We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , nice rooms for the price but terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #25 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location , nice rooms for the price but terrible restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed comfortable rooms. Try the hutong restaurants on the corner as the food is a tenth of the price and has better service than the hotel's disinterested alternative.
A central location means you are on walking distance of most sights .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay at the Park Plaza, and the positive comments about our hotel location, facilities and our service levels.
Our restaurant specialize Southeast Asia cuisines, so it is quite hard to be compare with local Hutong food. Our food price is within the range of most international four star hotels in Beijing. Thank you again for your comment and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    976
    134
    18
    14
See reviews for
600
981
275
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Yes, the hotel is within walking distance to Wangfujing, and close to the subway station that'd allow you to transfer after one stop to the actual line that gets you to the Forbidden City, but it's not AS convenient as other reviews would make you believe.

First, this hotel seems like it's the farthest of all hotels in the area from Wangfujing Street. It's not quite as easy to jump outside and get to the buzz as it would be if you were at the Hilton, Novotel or even the Crowne Plaza.

Second, the area is not totally safe. We were walking on Shijia Hutong (the street behind the hotel) at night (around 9 p.m.) and it's a quieter residential street. All of a sudden, we hear a woman scream behind us. It turns out someone snatched her purse and ran away down the streets. Surprisingly, bystanders actually helped take down the guy and started kicking him, but that event definitely shook us up. Naively, we thought we could be completely carefree, but that was a reminder that even though we were in a tourist area, we still needed to be careful.

Other things that bugged us were:

- The hotel entrance is tucked away in a small street, so taxis find it hard to find, and it's definitely hard for guests to quickly get a taxi on their way out. (That being said, Beijing taxis deserve a whole different review, and you'll probably want to take the subway whenever possible).
- The hotel seems very big on the upsell. When we checked in, we were pitched a "special package" offered "only that day," and we overheard others who were also pitched other "special packages." Our offer was for breakfast (absurdly overpriced at 140 CNY per person) -- we declined, and apparently, that was so surprising that they brought over the manager to do a second sales pitch. Definitely not the welcome we were looking for.
- We had the "do not disturb" light on, as well as the door tag, and yet two staff members tried to enter our room. I caught them just before they got in, but after they already had the door open. Their rationale was that housekeeping didn't get a chance to clean our room and just wanted to make sure we knew that, but so what -- that certainly didn't warrant them violating our expressed wish for privacy. Their story didn't make any sense either, since housekeeping had already called about the issue earlier. If I gave them the benefit of the doubt, then I'd guess that they were simply taking advantage of (what they assumed was) our absence to check the room. If I was more skeptical, I'd guess they were up to no good.

So why the 3-star review? Because it's still a well-located hotel, and I'm going to assume my suspicions are open to interpretation. Would I stay here again? Maybe -- if the rate was really cheap. However, there are many other hotels in the area, and I'd probably look at those other options first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay at the Park Plaza. By reading the comment you have brought up, all the issues mentioned by you have not banned you come back and visit again.
Beijing just like any other Capital City in the world has all of the safety issues that large city must cope with. Although you are the first guest who has shared this unpleasant experience, we hope it will set alarm for other tourists when traveling in a foreign city.
Location wise, I believe individual travelers all have their own opinion and purpose when visiting the city. So the facts are between Park Plaza, Hyatt, Hilton and Novotel is within 3 minutes distance, and usually 10 minutes walk to the Wangfujing Walk Street, and 25 minutes to Tiananmen Square.
The private issue, while DND light is on, our procedure is to contact guest after 2pm, in case guest need to clean the room and housekeeping will also leave a DND card under the door explaining we will clean up the room once we were communicated by guest.
Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon if your travels bring you back to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly, this is a premier location in Beijing. Close to great shopping and dining including Wangfujing, night markets etc, and a nice walk from Forbidden City and some exciting Hutongs. The hotel provided outstanding service, good clean rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast. I will come again when next in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I did not have the habit of writing reviews back then, but now that I have been doing so, I thought I would like to write one for this hotel which my wife and I had a really good experience in. We stayed for about four nights and we were very impressed with the location, the service and how the staff at the hotel actually do remember your faces. When we were there a year ago, the english standard of service was not the best, but they try their hardest and I am sure it has improved over time. They also ensure that the cab driver know where you want to head to before they send you off. Lastly, right opposite the hotel in Jinbao Tower is a very premium but one of the best options you can get in the city for Tim Sum called Lei Garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel. The buffet breakfast that came with the room was delicious. The concierge(s) were very helpful during our visit as well. The room was nice. After we left I received an email that we had left something behind in our room. They wanted to know if they should hold onto the item until our next visit. I was amazed that they actually contacted us. Highly recommend this hotel! It was 30 seconds from a subway stop and centrally located to the shopping/city center area of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The service was excellent throughout the entire hotel, from the front door to the folks that cleaned the rooms, for the entire 10 days of our stay. We very much liked the cult a-sac type location, back from the main street and the service of the concierge team, in setting up tours, places to see, restaurants to visit....and, anything else you could think of, they were there in "jiffy".
While the wife was doing some touring I was involved in a business meeting room, for 4 days and the entire staff of the 15th. floor was terrific. Great business atmosphere, privacy & great service.
This sounds like a winning combination to me.

Room Tip: Stay on the 15th. floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very Nice place, the staff is very helpfull and friendly, the happy hour is a good option ! The VIP club is a amazing choise, the bussiness room is enought! The breakfast is excelent with eastern breakfast and chinese options!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiolage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,499 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#47 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing