We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay, but could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi
Ranked #134 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay, but could be much better”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed here twice for three weeks each trip. Unfortunately, the first trip yielded better results than the second. On the second trip, I found that the restaurant had been severely handicapped by whatever new business plan Holiday Inn had adopted, and they had replaced a decent 10 page menu with a one pager that had 6 items on it, half of which were not available.

Additionally, if you enjoy coffee in the morning, this is not the place for you. There were more than a few times the coffee machine was broken, but when it wasn't, the coffee it urned out was super strong and there was no option for cream, despite that on the first trip (and for the first few days of the second trip), cream was available. In fact, when I inquired with the manager about cream, he actually claimed they never served it, which was not true. In fact, he insinuated I was lying by saying they did, which I found offensive.

One night, I went down to get food around 9:30 pm. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 10 pm, but they had already closed despite that they were at full capacity. I thought this was unprofessional, but with the language barrier, when I inquired, they just looked at me like I was crazy. So I had to go to the little convenient mart that they have shoved into a closet sized space with very overpriced items (for example 6 RMB for a bottle of coke, or 25 RMB for a bowl of that instant noodle soup).

Despite the American brand, few staffers in the hotel spoke well enough English to assist me most of the time.

If you can find another hotel that better suits your "western" desires, do so, as this one barely cuts the mustard. The rooms are nice and clean, but the service leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    97
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
4
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I stayed here for a business trip, for this purpose the hotel was more than adequate. My room was modern, comfortable, clean and really large. The shower was a huge walk in shower. The TV has a number of cable channels (none English) but does include a sports channel. There is a safe in the room and free broadband. There is also free internet in the business centre. There aren't irons in the room but there is a "laundry corner" on the 3rd floor with ironing facilities. The hotel staff have a basic grasp of English but it is a struggle! There is a mini-bus to drop you at your office locally which is a great free service. It runs at about 4 allocated slots in the morning; I took it at either 08:15 or 08:45. The hotel is approx 7 mins walk to Shangdi subway, then about 40 mins (with 2 changes) into the centre of Beijing. I would not recommend for tourists due to the travel time to the major locations. Breakfast included a good selection of food, although we only had toast and orange juice. There were noodles and other traditional chinese foods for those who wanted it! The bar is quite small but they served us peanuts with our beer and the price for drinks was reasonable. Shangdi has lots of restaurants (including Pizza Hut and KFC within 10 mins walk).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallyBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

If you're staying in the ShagDi area (the countryside as I heard a few of the locals calling it) then this is not a bad place to stay in. I was here on business, my company's office being just 10 minute walk away (the area is trying to become a technical park type of area) and for this, it suited really well.
As all others note : this is not a hotel to stay in if you want to see the sights of Beijing. Miles too far out and not close to anything (although the Badaling expressway takes you to Badaling Great Wall which isn't far away), even the taxi drivers claim ignorance of this area at times (not wanting to make the journey). That said the area is still busy and thriving and its nice to see people going about their daily business.
Hotel itself is clean, functional and almost brand new on the inside. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is adequate (good mixture of local and foreign) and most staying here appear to be here on local business. Bedrooms were we proportioned and bathrooms were good. Lack of onsite gym may be a downside (seeing as you might be taking your life into your own hands if you were to go for a run outside :-)) but other than that chances are you'll be relatively happy here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I stayed in the hotel for a week for business trip and the impression of this hotel is generally poor. I would not recommend this hotel unless you need to stay near Shangdi.

Hotel is far away from town centre and you will need to walk 20 minutes for the nearest shopping centre. Although subway station is within 5 min walk but it still take you >45 min to reach town centre.

The breakfast provided is not good and it would be difficult to look for food around the hotel if you cannot speak Chinese.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I'll start my review first with the good stuff.

The hotel itself was great. The rooms are clean, well decorated, spacious, and the bathrooms are phenomenal. Overall, this hotel is one of the nicer hotels that I have been to considering I usually book budget type hotels. The front desk spoke English, which was a relief from other hotels that I stayed at during this trip. They were also VERY friendly and helped me with directions. I also really enjoyed the breakfast, but that is because I enjoy chinese food. The internet was fast and worked well, and the laundry machines were a nice touch. The area is not touristy, so it is a good relief for the day.

Now for the bad...I paid about $40 for a night on expedia thinking that I got a great deal, but later found out that this was a bit expensive in China terms. I had to pay 100RMB just to get here from the Beijing train station and the ride took about 45 minutes in traffic. To put that into perspective, I could have booked a room at a budget Chinese hotel in downtown for 150RMB. The metro is about 5 minutes away on foot, but at night it can get a little scary if you're alone. The deal breaker however, is that it takes about 1 hour and 2-3 metro transfers to get to key tourist places like Tian'an Men and The China Art Museum. If you miss the last metro back, be prepared for a 100 RMB ride back to the hotel. There also aren't any non-chinese food places around that you can eat late at night and the kitchen closes at 10.

Tips:
-Cab drivers don't speak English here so if you can, write down the Chinese address in Chinese characters or get the hotel. phone number so you can call reception.
-If you can, stay at a Holiday Inn Express, but choose another location like Temple of Heaven
-If you decide to stay here, prepare about 1 hour journey each way to downtown
-If you're looking to save some money and can speak a little Chinese, try the JinJiang Inn Temple of Heaven Location (190RMB), or the Bestay Express (109 RMB) instead. These hotels are the equivalent of China's chain budget hotels so you can be assured there won't be any funny business, and are in a great location. They speak a little English here too.
-If you use a rickshaw outside the metro to get back to the hotel, don't pay anymore than 5 RMB.
-Getting a China Mobile sim card is about 80RMB, and has 50RMB pre-loaded minutes on it. Call the China Mobile people (they speak English) and ask for the long distance plan to get dirt cheap long distance rates to call home. Be warned about roaming charges if you end up getting a Beijing cell number and call from outside the area though.
-If you can avoid it, do not visit the great wall at Badaling. Try to go somewhere else instead. You shouldn't have to pay more than 400 RMB for a tour. The tour that Holiday Inn Offers is way overpriced

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janicetran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Very clean, new and contemporary looking hotel. Spacious rooms with huge glass tiled bathroom. Situated close to the Summer Palace but away from everything else. Located 5 mins walk from Shangdi MRT station but the ride into downtown Beijing takes 30-40 mins. Lookout for the hoards of taxi drivers at the exit of the MRT station. Breakfast is included and you get to choose from the same set of 4 choices everyday.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisorLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

Despite its somewhat remote location compared to the major tourist attractions (except Summer Palace), we liked this hotel very much. The remote location and mainly target on business has the advantage that you are not accosted by people trying to sell you stuff as soon as you stick your nose outside. 500 Meters from Shangdi metro station on line 13. 'Retaurant' quite limited, but still 3 services a day, so enough as a fallback in case you do not feel like going out for dinner anymore.
Modern, clean and spaceous rooms.
Because it is quite new and a bit in an unusual area for a hotel, many taxi drivers do not know it, so be sure to take the hotel phone number with you so your taxi driver can call them for directions

  • Liked — very good price/quality ratio
  • Disliked — location, a bit out of the way, but close to metro
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmcBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Asian Games Village
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#165 of 6,473 in Beijing
185 reviews
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shangdi

Property: Holiday Inn Express Shangdi
Address: No.33 Shangdi East Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100085, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Shangdi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Beijing. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Zhongguancun Shangdi information industry base with close proximity to the famous Tsinghua University and Peking University. Beijing Capital International Airport Shuttle Bus directly to hotel. The hotel is 10 minutes away from historical Summer Palace and Yuan Ming Yuan Park, Only 5minutes walking distance to Shangdi Subway station. The hotel features196 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 26 inch LCD television set, satellite and more than 70 cable channels including CNN, HBO, NHK, NOW, Phoenix and in-room safe. Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free buffet breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Beijing is the only international brand hotel in the area that truly understands the needs of business travelers.Hotel Address and Direction: -- No.33 Shangdi East Road Beijing 100085 P.R. China -- 200m s drive East from the East of Shangdi Roundabout.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Shangdi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shangdi Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing