We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Regent Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regent Beijing
Ranked #30 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in December and had a wonderful time. The location of the hotel is great - direct access to the metro and a 5 minute walk to Wanfujing pedestrian mall. We walked or took the metro all over the city with no problems at all.
We asked for a room with a view of the Forbidden City and got this for no extra charge. Our room was spacious, clean with all the mod cons - internet connection was free.
The hotel gym was new and had sufficient equipment and gym staff magically appeared with bottles of water for you.
Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful and varied. The Italian restaurant in the hotel was lovely - didn't try the others.
We loooved this hotel and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selliot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    492
    83
    23
    13
See reviews for
210
453
91
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Our family stayed in 2 inter-connecting rooms for 7 nights during our Beijing holiday.

Every aspect of the hotel was very good to excellent. The staff were professional and very helpful. The location is very convenient and central (close to Forbidden City). A wide range of shops, restaurants and cafes nearby. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This is an excellent hotel within walking distance of Forbidden City. No complaints at all.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regent1, Managing Director at Regent Beijing, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is so very valuable as it help us keep our employees motivated and constantly energized to deliver the Regent Experience. We all work together with the common goal of delighting our guests and it is always a pleasure to hear from those who have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope that if you ever return to Beijing, you will once more give us the opportunity to be of service. Thank you for spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

From the moment we arrived (looking awful after an 11-hour flight and carrying backpacks), to the day we checked out, the service rendered was excellent. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and relaxing. We loved the view from the bedroom, either out onto the streets outside, or into the bathroom :)
We hadn't ordered breakfast as part of the hotel room, so we ended up ordering room service every morning; delicious!
The gym was great, we enjoyed watching and listening to cnn while working out, and the swimming pool was lovely, especially the really hot one.
I hope to return some time with my boyfriend, as I reckon the hotel rooms are made for romance :)

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

This hotel provides a great value for those who seek comfort but cannot afford Peninsula price (we paid around $130 a night). I would not rate it a 5 start hotel, but a top quality 4 star is well deserved. It is only 2 minute walk to the closest subway station, and there are quite a few very good restaurants right around it. A Starbucks is also only a minute away. We tried their breakfast buffet. The food was decent but it was packed over its capacity to provide good service. Skip it if you want to have your coffee or tea refilled. You would need a saint's patience. We also had dinner one night at the hotel's Chinese restaurant. Don't bother. Go to Huang Tin at the Peninsula. It was not cheap but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My parents and I stayed here during their visit to China and we had a fantastic time. The two most notable aspects of this hotel are the service and the location.

The location is excellent both for walking and taking the subway - which is great if you don't speak much Chinese because the subway can be a good backup plan if you can't get a cabbie to understand you or if you tire of Beijing traffic (which you will). The hotel is practically on top of Dengshikou station on Line 5, only a few stops away on the same line from the Temple of Heaven and Hongqiao Pearl Market. It is also walking distance to the Wangfujing Shopping Street and the Donghuamen Night Market. Technically it is walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City but its not a short walk, especially if you have already been walking around all day. There are a couple convenience stores within a 2 or 3 blocks for snacks, etc. also. The neighborhood appears sterile at first (nice hotels, department stores) but there are some interesting hutong streets also if you walk around a bit.

The staff at the hotel were excellent, especially at the restaurants. The concierge was very helpful in making bookings and arranging tours as well as giving directions. For some reason they recommend taking a taxi as opposed to the subway everywhere but maybe that's because they didn't trust me to get around on my own in the subway - its really quite easy so don't hesitate to take it even if they tell you a cab is their recommendation.

The rooms are nice and the beds and pillows are comfortable. All the food we had was good - particularly at the steak restaurant (on our break from Chinese food night). The gym is also well-equipped and larger than I expected.

My only complaint was that rooms on the street side of the hotel are pretty noisy. Although they have a nice view if you're sensitive to noise I recommend you stay on the courtyard side.

For the money I can't imagine you could find a better hotel in Beijing. The rate we found was at least US$100 less than any of the other five star hotels I looked at.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdlorenzbakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I had stayed at the Peninsula on my two previous trips to Beijing. I decided to try the Regent this time because it was about $100 a night cheaper and the suites looked wonderful. It was true! The suite was the nicest we have ever had - even two bathrooms! The President of Korea was there for a short time during our stay - security was tight - in fact, everyone was on our floor. We had the club room option and it was also wonderful. The only thing I found different from the Peninsula was that the staff did not have a good grasp of the English language. It was difficult at times to get our thoughts across.

All in all it was a fantastic bargain and I will stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#37 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Beijing

Property: Regent Beijing
Address: No.99 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#20 Family Hotel in Beijing
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#31 Business Hotel in Beijing
#145 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Beijing Hotel Beijing
Regent Hotel Beijing
Beijing Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing