We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel but far from center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi
Ranked #156 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here for two weeks on business travel and wasn't bad at all. Clean and the staff is nice. Don't stay here if you want to be in the city though. It's a long way from anything on the sight seeing side of Beijing. The subway isn't too far away though (a couple blocks walking) and Beijing's metro is cheap and efficient. I used it often to get into the city and try some restaurants I'd heard about. Also, don't expect much English this far out from the city center...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuidoBandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Holiday Inn Express at Shangdi Beijing is an average property.Its quite far from Beijing city centre.Its advisable to stay here only if you have work in this area.Best thing about the hotel is there is direct bus service from Airport to this hotel and back every 30 minutes.Not enough food for vegetarians...but thats normal in China....Hotel is clean...front staff knows english which is helpful...dont make any International calls from this hotel...they will rip u off...Business Centre is excellent...Overall its a basic nice,clean hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised, after a very long plane ride, to find myself in a Holiday Inn in Beijing that rivaled any 4 star hotel I've been at in the US. Only there two nights and very busy so not a lot of time to explore the hotel, but the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Several spoke English well, which helped greatly. The rooms were clean and fresh, as well as roomy and well appointed. The linens were excellent and the bed slightly firm and very comfortable.

For those of you unaccustomed to Chinese style restrooms, it's all western and comfortable here. The price was reasonable and all in all an excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Well, I have to admit as a holiday inn hotel, it's not that excellent, when I first arrived, I was surprised that it didn't even have fridge in-room, nor is there a gym. I stayed at the hotel for nearly 5 months, from March to August 2011, on and off, because the client is closeby and there's not much choice if I don't want to commute in the infamous Beijing peak hour traffic.
But all the staff were very friendly, although sometimes not proficient, they all meant well and willing to give you a hand. Given the price paid, I think it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our office moved to a location near here (Zhonguancun Software Park). So, we decided to stay here, and avoid Beijing traffic.

The location is convenient. There is a free shuttle to the software park, as well as other high tech business nearby. There is no return shuttle, but you can find a taxi.

The hotel itself is not special. It's relatively new, so rooms are in good shape. The hotel seems aimed not at foreigners, but for Chinese. Many signs and brochures are not printed in English, only Chinese. The restaurant is very basic, with a couple fixed meals at night. Breakfast is ok, mostly Chinese.

For me, I'll probably stay further away next time at a nicer hotel and take the subway up. But, if you have business up here, don't want to deal with traffic or the subway, this is a reasonable alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The location of the Hotel is within short walking distance from the Shangdi MRT/Metro/Sub way station. The Hotel is mainly for the business traveller who wants to stay near the IT /Business Zone in Shangdi District. The best thing is the price - I am sure you wont get the Holiday Inn hospitality anywhere with this price.
There are couple of attractions like the summer palace etc are within short distance from this Hotel.
The Rooms are standard, but the breakfast is good. The resturent and bar is not that great, try out the food joints opposite to the Hotel.
The Hotel could be reached directly by the Airport Shuttel (if you have 2 Hrs to spare vis a vis about 1& half hrs & 140 RMB in cab) or MRT.
The reception and room service is good.
Try the small shopping place towards the Shangdi metro - for bergain shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed here twice for three weeks each trip. Unfortunately, the first trip yielded better results than the second. On the second trip, I found that the restaurant had been severely handicapped by whatever new business plan Holiday Inn had adopted, and they had replaced a decent 10 page menu with a one pager that had 6 items on it, half of which were not available.

Additionally, if you enjoy coffee in the morning, this is not the place for you. There were more than a few times the coffee machine was broken, but when it wasn't, the coffee it urned out was super strong and there was no option for cream, despite that on the first trip (and for the first few days of the second trip), cream was available. In fact, when I inquired with the manager about cream, he actually claimed they never served it, which was not true. In fact, he insinuated I was lying by saying they did, which I found offensive.

One night, I went down to get food around 9:30 pm. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 10 pm, but they had already closed despite that they were at full capacity. I thought this was unprofessional, but with the language barrier, when I inquired, they just looked at me like I was crazy. So I had to go to the little convenient mart that they have shoved into a closet sized space with very overpriced items (for example 6 RMB for a bottle of coke, or 25 RMB for a bowl of that instant noodle soup).

Despite the American brand, few staffers in the hotel spoke well enough English to assist me most of the time.

If you can find another hotel that better suits your "western" desires, do so, as this one barely cuts the mustard. The rooms are nice and clean, but the service leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crabideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Asian Games Village
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#159 of 6,599 in Beijing
105 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#111 of 6,599 in Beijing
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shangdi

Address: No.33 Shangdi East Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100085, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Shangdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Beijing. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Zhongguancun Shangdi information industry base with close proximity to the famous Tsinghua University and Peking University. Beijing Capital International Airport Shuttle Bus directly to hotel. The hotel is 10 minutes away from historical Summer Palace and Yuan Ming Yuan Park, Only 5minutes walking distance to Shangdi Subway station. The hotel features196 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 26 inch LCD television set, satellite and more than 70 cable channels including CNN, HBO, NHK, NOW, Phoenix and in-room safe. Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free buffet breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Beijing is the only international brand hotel in the area that truly understands the needs of business travelers.Hotel Address and Direction: -- No.33 Shangdi East Road Beijing 100085 P.R. China -- 200m s drive East from the East of Shangdi Roundabout.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Shangdi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing