We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel --staff is terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #25 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel --staff is terrific”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our first trip to China and the hotel made all the difference! Service was excellent! The concierge is top flight and helped with all our questions from finding the right tours to locating new dog clippers. We arrived very late and the airport pick up was a very welcome site and well worth the money. Very quick ride into the city and a friendly welcome at the front desk. Yes, do the upgrade--it's well worth the money as many other reviews have mentioned.
Cabs are the way to go in this city if you have limited time as we did--the hotel will send them on the way with a note on the location and what your looking for. Cabs are inexpensive and give you a real feel for the expanse and diversity of this city. The hotel is in a perfect spot--minutes walk from major shopping and the local houtongs. It's hidden behind a very large Regent hotel just off the main street so it's quiet and more private.
Peking Duck at Dadong is a must--just across the main street from the hotel in one of the many upscale malls. The restaurant walls are full of awards and after dinning there you will know why.
Mei Zhou Dong Po, apparently a chain as there are many locations-- about a 10 minute walk from the hotel is excellent, inexpensive and very large portions. Most of these restaurant close at 10:00 PM so be sure you are inside before 9:30 as they stop seating then.
Great Wall tour the hotel can schedule. Get a good tour director and a private car or van you if you don't' want to be included in the huge bus tours. Muitanyu entrance is not so crowded be it a bit farther drive from the city, it's worth it.
I would recommend this hotel highly and will stay there again on our next visit to Beijing.

Room Tip: The upgrade is worth the money! Room are lovely, clean and a better view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,696
    966
    130
    18
    13
See reviews for
594
971
271
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

value for money . Excelent location and facilities. Help full reception / concierge . had a pleasant stay . Near Beijing atractions . Starbucks just crossing the street.after complainn about A/C were trasnferred to a smaller room but with working A/C.Quick management response

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 814 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reading the previous posting by kmacd7, the writer was presumably unaware that the Park Plaza chain internationally is a budget 4 star range of hotels owned by the Carlson Group, which also includes Radisson hotels.

This Park Plaza is certainly not big, bold, breathtaking or decorated in stunning style, but it does perfectly well as an impeccably clean and comfortable 4 star hotel, offering very good value to either business travellers, or value conscious independent travellers. Location wise, it is tucked discretely behind the much larger (and more flashy) Regent Hotel in the Dongcheng district of central Beijing, a couple of blocks away from the very famous Wangfujing Pedestrian shopping street.
The hotel is particularly well located to the Beijing Metro, being built on top of the Dengshikou metro station (灯市口站), and with the station entrance only a minute’s walk from the rear entrance of the hotel.

I have stayed here the last two times that I have visited Beijing on business. Both times I had booked a basic room online for about 680RMB per night, and at check-in was offered an upgrade package that included a high floor executive room, executive club lounge privileges (including complimentary evening drinks and rather repetitious hors d'oeuvres), complimentary suit pressing, and meeting room use, for the same price as adding the hotel’s breakfast each morning (about additional 150RMB). The number of people enjoying the complimentary evening drinks each night indicated that plenty of other hotel guests had also thought that this sounded like a good deal.

The lounge on the ground floor is spacious and comfortable, as is the executive lounge on 14th floor. I found all of the staff in the hotel to be particularly helpful and attentive – particularly the women working in the executive lounge.

The bedroom was very comfortable and well outfitted.
Directly outside the hotel is a small hutong area that is interesting for a walk early in the morning. There is a Starbucks Coffee directly opposite the entrance to the hotel, and about 2 blocks away at the northern end of the Wangfujing Da Jie Pedestrian Street is the Donghuamen Street night food market (东华门), probably the most iconic streetfood market in Beijing and a must-one evening. At the opposite, southern end of Wangfujing, above the Wangfujing Metro Station, is the Oriental Plaza shopping mall – a very extensive shopping mall full of high street brands and a particularly good Food Court on the lower floors. In some narrow hutongs on the western side of Wangfujing is a night food market selling all manner of creepy-crawly delicacies - not for the squeamish stomach!

One note of warning of you are visiting the Wangfujing Da Jie Pedestrian street or Donghuamen nightfood market. Beware of the young women with excellent English who approach and befriend you on Wangujing street, inviting you to visit a teahouse or art gallery for English conversation. This is a well-oiled scam that ends up costing you a lot of money. Have nothing to do with them.

Room Tip: Ask about discounted upgrade to executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking so much of your time to share your detailed knowledge about the hotel, and given these valuable travel Tips. For sure most travelers will be benefit from this review. We will continuously analyze what we can improve for the better from your detailed feedback, it always pleasure to get someone from the outside to give us their opinion too. Thank you again for your feedback we excited to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon once again when you return to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our last stay of our 2 week family trip to China. Having stayed at The Langham in Hong Kong. Sofitel in Guangzhou. Shangri La in Guilin. - I thought that this hotel would be comparable based on the 4 star rating ( misguided )
When one thinks of " Park Plaza" - one thinks of New York Luxury. Don't be fooled by the name .

The décor was basic, The colours were orange and brown in our room.
I did complain to the front desk, regarding my disappointment and I did get an upgrade :however, the room was only a larger version of the same.

We were there in March 2013. The hotel was freezing cold and we needed to wear our coats for breakfast - as did the other guests. At night, we wore most of our clothes to bed. A heater was eventually brought up to our room.

I was embarrassed by this hotel choice - since I was responsible for the trip.

On an earlier trip I booked this hotel.
However, upon arrival, it was sold out and I was moved to the sister hotel- which I was told was comparable. ( It was fabulous ) . So I booked the Park Plaza again, only to learn it was not fabulous.

I would rank it as 3 star. ONLY
and NEVER go back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay with Park Plaza. We were sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations. Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing rated as a four star international hotel; however it is our pleasure to be compared with these five star hotels you have mentioned. We opened in 2005 as one of the properties being developed to host the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. Positive guest reviews on this site will attest that Park Plaza is a modern and well maintained trendy hotel. About the heating issue you have mentioned, we have provided an in room letter to our guest which explains that the heating provided by the municipality of Beijing and in the absence of full heating, hotel provides ample blankets and heaters for guests who have the requirement. We are sorry to learn that this did not make a difference during your visit. Again thank you for your comment and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We were in Beijing in March and were a bit concerned when there was a note explaining the government supplied heat was off already for the year. However, the note said they could bring blankets and heaters. We actually were quite warm! When we explained we were warm they brought us a wonderful tower fan. Excellent care. Rooms clean and Beautiful. Breakfast buffet included in club package is good. They only give you 2 bottles of water a day but you can buy it cheap at the convenience store around the corner. There is also a Starbucks and ATM in the office tower across the courtyard. Cabbies seemed to have a hard time knowing where it was despite the card supplied by concierge, maybe larger print needed. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BooksNSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights.The staff very friendly, especially the bell boy/ door man. Front desk very helpful. breakfast was good.A block away from the hotel is the Da dong roast duck restaurant. Excellent food .
We used the subway for transportation.Very easy!!! Also in English. The subway cost is 2 yuan per person (32 cents)!
By the hotel is the wangfujing shopping street,the only thing that's worth going is to see is the food venders.When you get there half way down the strip to your right is a side street with food, grilled scorpions,roaches,lizards e.c.t.
Don't skip out on the Great Wall. We went at the Mutianyu location about 2 hrs away it's breathtaking , the location close to Beijing get really crowded.
Shopping go to the pearl market. Dirt market is ok, silk market not worth it.Check out the hutong. ( old city alleyways). Forbidden city and lama temple is a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B2SQUARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Got free upgrade and the service was superb! Less than one minute walk from Dengshikou (燈市口站) metro station (Exit C). It's right behind the Reg****t hotel, and there is St**bucks coffee shop opposite to the hotel. The price is reasonable, and the bed is comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank littlemi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#30 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing