We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #31 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the perfect hotel for our stay in Beijing last fall. Western restaurant and bar in the lobby, great buffet breakfast included with some room rates, very helpful concierge who assisted us with getting subway passes, a day trip to the Great Wall etc. Hotel is a block from a subway stop and close to lots of shopping options of all levels. We walked back to the hotel from the Forbidden City.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joneslindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,925)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Wangfujing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We took this hotel after careful reading of many reports from others. Indeed, we liked the hotel. The rooms are nice, well maintained and clean. We took a club room so we were offered a "small" breakfast at the club room (actually, this was a very good breakfast, not small at all). the club also offers a happy hour every afternoon, including some dumplings or alike, fruits, salads, wines, beer, soft drinks and even whiskey.
But the real pearl was the fact that they have bicycles that they offer, free of charge to the hotel guests. They do not advertize that for some obscure reason so we had the bicycles to ourselves for the days we stayed here. We discovered already ten years ago that the best way to discover a city is through biking it. Like that one can cover larger parts of the city, still keeping close contact with the environment. As Beijing is practically flat and as it offers biking roads everywhere, biking was a great way to tour it.
If you like biking this is the place for you.
The staff of the hotel was great. Very friendly and helpful.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Use the bikes they offer free of charge. It is a great way to get to know Beijing. Take the club ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was there for just one night, however I got really impressed with the hotel itself, people are welcome, they are really helpful and try always to do their best for you to fell comfortable.
Rooms are great, bed is perfect! I changed my mind and have stayed there for another night! I wish all the hotels I stayed in were like this.
It is settled in a nice place, surrounded by good restaurants for lunch and dinner!

Room Tip: non smoking!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lucas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Easy hotel, the staff were very patient with my kids. We had a package that included breakfast and afternoon tea which was handy to get a free snack at the end of a long day of exploring Beijing. Was about a half an hour walk with the kids to the Forbidden City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonic33south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed comfortable rooms. Try the hutong restaurants on the corner as the food is a tenth of the price and has better service than the hotel's disinterested alternative.
A central location means you are on walking distance of most sights .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay at the Park Plaza, and the positive comments about our hotel location, facilities and our service levels.
Our restaurant specialize Southeast Asia cuisines, so it is quite hard to be compare with local Hutong food. Our food price is within the range of most international four star hotels in Beijing. Thank you again for your comment and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Yes, the hotel is within walking distance to Wangfujing, and close to the subway station that'd allow you to transfer after one stop to the actual line that gets you to the Forbidden City, but it's not AS convenient as other reviews would make you believe.

First, this hotel seems like it's the farthest of all hotels in the area from Wangfujing Street. It's not quite as easy to jump outside and get to the buzz as it would be if you were at the Hilton, Novotel or even the Crowne Plaza.

Second, the area is not totally safe. We were walking on Shijia Hutong (the street behind the hotel) at night (around 9 p.m.) and it's a quieter residential street. All of a sudden, we hear a woman scream behind us. It turns out someone snatched her purse and ran away down the streets. Surprisingly, bystanders actually helped take down the guy and started kicking him, but that event definitely shook us up. Naively, we thought we could be completely carefree, but that was a reminder that even though we were in a tourist area, we still needed to be careful.

Other things that bugged us were:

- The hotel entrance is tucked away in a small street, so taxis find it hard to find, and it's definitely hard for guests to quickly get a taxi on their way out. (That being said, Beijing taxis deserve a whole different review, and you'll probably want to take the subway whenever possible).
- The hotel seems very big on the upsell. When we checked in, we were pitched a "special package" offered "only that day," and we overheard others who were also pitched other "special packages." Our offer was for breakfast (absurdly overpriced at 140 CNY per person) -- we declined, and apparently, that was so surprising that they brought over the manager to do a second sales pitch. Definitely not the welcome we were looking for.
- We had the "do not disturb" light on, as well as the door tag, and yet two staff members tried to enter our room. I caught them just before they got in, but after they already had the door open. Their rationale was that housekeeping didn't get a chance to clean our room and just wanted to make sure we knew that, but so what -- that certainly didn't warrant them violating our expressed wish for privacy. Their story didn't make any sense either, since housekeeping had already called about the issue earlier. If I gave them the benefit of the doubt, then I'd guess that they were simply taking advantage of (what they assumed was) our absence to check the room. If I was more skeptical, I'd guess they were up to no good.

So why the 3-star review? Because it's still a well-located hotel, and I'm going to assume my suspicions are open to interpretation. Would I stay here again? Maybe -- if the rate was really cheap. However, there are many other hotels in the area, and I'd probably look at those other options first.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Park Plaza Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay at the Park Plaza. By reading the comment you have brought up, all the issues mentioned by you have not banned you come back and visit again.
Beijing just like any other Capital City in the world has all of the safety issues that large city must cope with. Although you are the first guest who has shared this unpleasant experience, we hope it will set alarm for other tourists when traveling in a foreign city.
Location wise, I believe individual travelers all have their own opinion and purpose when visiting the city. So the facts are between Park Plaza, Hyatt, Hilton and Novotel is within 3 minutes distance, and usually 10 minutes walk to the Wangfujing Walk Street, and 25 minutes to Tiananmen Square.
The private issue, while DND light is on, our procedure is to contact guest after 2pm, in case guest need to clean the room and housekeeping will also leave a DND card under the door explaining we will clean up the room once we were communicated by guest.
Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon if your travels bring you back to Beijing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly, this is a premier location in Beijing. Close to great shopping and dining including Wangfujing, night markets etc, and a nice walk from Forbidden City and some exciting Hutongs. The hotel provided outstanding service, good clean rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast. I will come again when next in Beijing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,470 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,466 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,459 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,710 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing