We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay & great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #31 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed at the Park Plaza with the family recently. Had a wonderful experience. I have had the pleasure of staying in several hotels all over the world but will rate this amongst the best four star experiences that we have enjoyed till date! Loved the hospitality at this hotel which is also very well located. Its next to a metro station and is in the middle of an upmarket commercial/cultural area. Night market and the Wangfujing street is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The breakfast and in room dining was first class. They have happy hours in the evening with a decent selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic service. The chef's there went out of their way to organise some excellent vegetarian dishes for the family.

Overall kudos to the Park Plaza team whose smiles and attentive service made our Beijing holiday extra special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikramkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is a pretty good choice if you're staying in Beijing and you don't mind a few compromises.

Positives:
- Good location with easy walking access to underground, central (expensive) shopping malls, Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City, etc. But also set back somewhat from the main road, so mostly quiet.
- Very helpful and friendly staff. The Concierge team are especially good: standard of English is excellent and they can help with most tourist needs.
- Rooms are a pretty good size for longer stays.
- Very comfortable beds with some of the best pillows we've ever had.
- Big array of breakfast choices so you can fill up for the day if you want.

Negatives:
- English is not well spoken by some of the staff you need to speak to by phone, like the operator, room service, housekeeping.
- Breakfast is just ok and suits the star rating of the hotel, which is fine, but they are expensive for what you get.
- Temperature control in the rooms is not great.
- The restaurant and room service menu choices are limited, the food is average and it's very expensive. Go down the road a bit - there are far better choices nearby and you don;t get hit by the annoying 15% hotel surcharge (applies in all hotels).

Room Tip: The Plaza Club Room deals are worth it if you're going to eat breakfasts in. There is a Starbuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Did a tour across China and stayed at a dozen different hotels. This hotel was the worst one out of all hotels. Stayed here for 4 nights and got zero sleep every night. Loud banging noise throughout day and night. Kept us awake at 1am, 2am, 3am, even 4am. Asked front desk if there was construction going on, they said no. Complained after 3rd night of no sleep, and hotel did nothing to compensate. Also, entire hotel freezing! No heat and no control for heat to work. So no hot breakfast in the morning either because by the time you got food and sat down at your table, food was cold, because entire room is freezing. I'm not kidding! The hotel was that cold! When I asked the front desk why no heat anywhere, they told me China shuts down all heat controls across the country, so it's cold for a few weeks end of March, beginning of April... Are you kidding me!? Tourists are expected to sleep in freezing cold hotel rooms? Makes no sense.
Anyways, I stayed at several other hotels which had heat and were much better than this one. If you want to sleep at night, don't bother staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacster2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel was the perfect base for short stay in Beijing. Easy walking distance to Forbidden City, restaurants and shopping. The hotel is just back from a busy road so avoids the traffic noise and is very quiet. Staff all friendly and helpful. We upgraded on arrival to a junior suite and to include breakfast and happy hour which was worth doing as the breakfast choice was excellent and the happy hour provided tasty hot and cold snacks and soft and alcoholic drinks. The food in the restaurant is ok but there are better places round about. The room was immaculate. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CShepherd186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I would have given it the highest 5 rating, the reason why I hold back was that the room got very cold in the middle of the night and I had no control of the thermostat - they turned the heat off. When I checked in my room there was a notice on the desk saying that starting March 15th the heat will be off in the room. The weather was still cold ( I stayed there from April 2nd ~ April 4th), during my stay the temperature at night was like in the lower 40 Fahrenheit. Nonetheless the hotel room is clean, the staff was courteous and professional, I still recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We checked into the hotel at 4:30 after a very busy day sightseeing and were met with hot tea and very friendly and helpful staff. We took the upgrade when we booked and it was well worth it. We had complimentary drinks in the lounge during happy hour along with appetizers that were certainly our dinner. We headed back out around 6:00 to attend an acrobat show and then were brought back to our hotel. We proceeded to walk around and take in the sights of Beijing at night. The hotel is in an excellent spot. The next morning we had a great complimentary breakfast and then headed out. The rooms were large, extremely clean and the staff was very helpful. We would (and probably will) stay here again on our next visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a three-night break in Beijing and were absolutely delighted with our choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the fantastic staff who went out of their way to make sure that our stay was just perfect. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a cup of warm, ginger tea which was delicious and very welcoming after having travelled for a long time. The friendly staff made check-in a very easy process and their English was very good.
Our room was very comfortable, quiet, clean and a good size for two people sharing. As this was our first time in Beijing, I had spent a lot of time researching hotels before choosing the Park Plaza and I certainly was not disappointed. Great value for a great hotel in a great location. Just five minutes walk from the hotel is a large, shopping area and Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are also within easy walking distance. Will definitely stay here on my next visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSnowQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,509 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#35 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#39 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £82 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing