We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #22 of 6,470 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My recent stay was delightful and made extra special thanks to Raffles Ambassador John Spooner and his staff. We thoroughly enjoyed the elegant historic landmark building, the breakfast and the great recommendations given by the concierge. The landmark suite was magnificent and is highly recommended. I look forward to future visits.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IHAIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear IHAIM,

Thank you immensely for taking time to write your review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. The team and I are extremely pleased to read your kind words; John and the concierge team were particularly thrilled to be singled out by you.

Quality of our food offerings go hand in hand here at Raffles; hence, we are grateful for another encouraging comment about our Breakfast which ranks among the best in the city according to many media accolades and other guests. Being a smaller Heritage hotel indeed helps us to concentrate on being the best we can be.

I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and more importantly a “Great Experience” in one of our Historic rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Raffles Beijing Hotel in the very near future.

Warm wishes,
Chadi Chemaly – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    365
    131
    43
    14
See reviews for
321
607
111
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Many international hotels look and feel the same inside. You could be in Beijing or Chicago. If you are looking for old world style, as opposed to the trendy modern hotels, then consider Raffles. Along with excellent service and walking distance to the Forbidden City, this hotel is 5 star. I would also recommend Jeff Ma as a guide. His knowledge of the city, history, places for shopping combined with a great sense of humor allows for an entertaining experience for all ages and interests. (moonoasis@hotmail.com)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller06001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at this property again recently and unfortunately did not have a great experience. Check-in was incredibly slow as there was only one person at the desk who kept disappearing every few minutes. The room in the old part of the building was large but very gloomy and the shower cubicle had an unpleasant smell coming from it. The redeeming feature was the breakfast buffet which was very good. I've tried this hotel twice now and have been disappointed both times. It's a shame as the location is very good and there is a lot of character here but the service is poor and the rooms are in need of updating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Babylon1970,

Thank you for having taken the time to share feedback about your recent stay at Raffles Beijing on tripadvisor.com

I truly appreciate the balanced comments of your review, especially about the “very good” breakfast, yet it is sad to hear that we have failed you in other areas. While I would think your impressions and memories gathered during your first stay with us would have set the expectations for a second visit, a review such as yours is therefore even more disappointing especially after having been spoilt by all the positive feedback from our guests.

Allow me please to apologize for the shortcomings with your check in experience and the “gloomy” room. “Average” described in your review is obviously not good enough for us; please rest assured that I have immediately addressed the matters with the relevant department heads.

I hope that you will be giving us a chance to redeem ourselves and that you would be contacting me personally whenever your travels bring you back to Beijing to assist you with your arrangements.

Sincerely,
Chadi Chemaly – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel had everything - wonderful, large, well-decorated room with view over Chang'an Avenue, historic public spaces filled with photos of earlier visitors, including Mao and Zhou En Lai, perfect location near Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, and a gracious and friendly staff. We spent two nights in the hotel and then left for a night to camp on the Great Wall. When we returned for a final night at the hotel, all the staff welcomed us by name and asked about our adventure. We were amazed. We were even provided with a fruit bowl upon our return. And the hotel ambassador, John, who spends much time in the lobby talking with guest, is a gem - so much knowledge of the history of the hotel and Beijing. All this and extremely reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Chang'an
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaFlyingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear CaliforniaFlyingpig,

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted and for taking the time to share your experience and tips with other fellow Netizens!

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful service. I am extremely pleased that we have made that impression on you as well; John and his team were also thrilled to be singled out by you.

On behalf of everyone here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we can host you back again.

Warm wishes,
Chadi Chemaly – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you are looking to stay in Beijing and want to be right in the middle of the action , then Raffles Beijing it is. Along with its central location it is also a landmark hotel when it comes to luxury and service standards. Mr Spooner ( The Ambassador) takes special care of each guest. I was specially touched when the staff actually came up to our room and gave me a special birthday gift. Highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe rooms facing the Changan Avenue/ Tianmen Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is exceptional. As others have stated the location is great - an easy stroll to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City and the Wangfujing shopping and markets are just around the corner. It's an old world hotel and the lobby in particular is breathtakingly beautiful and yet it has all the modern conveniences and services that you could want. But the best thing about this hotel is the amazing staff and the service they provide, all the staff I met spoke very good English. Particular mention needs to go to Sage from the business lounge who upon hearing that the next day was our daughters 3rd birthday he arranged a private surprise birthday party for her in the club lounge including balloons, birthday cake, a present for her and her older sister and a card.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My parents and I had the pleasure of staying in the Raffles Hotel in Beijing for a total of 12 nights. And each was as pleasurable as the first. The location is brilliant, the food is outstanding (the breakfast at East 33 is definitely worth paying for!) and the rooms are fantastic.

Yet, those are perhaps the things you'd expect to be of high quality in any 5 star hotel- the thing that makes the Raffles hotel so special is the staff. An entire glistening review could easily be dedicated to the hotel ambassador, John Spooner, who was not only extremely helpful with giving directions and other outstanding, local advice in his official capacity, but is also truly brilliant on a personal level.

Although I personally did not pay for the stay, I am close to 100% sure that my parents would agree that his presence alone is worth the room rate. A review about John could be maintained in this glistening tone for several pages, but to sum him up in just a sentence: he's brilliant.

In addition to John, all the staff were amazing, but particular mention must be given to Sage -for his brilliant English, and his mastery of high quality service, provided in the Business Lounge (he is probably the best food/beverage service staff member I came across in all of Beijing), Chris- for his vibrant and entertaining personality, and again- brilliant English. And finally Vicky who always provides a warm, welcoming smile, and communicates an air of pleasantry without needing to utter a single sentence in English- perhaps a seemingly simple, but difficult to find skill in Beijing.

I could go on forever, but to put it simply, other hotels in Beijing may have a swimming pool or fitness centre on par with the Raffles, but it almost certainly won't have the same quality of staff, and it definitely won't have the brilliant John Spooner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafflesBeijingHotel, Executive Assistant Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Alex N,

Thank you for your incredible review of Raffles Beijing!

It is heartening for us to read how all the little details you noted exceeded your expectations and added up to us being the highlight of your outstanding 12 days in Beijing! Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We deliver our brand through thoughtful and welcoming, charming and graceful service. Words cannot describe my emotions and the motivation that accolades such as yours bring to the team; whilst John, Sage, Vicky and Chris were ecstatic to be singled out by you, I must say that we are very fortunate to be surrounded by a team of individuals with such fervor to serve our guests.

As you mentioned, English is certainly a “commodity” in Beijing; with that said, we do put a lot of effort and training into giving our passionate future hotelier the tools and preparations needed to serve all guests with the same standards expected at any 5 stars hotel in the world.

Please let us know whenever your travels bring you back to China, we would love to host you again or help you plan your trip.

Our best regards to Mom and Dad and warm wishes to you,
Chadi Chemaly – Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,470 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,470 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,470 in Beijing
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,470 in Beijing
320 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,470 in Beijing
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#119 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing