We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best in Beijing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #23 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Beijing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

From the moment you enter this hotel, you know it's special. All suite rooms very comfortable; excellent restaurant choices. Staff speaks English!!! (Very important in Beijing. Within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Don't miss the lovely gardens on the way to Tiananmen Square as it is a peaceful respite in this crazy busy city!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    351
    130
    41
    14
See reviews for
312
591
109
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kritzendorf
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

an elegant hotel located 10 min. walk from the forbidden city and tienamen square and subway rigth in fron of the hotel.( especially necessary since catching a taxi is quite difficult in beiing )
spacios rooms, big bathrooms ( sep. shower and bathtub) and a very delicious breakfast buffet that offers a big variety of european and asian deligths, fresh juices and excellent bakery.
But the best to mention is the raffles ambassadore, who helps you with every question... he gives you shopping advices ( how to get there, what to shop and what you should pay for it..), restaurant recommendations , sigthseeing suggestions... if you want to stay in an elegant heaven in the middle of noisy, hectic beijing ther is only one place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hegi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We took the Airport Bus, which commutes to the Beijing Railway Station (last stop) for 16 RMB and from there, a cab to the hotel. However not many cabs are willing to take you because of the short distance and it was only when a local helped convince a cab driver to take us (15 RMB) that we were able to reach. The hotel is 2 km walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City on one side and 500mts away from Wangfujing a shopping district on the other. We had paid for a triple room in advance, but due to the fact that we reached a day late, it was given away, though we had called to inform them we would be reaching the next day. We were shifted to a suite which was large and spacious but unprepared so we had housekeeping knocking every few minutes to do the needful. We had to keep reminding them everyday to arrange towels etc. for 3 people. The Concierge was more keen to push private tours of the sites on us and wasn’t very helpful in guiding us to places we wanted to visit. They were even reluctant to arrange for a cab to the bus station and tried convincing us to take a cab to the airport. But the tourist information center on Wangfujing road was very helpful. In fact, they helped us reclaim money for a defective good sold, by going as far as to come with us to the store. A word of caution- be sure of the product you are buying, especially toys as 3 of the same remote controlled toy broke down within minutes for us. The cuisine in the 3 restaurants is very limited as is the room service menu. The hotel did pack us a compact breakfast, as we had to check out before the service commenced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I took my niece to Beijing in May of 2011, and we stayed here for 11 nights. Fantastic! The staff knew our names by day two, always welcoming us back to the hotel, and running to open the elevator for us. Conceriage arranged for private car and tour guides to the Wall and other areas. Room service outstanding (they return "in 15 minutes" with dessert unless you want the time changed). Our room was very large, with a very large bathroom, all facing the main avenue: we even had a nice balcony for the morning coffee. Even the balcony was cleaned each morning!

No problem with the firewall or email (although you should get a remote host computer to access Facebook).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryMan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is well located close to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. During our stay we had some issues with service and the pool cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot-Globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed at the Beijing Hotel for a week while conducting some business meetings and an IEEE Conference. The hotel staff were excellent, the room was spacious and well appointed. The location was great, with a short walk to Tienanmen Square, the Forbidden City, the National Museum, Chairman Mao's Mausoleum, the Beijing Performing Arts Center and the subway all within easy reach.

The hotel restaurant, East 33, provides good Western food, and the Amritsa Spa has a beautiful exercise center.

The meeting rooms and catering were excellent. The hotel was very well suited for a conference of 200 delegates.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel itself is very nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The restaurant East 33 was good. However, 2 issues:

1. All my outgoing emails via 3 different email accounts did not go out. Incoming emails seem ok, but one never knows what one is missing. There is nothing wrong with mail servers. I suspect it has to do with the Great Fire Wall. Given Raffles is part of the Beijing Hotel, a government owned property, the censorship maybe worst.

2. It is absolutely horrible trying to get a taxi out of there. It is illegal for empty taxis to cruise that stretch of Chang An Street. I waited 40min for a taxi and all the ones dropping off people were not picking up. Hotel staff called and there was no answer. Finally someone answered at the taxi service company and said the taxi would be there in 20min. I took the subway instead.

I will try to avoid staying there in the future. If you don't do emails and have no problem using the subway. This is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get higher floors esp. if your room does not face the street. The lower floors are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#34 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#96 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing