We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategically located in the midst of Beijing's financial district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Ranked #28 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Strategically located in the midst of Beijing's financial district”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Westin Beijing Financial Street is strategically located in the midst of the city’s financial district and just a taxi (or train) ride away from The Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing. The hotel has 483 rooms including 49 suites, each equipped with the signature Westin Heavenly Bed for a good night’s rest.

My spacious room boasted soft neutral shades with red wood accents, plush armchairs and a flat screen TV. It was both elegant and contemporary. Standard amenities included tea and coffee making facilities, work desk with ergonomic chair, high speed internet and in-room safe.

The bathroom includes a separate rainforest shower and bathtub, complete with White Tea bath amenities. I slept very well during my stay at the hotel – because the heavenly bed is specially designed to cradle and contour the body.

While The Westin Beijing Financial Street doesn’t offer an outdoor pool, guests can enjoy a dip in the hotel’s heated 25-meter pool or the whirl pool. The pool connects to the locker and changing room, where you can find separate Jacuzzis, steam rooms and saunas for your enjoyment.

During my stay, I enjoyed a sumptuous lunch at Jewel, dinner at Prego and even checked out the Retrolicious brunch at both Prego and Senses. The brunch was great value for money and the spread was mind boggling. Even for me.

Do make time for at least one spa session at the hotel. The Heavenly Spa fuses modern spa therapy with Chinese traditional massage in a setting that elevates each of the five senses. This was one of the best massages I’ve gone for. I felt instantly alive and refreshed.

Platinum SPG members and guests of Westin Executive Club Rooms and all suites will enjoy access to the Westin Executive Club Lounge. Complimentary services include Continental breakfast, snacks during the day and pre-dinner drinks and canapés. The lounge also offers ample space for small meetings and a private meeting room.

For those who need assistance in transportation, the hotel’s concierge is more than happy to help you with that. They will hire a taxi for you and inform the driver in Mandarin of your preferred destination. You will also get a hotel card with the address and name written in Pin Yin, so the next taxi you take can send you back to the hotel without any hassle.

To cater for young children and the disabled, the hotel provides a children’s playground at Senses, childcare services (call the front desk to enquire further) and disabled friendly lift buttons and ramps at the ground floor.

I found the hotel pretty accessible as the Fuchengmen subway station is just 5 minutes away. If you’re not fond of taking the public transportation in Beijing (it can be quite a challenging experience), opt for a taxi. If you’re travelling for work, this would be an good hotel to consider staying at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karedin, The Westin Beijing FS Online Mgr. at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sue Lynn T,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Beijing Financial Street and sharing your valuable feedback here on Tripadvisor.com.

We are truly humbled having been rewarded with your satisfaction and detailed review for every aspect of our hotel. Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us and know that you were well looked after. Your inspiring words of praise have been delivered to our team.

Thank you also for highlighting the comfort you experienced in our signature Heavenly bed.

We look forward to your next renewing stay with us.

Stay Well.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    353
    89
    30
    10
See reviews for
93
96
58
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on business in Beijing. Got a room on the 22nd floor qualifying me for the Executive Club Level lounge. If you need a hotel in the Financial Center then this is fine and has shopping nearby. BUT there are many better choices to consider.

Let's begin with the positives: the staff is friendly and tries to be supportive but it seems a little elementary. Maybe it is the choices that management has made to offer things in a limited way.....meaning that the things a business traveler would expect, exist but they are not robust or offered in a deep way. The Executive Lounge and Fitness Center are examples. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are of reasonable size and the WIFI was good.

Now for the "not as good as it should be " things: 1) bathrooms have really dim lighting and I had a sink faucet that leaked excessively when I turned it on (I mean excessively -- told the front staff about this on day 1 and even though they said it would be repaired it wasn't) and the shower is designed in a way where the water seeps out of it and drenches the bathroom floor. 2) the Executive Lounge is sub par in delivery -- the breakfast offering is fine but two days in a row the scrambled eggs were not hot -- actually cold and when I asked to have two eggs "up" which the sign says they are happy to prepare for you, I was told it would take 10-20 minutes to get them --- and I was the second person in the lounge at the 6am opening time -- combine this with the place having nothing really to offer at 7:40pm on the first evening -- the lounge is just not good enough for the business traveler that chooses to pay extra for benefits. 3) the fitness center is suitable with a fair number of treadmills and five Life Cycle weight stations but don't expect a robust offering...it should be more elaborate and better -- but again the staff tries.

Here is the kicker, my room rate was $458/night for this executive level experience ---way too much for a Chinese hotel.

So, you should explore other choices but if you have to stay here don't expect to be wowed but you can expect "a just OK" experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear CGCx,

Thank you so much for staying at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and we appreciate your time to post such a sincere review. Your comments are well received and we have shared your points with Westin Executive Club and Housekeeping team’s respectively. Please be rest assured that we will definitely seek for improvement in the following daily work regarding to the guest room facilities as well as efficiency and food quality of Executive Lounge. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.

At the same time, we are glad to know that your “Heavenly Bed” experience is sooth.

We hope that we could be awarded another opportunity to redeem ourselves and show you that the experience you encountered is not the norm at our hotel.

Stay well,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
613 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have begun to focus on Westin Beijing Financial Street as hotel of choice for the great service we have received when in Beijing on business. Of particular note is that when the head chef learned my wife was gluten intolerant he ensured that she had excellent meals that she could enjoy safely. The service and care that we received were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Marty911,

Thank you so much for staying at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and share your insights with our friends here at tripadivisor.com. We are delighted to know that you and your wife felt well looked after by our team. Your encouraging words of praise have been passed on to the team.

We hope every element of your stay made you feeling better than when you arrived.

We look forward to your next visit with your family in the near future for yet another uplifting experience with us.

Stay well

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were extremely surprised by this Westin Hotel, the rooms smelled musty. The front desk were helpful and willing to show more rooms, but the second room had the same smell.The carpets need to be changed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear adma2013,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments on our hotel. Your feedback is essential for us to improve.

It is our regret to know that the hotel facilities did not live up to your expectation. In fact, we are working on plans to uplift our facilities as a part of our continuous efforts to meet our guests’ expectations. As it were, we are currently in process of replacing the majority of our guest room carpets. We will definitely reiterate sensitivity towards your observation with the team.

We hope this will not deter you from coming back to The Westin Beijing Financial Street and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Well,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Have travelled all over the United States & Canada, but have never had such a bad "club" sandwich as I had here. We also thought that my partners mushroom pasta dish had been cooked in "gutter oil". It certainly tasted like it. Absolutely awful!!!!! The staff are well trained and pleasant and the rooms are comfortable with good quality linen.

Room Tip: Unless you're a smoker, insist on a non-smoking room. As it's in the middle of the city, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Fussyfoodies,

Thank you very much for staying at The Westin Beijing Financial Street and take your time to leave us a comment. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment you encountered when dining with us. Please be assured, we value your comments and we have shared them with our Food & Beverage team.

At the same time, we are delighted to know that our service and facilities are in your favor.

We hope that we could be awarded another opportunity to redeem ourselves and show you that the experience you encountered is not the norm at our hotel.

Stay Well,

Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
306 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Beijing Westin on Financial St. with Viking Tours the first week of September. The room was nice/clean and we enjoyed the “extensive” breakfast and dinner buffets at Senses restaurant (a good mix of Chinese and Western food). The hotel location is great for visiting Beijing attractions (Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Wangfujing shopping, etc.) as it’s an inexpensive 10-20 minute taxi ride to most tourist sites in Beijing. What we couldn’t figure out was why wine was so expensive in the Westin lounges/restaurants. This seemed to be the case as well in the other hotels we stayed at during our three weeks in China. A glass of average Chardonnay in the Westin’s Plush lounge and Senses restaurant was on the order of $15 and the pours were around 6 oz. (pretty pricey for such a small glass of wine). Granted wine has to be imported to China for the most part, but on the other hand well drinks were relatively inexpensive. I assume bourbon, vodka, etc. has to be imported too. Go figure.

Room Tip: Higher is better for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigOrangeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear BigOrangeCat,

Thank you so much for sharing your insights with our friends on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to hear that our hotel service and dining options found your appreciation and that our hotel location facilitated your trip.

However, we are also duly taking your comments concerning our the wine and beverage prices on board, and regret to hear that these were not in your favor.

We hope you left us feeling better than when you arrived and would look forward to welcome you back to another uplifting experience with us.

Stay well

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When i arrived in hotel, i was welcomed by a warm smile of the hotel staff at the entrance. She guide me to the check in counter and the check in done quick and i assigned to a room that i pre-booked. I'm so glad the front desk free upgrade my room and provide a good service. One thing i need to mentioned, i was quite tired and a bit down due to some work issue. I have a talk to the night shift manager when i'm back to hotel from dinner appointment. He heard my problem and i told him what can make me feel better is just a can of Coke. After awhile, the duty manager send me 2 can of Coke. That really warm and sweet, it's really something unexpected. I know, my next business trip in Beijing, This Westin will be my only choice of hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBeijingFS, Hotel Manager at The Westin Beijing Financial Street, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear NicholasChin,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Beijing Financial Street. We are delighted to read about your insights and your encouraging words of praise have been conveyed to the team respectively. We are delighted that our empathetic, personalized and distinctive service found your appreciation.

We would look forward to a future visit of yours to share further moments of renewal.

Stay well,

Merlin Wilson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Xidan
The Ritz-Carlton Beijing, Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#32 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Financial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Financial Street

Property: The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Address: No.9B Financial Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#47 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#51 Business Hotel in Beijing
#148 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Financial Street 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the midst of the capital’s financial district with access to major corporate headquarters, the hotel is just minutes from cultural icons such as The Forbidden City as well as Beijing’s finest shopping and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Financial Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Financial Street Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Westin
Westin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing