We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possible security issues”
Review of Kuntai Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Ranked #103 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This was my fourth stay at this hotel.

Unlike my previous stays (all in winter like this one), my room was only slightly overheated, as opposed to extremely overheated. Otherwise, my experience was similar to my previous ones, except for one new trend: on two occasions I had to return to my room somewhat late (about 10pm on a weeknight), and both times I had troubling experiences. The first time, there was a drunk stumbling around in the lobby with several friends trying to hold him up. They were all yelling loudly. When I emerged from the elevator near my room, there were four or five more drunk people lying on the floor and yelling.

On the second occasion, a woman got into the elevator with me, engaged me in small talk about the weather, and then tried to follow me into my room. She was fairly easily dissuaded, but together these incidents suggest the hotel should be paying more attention to security.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Hotel is conveniently located. 4 miles from Forbidden City. Service is okay and rooms are average. At least they are clean. Staff is helpful but lack in English speaking skills

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTnPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I always stay at the Kuntai and again it didnt fail me on this trip. All staff are very friendly, speak english and nothing is too much trouble. You can`t beat the location either - everyone knows the Kuntai. Rooms are fine - the rate is fair and all round a very solid Beijing Hotel for business travellers. Would highly recommend..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This is an older (mid 1990s) Chinese business hotel but seems well maintained. I stayed here one night, booked by China colleagues because it is near our offices. My room was nice and well equipped with king bed, desk, big bathroom. The weather was cold but my room was unbelievably overheated and the thermostat had no effect...I finally turned the heat totally off and left the windows open all night, and slept with no blanket and it was still way too hot. The room never cooled down even with the windows open and heat off. It was like sleeping in an oven. I woke up several times gasping for air and parched dry mouth due to the heat. My colleague said the same about her room. My room faced the back to a large apartment building....no view, unless you like viewing Chinese families watching TV, but very quiet and no traffic noise. The buffet breakfast was OK, although the breakfast room equipment and service had an institutional feel, like a hospital cafeteria. The lobby is impressive and smoky. There is a semi-enclosed shopping arcade next door with shops and restaurants where we had dinner. OK hotel but they need to fix their climate control, can't sleep in 90 degree (F) room!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel is still good. Rooms are midsized, with very nice, large bathrooms.

Since my last trip, they removed the ashtrays from the breakfast room, although smoking is still allowed in most of it, with the result that the air is much better.

They charge for internet, but the connections are good.

This time my room faced the back of the hotel and was quite quiet.

The room tended to be too warm, and I had to open the windows quite a bit. The thermostat had very limited effect -- the only choices were warm and hot.

Great pool.

The best nearby restaurants are in Ritan Park: Xiao Wang Fu and Xi He Ya Ju, both highly recommended. This being Beijing, there are several hundred other restaurants in the vicinity. Across the street there are a Starbucks and a Subway, if you crave Western fare (nothing fancier than that, though).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Comfortable bed, good service in room and restaurant .
Swmming Pool best!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongolia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Good, well equipped rooms in an otherwise bland hotel. Breakfast had a good mix of Chinese and Western dishes. Within walking distance of a number of bazaars and some good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ritan International Hotel
Ritan International Hotel
#161 of 6,563 in Beijing
203 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Ritan Hotel
Ritan Hotel
#109 of 6,563 in Beijing
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ji Hotel Beijing Jinbao Street
Ji Hotel Beijing Jinbao Street
#3,369 of 6,563 in Beijing
51 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuntai Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuntai Royal Hotel

Address: No.12B Chaoyangmenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Beijing
#74 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#93 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuntai Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kuntai Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuntai Royal Beijing
Hotel Kuntai Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing