We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Centrally located hotel with some improvements needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Wangfujing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #27 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Centrally located hotel with some improvements needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September and were generally pleased by the hotel. It represents good value for money but the staff could benefit with some customer relations training; there were a couple of instances that we felt reception staff had been a little rude and could have been more attentive to our requirements. Rooms were large and beds comfortable. However, as another guest pointed out, there is no Wifi in the room which was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    954
    124
    17
    13
See reviews for
578
955
269
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The location of this hotel was amazing! It's super close to the metro line, and the famous Wangfujing shopping district is just a 2 minute walk away. Love the neighbourhood! You should definitely walk around at night and enjoy the city lights.

The people at reception and concierge always had a smile and were eager to help the guests. The only downside was the tub wasn't draining properly in the room. They tried to fix it, but didn't have much success. The front desk offered to switch rooms, but the tub in the 2nd room also drained very slowly. The hotel was apologetic and tried to fix the problem but in the end we just put up with it because we didn't want to switch rooms again. Seems like a recurring problem that the hotel should look into.

Other than that, the stay in Beijing was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stay with the hotel for 4 nights. I request for a packing box on the night prior to my departure and the hotel conceige advise they do not have any box, however they could buy one from the other hotel nearby. I mention will approach them if I need it, the conceige even offer to help me find a smaller box from the store the following morning. I was very appreciative with the service attitude of the staff. Sad part of the hotel is the internet service, the internet line was not very stable, I lost my connection quite often.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Overall I enjoyed the Park Plaza. The hotel is located beside a metro station, is in a good area close to shops, restaurants and central Beijing attractions and it is clean and modern.
The rooms are a good size with a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. Why it loses a star for me are a few things - no wifi in room, the lobby area doesn't feel like a particularly inviting place to have a drink, the room service breakfast order wasn't correct and the hotel has no pool. Having said that, on reading other reviews here (after my trip) have I seen that I could have paid to use The Regent's facilities.
The staff could improve their customer service skills a little, being better equipped to provide tour and city information. That being said, I would still recommend this hotel and I can see why it's popular with travellers. One tip, rather than use the unreliable internet in the lobby, you can use Starbuck's free connection, opposite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karljhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel has everything I look for in a hotel. It has 4 star facilities, 5 star service, and a 3 star price.

The room was wonderful and extremely large. I upgraded to a deluxe suite with internet, breakfast, and cocktails. I asked for the upgrade and was in no way pressured to upgrade. I paid around 150 US for this package( including room) and it was well worth it. The room was very nice and large, 4 star appliances, wonderful bathroom area and nice amenities. The room was very clean and comparable to any 4 star hotel in the US. The lobby and general areas are immaculate.

The service was really above and beyond and made the stay great. The breakfast package was nice and the staff was very attentive in both the breakfast( go to 2nd floor for American breakfast not the continental in the club lounge) and club lounge. The club lounge cocktail hours was great and always had enough wine/beer so it wasn't a struggle to get a drink. The food was standard finger foods, small pizza slices, spring rolls, oysters, cookies, etc. The staff remembered us and our room by the second night and were very friendly to deal with.

The location was also very nice, 15 minute taxi to Tienanmen, 5 minute walk to Wangfujian and the cool street market with insects on sticks etc. The area is surrounded by the Legendale, Regent (attached), and Peninsula. I loved paying 150 US a night in a suite that was about 800 sq feet when the attached Regent standard room was more than that. There is also Bugatti, Rolls Royce, Ferrari dealerships attached to the building area if you feel like window shopping. The area was very safe at night and made for a good base to explore.

Overall I would rate this is a top 5 hotel experiences in my travels. I highly recommend it to any western traveler, it has the amenities, service, and safety that "US" travelers would expect in a hotel.

A few tips:

1. If you feel you're not getting good service in a restaurant its because you must be more forward and raise you hand or flag down a waitress. This is always a bit odd to me as you would not ever do that in a US restaurant.

2. I booked a tour through tours by locals dot com. The guides name was Alexandra Liew. She was absolutely wonderful and it was well worth the 200 US for a 9 hour tour of the great wall, countryside, lunch at a local restaurant( restaurant is at a govt run tourist shop. The reason for this is countryside eating will get Americans sick, don't worry its not a high pressure sales pitch waiting to happen) and the Ming Tomb. She was so fun and made our day amazing. It was a very flexible tour unlike the 80 person bus tours where you are basically cattle. I highly recommend her even if the rate is higher than a group tour. The luxury of a safe, nice, temperature controlled car is wonderful and well worth it in Beijing traffic.

3. Outside near Starbucks inside the building lobby is a safe and secure ATM where you get a very good exchange rate. I got aprox 6.7 to the dollar, travelex at the airport was terrible.

4. Bring the address in Chinese for the hotel,it is available on the park plaza website for download as the taxi drivers speak 0 English.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PadresDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked this hotel online, and was able to choose the room type. However when we arrived at the hotel's reception, we were told our room type was available and that we had been "upgraded" to a club room. While the upgraded room itself was good in every way, it did not have a few things we had booked for. The hotel arranged for a taxi for us, the restaurant was great value.

The rooms were as good as the best in the world

Room Tip: Maybe a good idea to call beforehand and confirm your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indianbayrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We booked this hotel based on reviews we read online and were very happy with our choice!
This hotel is a four-star property, but the only reason I can see for that is that it doesn't have a pool. Frankly, we didn't miss the pool at all... with this great location and so much to see and do in Beijing, our family of five didn't want to spend time swimming!
The concierge was incredibly helpful in assisting us to store bags that couldn't travel but which we would need on our return to Beijing. They were equally helpful in directing us to a local Beijing Duck restaurant, the lovely Da Dong, without reservations.
Our rooms were lovely, with huge floor-to-ceiling windows, great storage space, and fabulous huge granite bathrooms. In the heat of Beijing, the blasting Air Con was welcome, but a bit more power to adjust it might have been helpful for people not craving the Arctic chill like we were following busy days sightseeing and shopping! Our crisp linens made the fairly-soft-for-China beds especially comfortable.
The whole hotel staff is to be commended at the Park Plaza. Every person we met from desk staff to cleaner was polite, professional, and appeared to take pride in the work.
Half of our party had breakfast at the hotel and proclaimed it a hit and miss event with one person's food perfectly executed and the other's order slow, cold, and confused.
Main streets are easily accessible for taxi hailing, Wangfujing is a short walk and the Forbidden City a good walk, and literally around the corner is a subway stop that puts all of Beijing at your feet.
The hotel has a massage centre which we didn't use as there's a branch of the massage chain Liangzi just down the street with great prices and no need for reservations.
Nearby is a Ten Fu's Tea shop, great for last minute souvenirs or gifts for the in-laws, and right across the circular drive is a Starbucks.
Our group of five had tonnes of luggage to take to the airport and we ordered up the hotel's transport van for about 700 yuan. It was in place on time and we were all able to fit along with our bags - a stress-free option for vacation's end.
In all, Park Plaza offers the best of all worlds for visitors to Beijing! I will definitely make this my hotel-of-choice any time I get back to this great city!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fumom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#13 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#25 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#12 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#63 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#46 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing