We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff, almost a 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #27 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff, almost a 5”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here for 6 nights.

Rooms - The rooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable. Pillow menu is always a plus.

Location - Location of the hotel is very central, with Dengshiko subway station right outside the hotel. Wangfujing main shopping area is just 10mins walk away. If you fancied a more value for money and traditional breakfast, a branch of Yonghe King is 10mins walk down the road (opposite Xiehe Hospital) and you can get a hot soy milk drink and a fried dough stick for 12RMB.

Service - Overall it was great. Staff were helpful and they spoke a good level of English. The only one negative comment was our experience in trying to organise a taxi/transport to the airport. We were concerned of peak hour traffic jam on a weekday so wanted to enquire about how easy it would be to get a taxi in the morning and best time to leave etc. The Concierge we spoke to (Hank) was probably the least helpful staff we came across. He was busy browsing on his computer when we approached and had to be prompted by his colleague to acknowledge we were standing in front of him. His answers were very short and vague almost to the point of being negative (i.e. Q: is it hard to get a taxi in the morning, A: there are lots of taxis but also lots of people, we can't guarantee you anything.) He made us feel like we were interrupting him by asking all these questions. In the end we gave up and went back on a different night and spoke to another staff member who was much more helpful.

Would have been a 5 star if it wasn't for the concierge mishap. But would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    976
    135
    18
    14
See reviews for
603
981
276
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to sight see around Beijing. The hotel staff was wonderful and took care of every need efficiently and with the most care possible. In particular the Concierge and Bell staff were top notch. I opted for the Breakfast and it was wonderful, each day it consisted of American, Chinese and Japanese options, also not mentioned in the booking is the happy hour you get when you choose the breakfast option which was equally as nice with a great selection of small plates, wine and different liquors. The hotel is also very convenient to the Forbidden City (20 minute walk) and right next to a subway stop (5 minute walk) for anyone who wants to explore. All around great experience, I would not hesitate to book this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLuck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat Brit
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. From the welcome drink on arrival to our departure we loved everything about this hotel. We booked into the Club room which proved to be excellent value with a larger room & all the luxuries (fluffy bath robes etc), good views, Club Lounge on the 15th floor, massive choice for breakfast (European, Chinese, Japanese) in the Bloo restaurant (freshly cooked eggs, Chinese hotpot etc). Good wifi, lashings of hot water for bath). Located alongside a subway station and helped by the fantastic concierges, we took the subway to The Summer Palace (cost 2RMB each way). The staff couldn't have been more helpful, looking to be of assistance without being invasive. The concierge booked our train tickets for a moderate service charge of 20RMB per ticket saving us a lot of time. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you like a big breakfast then it's probably worth paying for a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as we toured Beijing. Great location, nice rooms, and the western breakfast was good. We did not pay for the buffet, but rather did a la carte which worked out to be cheaper for us and very tasty. We would stay here again. There is also a Starbucks right out the front door.

(While this was not our experience, one thing to add is that a lady warned us they were given counterfeit money when exchanging from the hotel. Just beware.)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Compared to the other hotels we booked for our stay in China, this 4* hotel served up the best breakfast because all of the cooked dishes were actually hot, unlike other places where the bacon, noddles etc were always cold. A fantastic selection of foods to get you off to a great start to the day.

The standard room we booked was clean and comfortable and we were offered a choice of pillows. We had a great night's sleep. Hairdryer, iron, safe, umbrella, robe & slippers provided as well as the usual toiletries. Chose a non-smoking room #313. We were not offered an upgrade at check-in. Although the guest rooms are starting to look tired and require updating, we found the room to be adequate. The fridge is not stocked up with goodies, but you can order them. Free bottles of water are provided every day though. There were sachets of coffee provided, but no milk (didn't see any sachets of tea or creamer). The fridge was a bit annoying because every time a bottle was placed on the shelf, it rolled off. There was no small freezer box either. We found the hotel was not as convenient as we had first thought and would have preferred to stay at the Crown Plaza which is right next to the shopping mall. The concierge staff who spoke excellent English were fantastic and made sure that the taxi drivers got us to our chosen destination.

The only negative is the evening meal we had. We ordered Malay Curry (no curry taste and only a few pieces of meat), Nasi Goreng served with chicken wings on the side that had a funky taste. We also ordered 2 beers and the total bill was CNY 250 which was over-priced. It was convenient at the time having arrived late from the airport, feeling very hungry. We wished that we had ventured outside because there is an eating place just opposite the hotel serving Chinese food. Otherwise, this was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on our recent visit, and were pretty satisfied with this hotel.

The Good:

1. The room and bathroom were comfortable, well-appointed, decent-sized, in modern design, though it looks like an old building and some things looked slightly worn, but no real issue here.

2. The staff was courteous, helpful and spoke good English - something that can be a challenge apparently in Beijing, given the reviews of other hotels.

3. The location is pretty close to the Forbidden City & Tienanmen Square & a short cab ride away.

4. Cabs are easy to find if you step outside on to the street. Some other hotels, such as the Grand Hotel, are too close to the Forbidden City so that no cab will agree to go there and it can be quite a challenge to find a cab from there too.

5. There are some good Chinese and other restaurants within 3-10 minutes walking distance, and they offer some great food at very reasonable prices.

6. They actually have a non-smoking floor, which was a great relief, unlike some other hotels in China which only have non-smoking rooms in which case the smoke and smells from nearby smoking rooms can still enter your room.

7. This area is also close to the Beijing South station if you are traveling by the Bullet train from Shanghai to Beijing, as we were.

The Not-so-good:

1. The breakfast seems highly overpriced - at about 40 USD per head, given the room rate !! We got a better deal by walking to the Starbucks across the road.

2. The concierge seems to take eons to get you a cab at times, and it's easier to just step out and hail one from the road.

3. The hotel has a standard trick at check-in, of offering you an "upgrade" to the club room with breakfast. Of course, you have to pay for the "upgrade" !! We were prepared for this having read other reviews about the hotel, though some reviews don't mention that you have to pay for it (around USD 60 or more per night). If we had really wanted the "upgrade" won't we just have booked it in the first place?

Besides, what a cheap gimmick to call it an "upgrade" when you are actually paying for it !! The staff seems to push it to you even if you say NO a couple of times, and they act as if they are giving you some sort of a "promo" or "deal" whereas it's just really their standard rates that they want you to pay for.

4. Their air-con/ temperature control does not seem to work at all. Some other reviews have mentioned this, and we also faced the same problem. So the room stayed at the same temperature. Luckily for us, this temperature was mostly conducive during our stay and we didn't stay long enough to have the time to complain to the management and get it fixed.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on higher floors. If you're sensitive to cigarette smoke, specify a non-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel strikes the right balance. Love the courtyard location. The decor is elegant without being opulent. The rooms are well sized, comfortable and tastefully detailed with lighter wood accents. Breakfast is better than guests indicate. Good selection of western and occidental. Omelettes and scrambled are cooked to order and if you don't want drip they will make you a latte. Who needs a ridiculously large selection? The nearest subway is under the adjacent building. Buy the "oyster" card. Don't miss the street food night-market on Dong Hua Men, a ten minute walk. Amazing food and looks clean. Better quality chain restaurants in Wanfujing shopping mall. Service in the hotel is friendly and courteous. Bloo dining (breakfast) has a nice circular extension that gets the sun morning and evening. Central location. Clean. Area feels very safe but don't expect cars to stop on crossings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ANDREW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,364 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,380 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,686 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,500 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#25 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#46 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing