We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #34 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at The Regent for three nights and loved it. Top quality service, beautiful hotel and rooms. When we asked the concierge for assistance in planning our trip to the Great Wall, they were very helpful in arranging a London Taxi to drive our family of five to the Mutianyu section of the Wall, take us to lunch at The Schoolhouse and drive us home. When getting around Beijing it was extremely helpful to find the subway entrance practically attached to the back of the hotel. Top notch.

Room Tip: We asked for an adjoining room but this still seems to be difficult to find in China. We had rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

A true five star hotel with excellent service, food and location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katar11na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel for five nights in early October. This was our first visit to Beijing and The Regent proved to be a great base for our family. We found the location of the nearby subway station very convenient as we used this extensively to get us around to all the major tourist sights. We enjoyed dining at the hotel restaurants and particularly liked a drink in the Lobby Lounge at the end of a busy day and the sumptuous breakfasts in the mornings.

We found the property very clean and it had everything that we required.

Our only real disappointment was that prior to our arrival we had requested two adjoining rooms as we were travelling as a party of five with three teenage children. When we arrived they could not provide us with this or even two rooms on one floor. This was very diappointing! We would have been happy with two rooms on the same floor. We asked if they could move us the following day but heard nothing more from them!!

As our children were older we dealt with this however, if our children were younger this would certainly have been a bigger problem.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The Regent and would stay in this property again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family5Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I knew we would be walking a lot, so we wanted to stay in a comfortable hotel.The Regent was exactly what we needed. The bed was soft - something you can't take for granted in China where the locals prefer hard beds. A great big bath tub which we used every nite to soak our tired bodies.
Really a five star hotel. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in China - catering to both western and Asian tastes.
The steak in the Bar & Grill was very good - recommended when you're too tired to go out and look for dinner.
But there's also a good choice of restaurants and foot massage places within walking distance. Plus a big outdoor pedestrian mall two streets away on Wafujing street.
We booked the trip under Cathay Pacific holidays, so we got a very good hotel + air deal.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orientalkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

With all the hotel selections in Beijing, I am so glad that my husband and I decided on The Regent. We stayed there for 3 nights on the beginning of our 2 week trip and 1 night at the end.

We arranged a pick-up service from the airport with the hotel. It is a bit pricey, but we were arriving at 1 am and didn't want to worry about safety at that hour. The car provided was a brand new Audi and the hotel not only sent a professional driver but a member of the staff accompanied the driver in order to greet us at the airport.

When we arrived at the hotel the staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming. While we were checking-in a member from the concierge provided us with the restaurant confirmation that they had arranged for us, pursuant to an earlier email exchange that we had with the hotel. The front desk also exchanges money at a reasonable rate, which was quite convenient.

We got extremely lucky because the hotel gave us a room on the 19th floor (their top floor). A member of the hotel staff was waiting for us right outside the elevators when we arrived to the 19th floor. He showed us our room and our baggage arrived immediately. The room was fantastic and large. It had a king size comfortable bed, shower, bathtub, desk with an office chair, and a lounge chair. The amenities were endless including mini-bar, bath robes, umbrella, toothbrush and toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, body gels and scrubs, moisturizer, q-tips, nail files and cotton swabs. The bathroom had a digital scale (which was quite helpful when we were trying to weigh in our luggage to make sure we were within the weight limit). Even if you don't stay on the top floor, it seems like all the rooms are pretty much identical, because on our one night visit at the end of our trip we were given a room on the 6th floor and it had the same exact layout as the one we stayed at on the 19th.

We did not eat at the restaurants but we did have tea and another night we had drinks at the lobby. This is a nice area to congregate and use the free wireless internet only provided in the lobby. The prices were extremely pricey though and would suggest eating/drinking outside of the hotel if you are looking for more reasonable prices.

The location of the hotel was centrally located. There is a subway station right around the corner from the hotel. The Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square is about a 15 minute walk away. The night food market is a 5 minute-walk from the hotel. This is a must see and you won't believe the different types of authentic Chinese food you will find there! The hotel is also located to several shopping malls and souvenir shops. Restaurants are plentiful as well. We ate Pekking Duck at Da Dong which was a 3 minute walk away from the hotel. I highly recommend eating at this restaurant. The food was delicious and the place is tourist friendly. We also had dim sum at Lei Garden Restaurant located in the Jinbao Tower, another restaurant that was a 2 minute walk away from The Regent. This restaurant was not as tourist friendly. The staff was not fluent in English but that is what we loved about it. We just randomly picked some delicious dim sum and were very happy with our meal. Everything you need is right outside of The Regent Hotel.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as everything about it was 5 star all the way. There is absolutely nothing negative that I can say about it. If I'm ever lucky enough to visit Beijing again, I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey-Luly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel service is professional and attentive. The location is extrememly convenient, with good and reasonable Hong Kong owned and run restaurants, plus a Starbuck Cafe, next door. The rooms are well furnished and maintained. Free internet in the rooms. The view is pleasant.

Cons:
Internet band with is weak. Many sites, including all banking sites, are diverted by the hotel to avoid mal-wares. (Acutually, this could be considered a good thing by the establishment).

The lobby smells of sewage!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We returned on sept 28 from Beijing. We originally booked the Park Plaza but upon arrival we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and they put us up at the Regent. we readily agreed. The hotel picked us up at the airport on time and brought us to the hotel on time. The regent was a great 5* hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The room with twin beds was very comfortable and large. The bathroom with shower and seperate tub was great. The staff was excellent and they arranged a group tour with Grayline to Mutianyu on the Great Wall for us. The tourguide Alice was very knowledeable and friendly. We did stop at a Jade factory but not pressured. After leaving the Great Wall the tour group had a very good meal at a restaurant, served family style. It was better than we expected. We also stopped at Dr. Tea for a sales pitch on tea and various types. We bought tea pots for our children as they are tea drinkers. The hotel also arranged a Peking Duck dinner for us at the 1949 House, close to the hotel. It was expensive but the duck was delicious and the service impeccable. we felt it was worth the splurge, as it was our only one. They also arranged tickets for an acrobatic show, whic was very good too. The hotel would check the taxi number when we would return from visiting someplace.. They were great in getting taxis for us. The taxis were great for getting aound and would only cost $2-3 per ride. We ate at the hotel once for breakfast and while it was very good we found it too expensive, especially as there was a Starbucks just oiutside the hotel. We ate at Starbucks every morning for breadfast and it was vry good and helped keep costs down so we could do other things. The only downside was that we were tired one night ate in the hotels Italian restaurant. The pizza was horrible and my wife could even eat hers, though to the hotels credit they did not charge her for her meal.

We walked to Wangfujing, very close by and were amazed at the shopping. The concierge also recommended a very inexpensive dumpling house which was very good. If it weren't for her we would never have known about it. It is about a block from the hotel with no English name. She wrote it out for us so that we could recognize the Chinese characters. excellent place, a tip of the figurative hat to her.. All in all and excellent hotel, very comfortable no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ane4355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,482 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#27 of 6,556 in Beijing
558 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,556 in Beijing
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,722 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,897 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#104 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £111 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing