We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing
Ranked #102 of 995 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Bike rental maximizes advantage of the splendid location.Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Clean, though small rooms. All make for excellent value for money. Also, valued detailed directions how to get to the Inn using public transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhisiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a great time there. Walking distance to Forbidden City, underground station and shopping centre. Staff spoke good English, and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Rooms are basic but modern, e.g. good showers. Toilets are behind curtains, which may be a bit awkward when sharing. No problems with WiFi. If the Taxi driver has problems finding the place (had this problem with several places), give them their phone number and they'll direct them.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravellingAlesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hostel was really difficult for our taxi driver to find even though we had the name of it in Chinese, he became really frustrated and much like everything else in China nobody in the hutong it is in seemed to have any idea where it was or could give any clear directions. After being in Beijing a couple of days we finally realised that the location of this hostel is in fact really good. It’s about a fifteen minute walk to the nearest metro north west along the edge of Hohai lake. If you cross the main road bisecting the lake (next to the hostel) and walk the opposite direction along the lake you will eventually reach bar street and then the drum tower and food street.
The hostel was undergoing refurbishment or even building at the time we stayed and we weren’t warned of this even though we emailed to book beforehand. There was no clothes washing facility (so we did it in our sink) and the communal areas were dusty with concrete dust. No food was served in the hostel as far as we were aware and it didn’t have a very communal backpacker feel to it.
This aside the girl at the desk was very helpful and the room was comfortable and had air conditioning (much required for summers in China and to escape the smog). We had a double bed and an en-suite shower and toilet with hot and cold water and good water pressure. Our bins were emptied each day and they gave us fresh towels. Though the shower and toilet and bedroom was separated by a clear floor to ceiling glass screen so ok for couples who don’t mind having any privacy whilst doing their business!
We were happy with our stay here but would probably try to choose somewhere else to stay next time we visit Beijing, though if the building work has been completed when you stay the space outside the rooms might be much better than we experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

took a chance in this hostel as it was located near local friends for 3 nights. Taxi driver got lost and left me at wrong place. room was adaquate, but no internet wifi on second floor in private room. Quite messy as there seemed to be renovations going on. Local friend was embarassed by state of reception area. Staff helpful. would possibly consider returning.

Room Tip: Private room had good secure storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine494932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I've heard so many great things about Sleepy Inn and they are all true! Although during the time that me and my friends were there they were doing some construction, Sleepy Inn personnel were very nice and accommodating.

The rooms are very functional and comfortable. The location is very accessible to the subway. However as an improvement, Sleepy Inn can provide small maps of the area with places of interests written in English so that travelers like me can appreciate exploring the lakeside better.

These are some suggested services that we were happy to experience:
1. airport pick up
2. Jinshanling Great Wall Tour
3. Train Ticket reservation

By the way, rooms are very affordable and reasonable. The Hutong area is really a charming place...just beware of rickshaw drivers!

Room Tip: In choosing a great room, email in advance. They speak and write fairly good English so it is easy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdhrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed at Sleepy Inn for 5 nights in January. Was a bit difficult for the taxi driver from the airport to find but we made it there.

Stayed in a double room with ensuite and was very pleased with the value for money. Clean room with excellent heating and bedding. Ate breakfast at the Inn every morning and enjoyed the excellent coffee and tea on offer.

Highlight of the stay is the l very peaceful location between two pretty lakes and the hutongs with excellent restaurants and bars. Was able to walk from our visit to the Forbidden City (about 45 minutes) which was very pleasant.

Staff were always very helpful with any requests for information or assistance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

... but, at least one cramped dorm room. Still, service and setting trump, and especially if you're not staying in a dorm, would readily recommend.

Stayed for a few days last May. Really, since I was alone almost the entire time, I don't have any complaints about the room (bathroom was nice and clean, room was spotless, bit of morning traffic if you're staying in the rooms at the back, as they front a fairly busy road). However, if the room was full, I think I wouldn't have been all that happy.

Location is truly lovely. A few days I wished I didn't have to walk quite so far from the metro back to Sleepy Inn (maybe it reminds me too much of my regular commute), but I also steadfastly refused to take any taxis and didn't take advantage of the bike-rental option. So many good walks in this area, and from the metro you can get anywhere you want to go pretty quickly. It's also nice to be in such a calm, quiet area after all of the action of Beijing.

And as everyone says, service is impeccable. Always helpful and smiling, I got quick and efficient service with directions, train tickets, laundry, drinks, u.s.w.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dont_Stop_Believin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#20 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,308 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,569 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing

Address: No.103 Deshengmen Nei Da Jie, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 995 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: £9 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside is quietly located along the bank of beautiful Shishahai Lake, the most popular tourist area of downtown Beijing. Shishahai Lake and the surrounding "Hutong" areas still preserve the traditional features of the Beijing old town, with courtyards, flourishing trees, and old hutongs, all bustling with life of real Beijingers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Inn Downtown Lakeside Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing