We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient hotel, good respite from a day toiling about BJ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Ranked #13 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Impeccable service and helpful staff. The staff are in general very attentive and it made our stay in BJ very pleasant. We stayed over Xmas break and we were given a nice xmas hamper and patisserie on our first night. We stayed for 5 nights and it is definitely worth getting a room with access to the club lounge especially if you think you would like to take a break from Chinese food sometimes. There were pastries, coffee and tea on standby at all hours should you be hungry at any time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel in late April for the first time, my first trip to China. Magnificent charm and extremely opulent room, overlooking early morning Tai Chi in the gardens below. The manager, Tony, was attentive and handled a problem we had in a very professional manner. Not so good check-in representative, David. Would not answer questions directly, was vague, and difficult to deal with. Not an asset to such a beautiful property. But Tony solved our problems and we feel very good about this property.
The Italian restaurant there was magnificent as well as the property, beauty salon, etc. Will stay there again on my next trip to China.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high. Great views of Beijing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesantafe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our introduction to Ritz Carlton was courtesy of our Viking River Cruise and we were very impressed. The room was large and impeccably appointed but it was the attentive staff at reception, the dining room and the bar that really made this a wonderful place to stay. Special mention must be made of the warmth and attention from Josephine one of the senior managers. Charm and sophistication personified.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

After staying at the ritz Carlton Beijing the original ritz in Beijing I was spoilt by there superb service, the finacial street is also a stunning ritz Carlton but more stitched up for business travelers I adored the location close to tianamen square , temple of the sun, forbidden city etc a great streamlined hotel for business and quick fly through hotels , I'd recommend ritz Carlton Beijing for longer more opulant stays , where as finacial street ritz for more high powered business.

Room Tip: Both ritz Carlton's in Beijing are wonderful , finacial street for business and a little pleasur...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldcitizenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed for 3 nights over a weekend before my husband continued on his business trip/meetings in Beijing.

I was excited about staying at a Ritz Carlton property but was overall disappointed by this hotel. Space is of a constraint in the hotel's main areas such as the lobby, walkways and dining places - thankfully the room was of a good size and had generally comfortable settings, bathroom and bed.

The usual markings of a great stay was lacking - breakfast variety was limited and low on taste or quality, housekeeping and turn-down service wasn't great enough. Our shoes weren't in the right places, the bathroom was still slightly wet, and the room was overall really dusty (bathrooms, bed side tables). It may sound like I'm nitpicking but this is what to expect, in my humble opinion, of a 5-star hotel brand like the Ritz Carlton.

Location isn't great at all for leisure travelers, but probably very well suited for business travelers with meetings and events in the financial district. Cabs were relatively easy to get, however it takes a 30 to 45minute ride on average to reach areas like Sanlitun (food and good shopping) and the Dong Cheng and Chao Yang districts (large shopping malls, dining options).

On the upside, concierge and staff were extremely pleasant with smooth check-ins and efficient service for my early morning flight cab booking and breakfast arrangements. Its unlikely I will return, but I believe the hotel can do more to up its ante.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Viking tour. We took a taxi from the airport, costing ¥105, very reasonable. The room was great, large comfortable bed, big bathroom. Everything seemed very clean. We had breakfast every morning, very nice variety of fruits, Western selection (egg station, breads, bacon, sausages, pancakes...), Asian (congee, fried rice, noodles...) Great gym, lots of treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weight machines, pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed in a suite for 5 days in April after 4 days at the excellent Ritz Carlton Shanghai Pudong. The two hotels could not have been more different and I think I need to bring a sense of balance to all the good reviews this hotel has received.
Here are my comments:
Location is not great if you are visiting as a tourist - you are better off in the center or on the East side of the city.
Concierge services very poor - starting with poor quality and expensive airport pick ups; and then certain staff with poor attitude, bordering on rude.
Housekeeping services very poor - rooms not dirty but not clean either - layers of dust as soon as you move from the main surfaces; low quality room make ups.
Bathrooms - poor water pressure in the shower.
Breakfast area - area much too small and service patchy.

Overall I could sense that the management were struggling to keep up service standards - perhaps it is hard to get good well trained staff in Beijing (they are nice, but just very good). What I object to is the hotel being marketed as a Ritz Carlton and charging accordingly when it is nowhere near the standard it should be. Three to Four Star local Chinese hotel at best.

Next time I will be choosing the Part Hyatt or the Westin if I have to stay in the Financial area.

I see the RC group plan to expand their network rapidly in China - they would be better off concentrating on getting their product right in Beijing first.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddyfieldluzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,022 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,531 in Beijing
558 reviews
Guomao
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
#10 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
768 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,475 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street

Address: 1 Jin Cheng Fang Street East, Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100033, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#12 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#25 Business Hotel in Beijing
#163 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £132 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary design of glass and chrome defines the exterior of The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street, while inside, one of the most architecturally-stunning luxury hotels in Beijing, China exudes elegance and warmth in true Feng Shui fashion. Three exceptional restaurants, a 1,500-square-meter health club and Spa, and state-of-the-art event venues make this hotel a favorite of Beijing-bound business and leisure travelers alike. Forbes Travel Guide unveiled its annual Star Rating list and announced The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street as a new Forbes Travel Guide Five- Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Beijing Ritz Carlton
Ritz Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing