We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel for Beijing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great hotel for Beijing.”
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Having read some of the other reviews I'd like to make a few points. Firstly the location is indeed set away from the tourist areas, it's in a business district but only 5 stops on the Metro / Subway to the Forbidden City and the fare is 0.20 EUR. The station is outside the hotel, the trains are frequent, clean and it's an interesting experience. Why take a taxi and get caught up in the traffic? Secondly the hotel is in China so English is not their first language. Of course some staff will have a better grasp than others, however, the staff here are way above average in their language skills so don't worry.

The hotel is very new and well furnished. Rooms are of a good size but in some aspects the finish is not perfect but during our stay there was plenty of repainting going on now that the building has settled.

The spa and pool are first class, whilst the pool is not the size of a public swimming pool it does not need to be as it is seldom busy.

Breakfast offers a huge selection but is a little pricey. The hotel restaurants offer a good standard with Italian themed 'Barolo' being particularly notable and I believe has won an award already. Drinks are not cheap as is usual in China so bring a bottle or two of wine from duty free if you like to indulge in a nightcap.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Nice new and clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Big bath and shower. Attentive staff.
  • Disliked — I only had five days there!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Achilles_F12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    172
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
94
122
49
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Fisrt, it has a very good location. Near a big shopping mall with premium brands.

Second, it's a very classic property with atentive staff.

The rooms are big and with very good ameneties. A huge plasma, one big and very confortable bed with a wide range of pillows. The open bed service leaves a french chocolate and a bottle of water. To work in the room, you have everything you need.

The bathroom has a shower with (imagine) a feet suport so that's easy to eash your legs. Perfect.

The breakfast and meals have a very high standard. Despite the main restaurant isn't so trendy and modern, it assembles like a french brasserie. The staff is very professional and willing to help you. The is a wide variety of food, from japanese, to indian, chinese and western. The sushi is great !

It's definetly one of the best if not the best hotel i've ever stayed at.

  • Liked — bathroom and bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We stayed here after the Olympic rush for pleasure and found the Ritz Carlton to be very comfortable. The service is very professional--we were constantly greeted and asked if we needed anything. Although the decor is very traditional Victorian the hotel is actually almost brand new--rooms are quite spacious, and the usual high end comfort items are here (towels, cosmetics, robes/slippers, etc.). We found the king bed to be very comfortable and, thankfully for the jet lagged, the sound insulation worked well. Our package included the buffet breakfast downstairs next to the lobby and we found it to be quite good, except for some rough spots (the asian dishes tended to be better than the Western food--cardboard pancakes and burned waffles??). It's located next to Shin Kong shopping mall, the hot "it" place for shoppers. You've got to eat in the restaurant floor upstairs where some of the best food in Beijing is located. There's a branch of Din Tai Fung--soup dumpling heaven!!--along with several other excellent restaurants. The hotel is located approximately 20 minutes by car from the Forbidden City and Tiannemen square, and the subway system is just around the corner, so the location is quite convenient. Overall we found the hotel to be very nice, perhaps not 5 star, but in Beijing it's probably the best combination of comfort, class, and location.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Ocassional hiccups with food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

The main reason we booked the Ritz Carlton was because we were seduced by photos of the decor... which does not try to be too obviously Chinese. Instead, the designers have opted to go with touches of Chinoiserie, which make is very refined and elegant. We were certainly not disappointed and there were actually few things to fault about the hotel. Our room was really fantastic—very big, very comfortable, very refined, with lots of beautiful details. The bathroom was great and very luxurious (although having the toilet simply behind a glass partition is not necessarily that practical if there are two of you!). We used the laundry service a couple of times and it was really efficient. The breakfast selection is also really incredible—among the best we've ever experienced (and we've travelled a lot). The service overall was also the best that we experienced throughout China. The only question mark about this hotel for me would be its location. It's situated in a new district to the east of the city (near the 4th Ring Road), where there are lots of luxury boutiques. We were there just after the Olympics and the system of alternate number plates was still in place. So, there wasn't too much traffic on the roads and it took us only about 20–25 minutes to get to Tian'anmen Square in a taxi. However, once all the cars are back on the streets, I reckon the that location could be a little more problematic. Solely for that reason, if we went back, we'd probably try the Grand Hyatt, which is so much more conveniently situated for the tourist sights.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ianp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2008

I stayed here while covering the Olympic games. Although this Ritz isn't as elegant as others I've visited, the staff is amazing!

I was blown away by the Chinese hospitality. It eceeded my expectations in every way. The restaurant offers many choices and many different types of cuisine.

The exercise room was well equipped. The property is very nice and well cared for.

The interiors and room decor could use an update, but it was very comfortable. The staff is the BEST reason to stay here. They take Ritz-Carlton's usual excellence and kick it up a notch. I reccommend this hotel if you're ever in Beijing.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BonVivantFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Stayed during the opening weekend of the Olympics, so perhaps some allowances should be made for a full hotel and an excitable clientele. But at $850 a night, I am not so sure.

The hotel is in the middle of what? A faceless, souleless zone of high rises and high-end shops peddling international branded items at super inflated prices. No character, no thought to planning and as memorable as an airport terminal.

Nothing intrinsically wrong but nothing particularly right. The well established faux English furnishings seemed completely out of place in this anonymous environment. Comfortable but depressing. Finish was poor, everything slid off the bathroom shelf, bath tiles cracked and not properly fixed. Walls were paper thin. Not built to last.

Lobby is designed to keep people out being very small but then of course becomes very crowded as there is nowehere else to wait.

Had a very poor and expensive dinner at the Aroma restaurant. Food indifferent and appaling wines from a very limited list at an average price of $130 a bottle. Not much better at breakfast. But what a contrast at Barolo, the hotel's Italian restaurant which was superb under the tutored eye of Ronnie Rizzi and his German-Greek co-maitre whose name I didn't catch but who supervised a great dining experience.

Pool meets the length test (25 metres) but narrow as a strand of spaghetti so seemed full with only a couple of other swimmers. Wet part of the spa: steam etc was good and had a large terrace from which to survey the bland tower scape.

However, the biggest failing was that the staff were not that well trained and English was a real struggle as is my Mandarin. Simple requests either didn't get met or had to be presented in a variety of ways to build an understanding. Willing but not very capable.

Calling the concierge was immensely frustrating as they never answered the phone, particularly important as I was outside the hotel and needed to change pick-up times. This happened repeatedly. Not good enough.

Hotel transfer to the airport is twice the price of the Peninsula: RMB 1460 vs 700 in an Audi 6 vs a BMW 7 series and it's closer, so how does that work?

All in all a disappointing experience and management just weren't ready for the Big Event.

  • Liked — Outstanding Italian food with great service and a wine list to match
  • Disliked — Lack of authenticity,location.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We mirror the same general "luxurious hotel, professional staff" comments as other reviews:
- TRUE - most taxi's will not know where the hotel is if you simply say "Ritz Carlton" ... recommend you print out the name & address in Chinese before you go to get from airport to hotel, then get the hotel business card for later taxi rides:
地址 :
中国北京市朝阳区建国路甲 83 号
邮编 100025
中国
- Taxi from airport to hotel was approximately 70 RMB (approx $10) and took 30 minutes with no traffic
- Short walking distance (5-10 minutes) to the metro station ... the "DaWangLu" stop is just across the street via Shin Kong Place shopping center ... a 1-way ticket including all transfers was only 2 RMB (approx .25 cents!)
- Internet and Wifi in the hotel are pricey, but there are little cafe's across the street in the China Central Place that offer it at no cost (i.e. SPR Coffee and Red Cuppa, which also offer light sandwich-style meals and coffee)
- There's a 7/11 across the street on the same pathway as the SPR Coffee; you can pick up local treats (dim sum, hard boiled egg in soy sauce, etc), water/sodas and quick to-go meals, very inexpensively!
- Top notch business equipment in the room: a drawer full of cables and such; mini-stapler/paper clips/post-its/etc; a console with built-in plug adapters (i.e. for your cell phone, camera) - ADVISE: no 3-prong outlets
- Here are a handful of our picks for day & nightlife (see our detailed reviews by name in Tripadvisor): "Jin" rooftop bar at the Emperor Hotel; the GreenT House restaurant; Da Dong Roast Duck restaurant; a stroll through the Nan Luo Gu Hutongs near Beihai Park; hike the Great Wall from Jinshanling to Simatai! Happy travels!

  • Liked — Luxurious accomodations; location to metro & availability of taxis
  • Disliked — Additional charge for Internet, WiFi & printing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MacchitaoConBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,448 in Beijing
668 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,448 in Beijing
701 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,448 in Beijing
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#14 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,442 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,448 in Beijing
341 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Beijing)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Family Hotel in Beijing
#151 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing