We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointment with the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #29 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Ningbo, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointment with the service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Service changed a lot compare with last year. Too many new staffs at front desk, without smile without greeting. I feel that I checked in a 1 star motel. Staffs looks just wake up and not ready for work, a male staff checked me in and his eyes never look at me. I ask for manager to complaint, he told me they don't have manager now and ask me to wait. My key can not work for 2 times, I fed up with this situation and I don't believe that's Westin. Staff can not speak English, some even didn't wash their face anc come for work!!! Unacceptable.
Food in Prego restaurant was great, there's a male server very professional and offer me a glass of red wine to taste. thanks a lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one. We apologise for the service shortfall that you have encountered and will certainly ensure that continuous training is put in place to improve on the associates’ shortcomings as you have highlighted. In the meanwhile, we look forward to regain another opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street – to witness an improvement from the refreshing perspectives that you have shared here. Be renewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    350
    89
    30
    9
See reviews for
89
92
57
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
468 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The location is great and it offers all the amenities that you would expect of a higher end Westin.
The staff and checkin process was less than speedy but it wasn't a big issue and there were no problems.
The room was nice if unspectacular. As expected these days wifi and flatscreen TV with a large bath area.
The breakfast buffet was exceptionally large and good with variety enough for any taste.

There seem to be few deals on hotels in Beijing and this was no bargain but it does seem to be in line with the other comparable hotels.

As with most business travel, location trumps most other characteristics and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for constructively relating your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It is inspiring to hear the evocative descriptions of your experience. We are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being so that you can be at your best, naturally. Pertaining to the more promotion and packages of our hotel, please visit our brand website: deals.westin.com/westin_beijing, there are variety of room rates and package, you can choose what works for you best!. We’re looking forward to your next trip to Beijing. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
383 reviews
375 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Was at this hotel for the sake of my colleagues ( we had a number of meetings in this area ), room was dim and showed its age, favorite part of the hotel for me would be the gym ( trying to live a healthier life ), otherwise, while the room was spacious enough and looked out at the China Life building and Land Crawford shopping center, the lighting especially in the bathroom was a bit too dark, the rooms quite average, this part of town is also not as interesting from as the Chaoyang district ( more restaurants etc there ) but again we were here because of work.
I would come back to this area but I preferred the Ritz C. across the street, for leisure I would pick other hotels in Beijing that are more fun, ie hotel G, Opposite House etc., there are many choices now in Beijing and prices reasonable compared to Shanghai.

(I did try their foot massage which was about $100 USD for one hour, expensive but very relaxing !!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. It’s our passion to nurture your mind, body and soul – hence it’s delightful to hear that you’ve enjoyed our workout Although our address is indeed more corporate-cultured rather than leisure – we trust that your overall staying experience have not been compromised, and certainly couldn’t agree more that the inexpensive taxis whisk you all over Beijing easily. However, in future, should a another centrally-touristy address appeals to you more, we’re happy to let you know that Starwood currently have six hotels in Beijing, hence, we’re confident that one of our hotels will definitely meet your location desire – wherever it may be in the capital. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Room is fine, what u would expect in a westin. Except mine smelled like it was next to a kitchen that was deep frying stuff. Staff was quick to come and spray something to make the smell less noticeable. But this morning again. Also forgot to pack up my breakfast as requested, no biggy and the smoothies was tasty. Bed was too soft for me, but this is totally a matter of personal preference

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treatable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Reviewer, thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience was far from perfect and sincerely apologize for the compromised experience that you encountered. Please be assured that we have cascaded to relevant Leaders of our team to strategically address the specific areas of improvement that you have highlighted to ensure that your feedback is regarded as one of our service-engineering benchmarks. We hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street should your travels bring you back to Beijing. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

In town for business. great location (near lots of local financial institutions) and closer to downtown. Front desk staff are friendly but slightly disorganized. Reasonable room condition. Lack of choice in terms of restaurant. Room service don't speak very well English. Dined at the Italian restaurant inside the hotel, horrible spaghetti...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Reviewer, it is exhilarating to hear of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. Thank you for sharing your refreshing perspectives with us, especially your feedback of our Italian restaurant. Please be assured that we have cascaded to relevant Leaders of our team to strategically address the specific areas of improvement that you have highlighted to ensure that your feedback is regarded as one of our service-engineering benchmarks. We hope that there will be another opportunity for us to renew your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street should your travels bring you back to Beijing. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing, china
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

i had a rather disappointing time here. first at check in i was offered a free service as a gold SPG member, i chose welcome fruit and drink expecting it to appear in my room one day - it never turned up!
second, although i asked for non smoking room and got it there was a very strong smell in the room probably from the carpet and curtains of smoke from previous occupants. i quickly got used to it but every time i left the room and came back in, it was very noticeable.
third, the gym equipment is very disappointing - no cable station, no smith machine, no barbells, no barbell rack, only a couple of machines. it seems this is the minimal type of westin workout set up, which is a pity because other hotels have fabulous westin workout rooms with a full range of equipment, sadly not here. one good thing is the range of light equipment they have - exercise balls, medicine balls, stretching equipment, boxing dummy, tubing etc. problem is that there is so little space in which to use them - see the photos to get an idea of what i'm talking about.
lastly the breakfast which was not included in my corporate rate i found to be very overpriced - basically it burned up half of my company's daily allowance for meals in one go, i ate it one day and then went around the corner to starbucks for a panini the other days. at some hotels the price can be justified by the food but in this case the food is very ordinary - noodles and dumplings, i mean really, for the prices charged i would expect something more sophisticated. it led me to conclude that the breakfast buffet is designed for the many loud and obnoxious Taiwanese tourist groups who come through here and don't have to pay extra for it. but if that is the case then why not simply make it free for all guests and save some bad feelings on the part of corporate travellers? i just dont understand the logic of management sometimes.
i love the location and i love the brand westin, but there are some areas in which this hotel needs some serious improvements if it is to attract me back again

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank vaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one. We apologise for the service shortfall that you have encountered and will certainly ensure that continuous training is put in place to improve on the associates’ shortcomings as you have highlighted. In the meanwhile, as both our attempts to connect with you had been fruitless, and that reaching a resolution with you is of utmost importance to us, we hope to hear back from you in order for us to regain another opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street – to witness an improvement from the refreshing perspectives that you have shared here. Be renewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hotel is very well-managed and does everything quite well, if unspectacularly. The restaurants are consistently good, staff attentive, rooms clean and well-appointed. Extensive food in the lounge. Good pool, if slightly cramped.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subpardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Reviewer, it is exhilarating to hear of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. Thank you for sharing your refreshing perspectives and we are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being. We would be pleased to be your host in the hopefully not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#31 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Property: The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#27 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Business Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing