We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious under pressure”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #25 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our 5 day visit to Beijing had been centered around our stay at Raffles until an unexpected pipe burst made a large portion of the hotel inaccessible. The management of Raffles graciously arranged to compensate us with lodging at another property while John Spooner, the hotel Ambassador, mapped out some “must see” places for our first trip to Beijing. We came back to Raffles a couple of days later for tea at the Writers Bar and asked to see more of the hotel. John treated us as dear friends, going out of his way to show us hotel, the Wafujing Street night market and surrounding areas. He is a delightful reminder that the key to a great hotel is and always will be hospitality. There may be other highly rated hotels in Beijing, but Raffles is entirely unique in terms of service, location, elegance and the friendly assistance of Mr. Spooner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 52JAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind letter and the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us here in Beijing.

At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight our guests every day; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that the unfortunate burst of a municipal pipe which subsequently led to your relocation to another hotel for a couple of days did not affect your overall positive impression of Raffles Beijing`s facilities and services.

We will certainly share your report with John Spooner as well as all other colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will entice all of them to further improve their services.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Hotel NUO
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

you must stay at raffles!There is simply nowhere as good in Beijing ..service is paramount here and-under the masterful guidance of John the raffles ambassador your stay will be perfect..we are hoping to visit many more raffles hotels including The Grand Hotel D,Angor ..we hope it will live up to our fabulous experiences in Singapore and Beijing..history brings alive these grand hotels and raffles do it with confidence and great style..keep up your high standards !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of the entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, i would like to express our sincere appreciation for you staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues especially with our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner who you mentioned contributed tremendously to the enjoyment of your stay. And, we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services. We are also very confident that Raffles Grand Hotel D’Angor will live up to your expectations.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in at the Raffles. We found the staff very friendly, but look beyond the facade and noticed the most of the carpets were dirty and had not been vacuumed, our room was shoddy, not to mention when arrived the lights, phone and some plug sockets were not working. The room also had terrible finishes not what one would expect from a such a hotel chain. We also noticed the paint in the shower was peeling and water seeping through. We eventually were given another room but we did have to force the issue.. The other room was better, but was also tired. There is a reason why there are so many specials for this hotel! Those who have rated this hotel highly need to travel more and make sure they get better value for money....

Had much better value at the Crown Plaza at a fraction the price! By international standards this Hotel is poor value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Liam,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Beijing.

Our mission is to here at Raffles is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our personalized services. On the other hand we were disappointed to read that you experienced challenges with your room. I have addressed your concerns with all my respective Department Heads and asked them to immediately rectify these short-comings. Liam, once again thank you very much for your report since only by candid comments such as yours are we able to identify opportunities to continue to improve on our products and services.


Sincerely,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Before our trip I contacted ' The Mr J Spooner' hotel ambassador with a few queries and requests. He promptly replied with all my queries answered and more. Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed by John and his staff and comfortably seated and served tea during which check in was efficiently and swiftly completed. This is a big bonus following a long journey.

Our rooms (in the original wing) were beautifully furnished, spacious and above all comfortable. Our room was front facing with a balcony and a view, however our friends rooms were facing the new wing with a uninspiring view of the pool roof :-( Housekeeping kept the rooms immaculate and were very friendly yet discreet.

The location couldn't be better with its central location to most of the sites within easy walking distance, underground station just outside the hotel and a busy shopping centre with its very colourful food market around the corner. Plenty to keep the most busy tourist occupied for over a week!

Breakfast was varied and plentiful and the staff attentive. To drink and eat in the hotel in the evenings was, we felt, overpriced which was a pity as we like to relax and mix with other guests in the evening whilst enjoying the beautifull surroundings, however we felt it was better value to go out to dine. On a positive Gavin and his staff in the bar made 'Happy Hour' very happy and made a lovely 'Beijing Sling' for my birthday.

The pool area was not in keeping with the hotel standard and was cold and not user friendly. Which was a big disappointment as a relaxing swim following a long day walking around the city would have been very welcoming. This was my only real negative.

The real hotels credit has to be its staff. They were always friendly, discreet and very very helpful. Of course John Spooner lived up to his reputation and on a daily basis went out of his way to meet us, help and advice us, have a chat, entertain us and tirelessly gave us step by step directions all with a personal flare. I felt that we had a new best friend and I would like to take this opportunity to thank him and the rest of the staff for such a lovely experience.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I am already planning on returning.

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the original building with a front facing aspect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you and your family for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing. We very much appreciate you having taken the time to submit your detailed report about your experience to TripAdvisor.

What you have described in your review is exactly what we strive for. Our philosophy is being an “oasis for the well-travelled”. Hence, we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the personalized services our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner, Gavin at the Writers Bar and all other colleagues extended to you and your family. We will certainly share your remarks with John and the team and we are convinced that comments like yours encourage them to further enhance their services.

In addition we were delighted to learn that your expectations of our airport pick-up service were exceeded and that you enjoyed your culinary experiences. Our Executive Chef and his team are working hard on striking the right balance between Chinese and Western fare and positive feedback such as yours will certainly inspire them to continue their efforts.

On the other hand we were disappointed to read about the challenges you experienced with the pool. We are taking your and other TripAdvisor users` comments regarding the pool very serious. Raffles does not operate the pool but, we have now agreed with the operator to set the temperature of the pool as we feel to a pleasant 26 degrees Celsius. In order to guarantee and maintain this set temperature the operator has agreed that Raffles takes temperature readings and logs them twice a day. We strongly believe that this measure will help us to overcome the pool temperature challenge. In addition I would like to mention that the pool area also features a hot tub which temperature is constantly set at 36 degrees Celsius.

Again, thank you very much for your accolades and sentiments; we are thrilled to learn that we were able to make your visit to Beijing and your birthday a special one.

Warm wishes and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel,



Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The efficient hotel car service from the airport, the almost overwhelming welcome on arrival, the ease of an in-room check-in, the spaciousness and comfort of our room, the quality of food and service in the restaurant, the elegance of the hotel lobby and ground floor spaces… all met the high standards we associated with the Raffles name.

But Raffles Beijing has its own distinctive character: the warmth and friendliness of a personalised attitude towards guests, appreciated by those like us who may feel overwhelmed by a first encounter with Beijing. This is largely due to the unique presence and personality of the hotel’s ‘Ambassador’, John Spooner (who is surely working his way towards legend status). John offers to guests his services as adviser, guide, trouble-fixer and sometimes companion over a cup of tea, all with Australian laid-back charm and humour.

As ever, it’s the staff who make the difference in hotel experiences, and we had nothing but praise for all the Raffles staff we met during our four-night stay. In particular one of the Duty Managers, Chris, an attentive and kind young man who arranged a surprise gift from the hotel after discovering one of us had a birthday.

On a return visit, would not think of staying anywhere else in Beijing but Raffles.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Raffles Beijing Hotel!

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind letter and the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. At Raffles our mission is to completely delight and satisfy our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an “oasis for the well travelled”. We are committed to delight and wow our guests every moment; continually getting better to keep us the best.

Therefore, it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that Chris was able to surprise you with a birthday gift.

We will certainly share your letter with our Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his team, Chris and all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades and sentiments such as yours will encourage all of them to further improve their services.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts with us.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A lovely place to stay, if possible try and get breakfast included in the rate. On arrival we were met by the hotel's English speaking ambassador John Spooner, he saw to all our checking in procedures whilst we sat, drank complimentary tea and were given relevant helpful tourist advise. We were then taken to our room by a receptionist. The room we booked was a business room and was extremely well appointed, large bathroom with separate toilet, a good sized bedroom and also a reasonable sized sitting area with desk, large comfortable armchairs and coffee table with fresh fruit. There many individual touches to make the room more homely rather than the standard hotel bedroom. Everything you could possibility need was there.
When returning to the hotel or just meeting a member of staff on the corridor one was always greeted warmly,
The hotel offered a welcome refuge, a haven of tranquility in a very busy city. Thank you to John Spooner and all the Raffles Staff.

Room Tip: We had a business room on the 7th floor. It was quiet and we had a view out of the window.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Here at Raffles our goal is creating emotional luxury by offering thoughtful, welcoming, graceful and charming service. We could not agree more with you that it is the personal touches that make the difference. We will share your report with John, his team and all other colleagues and are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their service.


Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We only had a few days in Beijing and staying at the Raffles hotel was a perfect choice. The hotel is very close to a large number of attractions, easily within walking distance. We stayed at in both the old and new parts of the hotel due to two separate bookings. The old part is dated and could do with re-decorating. The new part is very clean and tidy.

Nice food in the restaurant but very expensive. With a mall just down the road, good, cheap food in available. Staff were very helpful, looking after some bags whilst we were travelling so we didn't have to take everything with us.

Our visit coincided with the Communist Party conference and a large number of members were staying in the hotel which caused major security issues but the police were courteous and professional, allowing guests to come and go without much delay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidalexander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us. In addition I also like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you felt the hotel is located in the right area and that you enjoyed the personalized services our colleagues extended to you. We will share your remarks with all our staff and we know that comments such as yours will encourage them to further enhance their services.



Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,459 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,470 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#36 of 6,531 in Beijing
547 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,531 in Beijing
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District | No. 33 East, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#104 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £113 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing