianaman Square and a bit further to Wangfujing, the main tourist area.

The breakfast spread didn’t look very nice – quite greasy, but we just stuck to toast and coffee. Also the pool area was in the basement and a bit gloomy, not somewhere you would want to spend a lot of time. Neither of these really mattered to us.

It was great having the extra space of an apartment, and no doubt a very good choice for families, but I think next time I would perhaps choose to be closer to the tourist sites.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

very nice value hotel in a great location. if you are looking for a decent, clean, safe hotel in beijing that is also relatively inexpensive, then this is it. not exactly close to tianamen sq, unless a 30minute walk is good for you.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — arrived at 1.30am and they wouldnt let me check in until 8am!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dedapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed at the HWA Apartment Hotel during the Beijing 2008 Olympics as any of the big-name hotels cost an arm and a leg! This is a nice, no frills hotel. If you're not expecting too much, then you will not be disappointed. Even the breakfast buffet is quite decent.

Just be sure to get a business card from the front desk so you can get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Believe me, not a lot of taxi drivers know this place!! Get clear, written directions!

I can't comment too much about the English skills of the front-desk staff. I was able to converse with them in Mandarin, but I would imagine that their English is pretty minimal since HWA is not one of the bigger hotels - so just be prepared!

  • Liked — Ktichen, breakfast buffet, good value considering the time of year
  • Disliked — a bit lifeless and sterile
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KOinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#1,540 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Fuyoujie Hotel
Beijing Fuyoujie Hotel
#1,674 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Xidan
Jinghai Hotel (Taipusi Street)
Jinghai Hotel (Taipusi Street)
#1,921 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Shan Shui Hotel
Shan Shui Hotel
#1,973 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Xidan
Xixi  Friendship Hotel
Xixi Friendship Hotel
#734 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#226 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HWA (Apartment) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HWA (Apartment) Hotel

Property: HWA (Apartment) Hotel
Address: No.130 Xidan North Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 921 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HWA (Apartment) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your HWA (Apartment) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwa Apartment Hotel
Hotel Hwa Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing