We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular five-starer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #29 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Popular five-starer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

It's a good hotel, and we've been coming to this hotel for years for nights out.
The hotel is located at a killer place, with a lot of businesses around. It's a hot spot for business people, but less useful for tourists I think. It's always crowded in a good manor, because of its popularity.
The hotel has a very good club lounge, which we have visited two years ago. The Sense is a very nice buffet restaurant, so is the italian restaurant of the opposite door.
The comparison says it all. Just look at the poor popularity of the Ritz on the other side of the block.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear reviewer, it is inspiring to hear the evocative descriptions of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. We will share your compliments about our restaurants to Chef Stephane’s culinary team. We are looking forward to your return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    350
    88
    30
    9
See reviews for
89
92
57
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stay at this Westin property 1-2 times a quarter, for 2-4 nights each. Highly recommended if you are seeking a good, clean business class hotel in the financial district.

Service is friendly and exceptional. Airport transfer is prompt and very helpful in navigating PEK crowds ( much more expensive than a taxi but worth it for getting an airport escort and special immigration queue).

Food options are average for a higher-end business hotel -- certainly serviceable if you have to eat in, but there are also good places within walking distance -- a luxury mall across street, a fantastic Shanghai style place on the third floor of the China Life building across street, a Japanese ramen place and Starbucks across street near TGIFridays, KFC, Pizza Hut ...

WI-fi is easy to access and decently fast. Room service menu is expansive and delivery fast. The concierge desk v helpful (e.g., I had booked a nail appointment at Westin spa but apparently the nail person wasn't in that day so the concierge had me booked at nearby Ritz Carlton within minutes).

In all, definitely recommended if you work in the area. Also a short taxi ride to Tianamen Square, Forbidden City and other good sightseeing spots if you have a few hours after meetings.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellabruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear reviewer, it is inspiring to hear the evocative descriptions of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. We are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being so that you can be at your best, naturally. We’re looking forward to your next business trip to Beijing. Be recharged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is truly a treat! We were a little apprehensive in what the hotels in China may be like versus what we were used to in the US. We couldn't have been more wrong! This hotel is amazing! Beautiful, clean, friendly staff who spoke very good English. This was located in the financial district so it was a little out if the way versus the tourist area. The food in the hotel was absolutely amazing, especially the breakfast! L

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your experience and it is inspiring to hear that our associates – not to mention Chef Stephane’s culinary team – have been able to elevate your Beijing encounter. We are looking forward to your return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

There really was nothing wrong with this hotel, the public areas and rooms were clean and well maintained.
Its in a fairly inaccessible out of the way location for attractions and the mainstream shopping and dining so taxi fares can mount up. Its quite hard to get a taxi here too and sometimes lines outside hotel can be long. In fairness getting a taxi in Beijing isnt that easy at the bast of times (or places).
The breakfast was very good.
The one thing I would say is that the hotel is bland to the point of being sterile. It could be anywhere, but I I suppose thats business hotels in business districts for you.
Prices for drinks etc in the hotel bars are ridiculously high.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FJB774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Reviewer, it is inspiring to hear the evocative descriptions of your experience at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. We are passionate about nurturing your mind, body, and soul by empowering you with a sense of well-being so that you can be at your best, naturally, whether in business suits or casuals. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

So much that I do not have much to say.

Numerous, efficient and nice staff, service is fast and efficient. A lot speak english and help with translation when necessary. I would rate the service at the bar pretty low though. The waitresses are 'cute' but speak a poor english, too often get orders wrong and service is very slow.
Breakfast is very impressive as often in such hotels in Asia. Eat breakfast like a king ...
I had diner at Italian and chinese restaurants (both quite good, I preferred the italian quality and atmosphere wise). Room service (food) is good. I think they could propose more dishes from the restautants.

The rooms are large and nicely decorated. Modern, simple lines. Brown/mink/white as in most newly decorated hotels nowadays.
Very comfy bathrooms with windows (with shades) separating from bedroom. With both shower and bathtub. Bathrobes.
Rooms are veryclean.Powerful A/C with control in room. Boiler and coffee machine. Ice box refilled. Large flat screen. Free internet WiFi or cable.
The building is U-shaped (some 26 floors) with inside looking over an inside court (facing other buildings) and outside on street side (Financial street). I moved to street side, higher floor for more light. It was quiet despite the street.

Large indoor swimming pool, which despite some attempts for decoration I found little attractive. (note: it is often crowded with families and kids loudly enjoying themselves). It is however a large pool, good for proper swimming. I also enjoyed the Jacussi near the pool and also the Women 'wet area' with large Jacussi inside, Sauna and Hammam. They provide towels, shampo, lotion etc. for a nice Spa time.
A lot of up to date equipment in the gym, esp. trademills, bikes etc.

Location : The Financial district is quite close to Tien AnMen square and Forbidden City, but nothing in Beijing is really close. It is a very quiet (boring?) and safe area. I do not know Beijing to say which other area would be more "fun" ... quiet and safe can be good enough.
Very close to the hotel (5mn walk) on Exchange mall is a series of a restaurants (incl. Starbucks and KFC to reassure Westerners who eventually care to feel at home), and a convenience store (look for a sign Hi-24 and walk downstairs 1.5 floor). Across the road from hotel is also a luxury shopping mall and the Ritz Carlton (more restaurants).

Taxi rides within center city are usually 10 Yuan. It is easy to get one leaving the hotel. Often very difficult when trying to come back (Often they will turn the clock off and ask you for 50 or 100 Yuan ... also individuals will propose to give you a drive for extra revenues - I assume it is illegal, yet sometimes ... it is that or walk...). Do not forget to get a card with hotel name and address in chinese !

I took a tour with Greyline sold at the Tour desk of the hotel. It was rather expensive (comparing to tours sold to chinese people in tourist areas), but I needed a no-brainer tour in english. So 550 Yuan (about 60 euros) but it was a great tour (8am to 5pm) with a good guide (knowledgeable, good english, very careful to not lose us and make it easy for us through sites). I recommend.

Room Tip: High floor, street side. (more open view and quiet despite street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alstromeria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your recent stay at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It’s our passion to nurture your mind, body and soul – hence it’s delightful to hear that you’ve enjoyed our room and dining experience. Moreover, we will certainly ensure that continuous training is put in place to improve on the associates’ shortcomings as you have highlighted. In the meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to another round of fabulous room, excellent service and very good breakfast! Be recharged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had an excellent stay for six nights at the Westin Financial Street. Service was prompt, courteous, and in fluent English. The room was impeccably clean each day, and the concierge desk called all seven of our shopping destinations to confirm addresses and get directions for our taxi drivers. They also booked a wonderful driver to take us to the Great Wall and a fansastic acrobatics show for our final evening in the city.

The location is not perfect if you're in town for sightseeing and shopping like we were, but taxis are inexpensive and we looked forward to collapsing into our cool, comfortable rooms at the end of long, hot days in Beijing's chaos. The Wedtin is an oasis, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixthgentexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your recent stay at The Westin Beijing Financial Street. It’s our passion to nurture your mind, body and soul – hence it’s delightful to hear that you’ve enjoyed our room and breakfast experience. We would be pleased to be your host in the hopefully not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Service changed a lot compare with last year. Too many new staffs at front desk, without smile without greeting. I feel that I checked in a 1 star motel. Staffs looks just wake up and not ready for work, a male staff checked me in and his eyes never look at me. I ask for manager to complaint, he told me they don't have manager now and ask me to wait. My key can not work for 2 times, I fed up with this situation and I don't believe that's Westin. Staff can not speak English, some even didn't wash their face anc come for work!!! Unacceptable.
Food in Prego restaurant was great, there's a male server very professional and offer me a glass of red wine to taste. thanks a lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeWoon, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one. We apologise for the service shortfall that you have encountered and will certainly ensure that continuous training is put in place to improve on the associates’ shortcomings as you have highlighted. In the meanwhile, we look forward to regain another opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street – to witness an improvement from the refreshing perspectives that you have shared here. Be renewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#31 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#37 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Property: The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#27 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Business Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing