We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near Xidan train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #92 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here Nov 10-14. The hotel was very nice. We saw many foreigners in the lobby so it seemed like we werent the only ones who thought this hotel was a good place to stay. We took the shuttle bus to Xidan from the airport. The bus drops you off right at the corner. Its just a short walk from the Xidan train station. Just look for the tall antenna that sits atop the hotel. The room and the bathroom where nice and clean. The restaurants where a good place to eat if you didnt eat outside. They have a concierge inside that can arrange a tour. We took a tour to the Great Wall. The guide was very nice and the tour made stops at a Jade factory, The Ming Tombs and a Silk factory. The other people on the tour where all very nice and the came from all over the world. This is a good hotel with easy access from the airport and the Xidan train station was just down the streets to connect you with the rest of Beijing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlohaDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

We could not thank you enough for your comments and constructive feedback which enables us to improve our products and services to measure up to all guests' expectation. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 916 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Nagoya
11
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Since the subway is very very clouded in China, you need to take taxi or bus.The hotel is located in the other side of the street where the shuttle bus from the airport stops.

Front desk person speaks good English. Room is clean and enough wide.

The hotel is located the south end of shopping street and walking distance from the forbidden city.

Since changes in China is very quick, you have to check current situation if you are reading this article after 2012. They are building a shopping center south of the hotel. May be the location will be busier.

Price in mini-bar is very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

I could not thank you enough for your comments and constructive feedback which enables us to improve our products and services to measure up to all guests' expectation. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Junagadh, India
1
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed with my family and i enjoyed it very much. The location is excellent as well. I would recommend it anyone, who wants to stay near the subway train and city center.A good shopping area nearby as well

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay with us at the Grand Mercure Beijing central.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Location was very good, and the rooms were quite ok. Lounge had free wifi. Breakfast assortment was great and the setting really nice. Reception staff was not good at all. Check-in was passable, but check-out was like applying for a mortgage. I expect better from Mercure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_in_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing central. A great comment like this has certain been a positive energy injection for us to keep up and improve at work.We will improve our reception staff service level .We do our best to provide superior service to every guest. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Organised airport pick-up service with hotel and they had a meet and greet person to assist with translations. No problems with check-in. Rooms were clean. Beds were on the firm side and pillows on the soft side -- they have a pillow menu but we had a little difficulty with translations when we requested for the ones we wanted. They change towels even when we kept them hanging on the rail. Hotel's about a 20min walk to the Forbidden City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing central. A great comment like this has certain been a positive energy injection for us to keep up and improve at work.We will improve our staff English level and service awareness and ability.We provide superior service to every guest. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Zhoushan, China
2
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The location of the hotel is quite great, you can easily walk to the Tianmen Square and also some shopping centers are nearby. Sadly the service is not as good as expected, especially check- in and check- out took by far too much time. Also the room was not on the same level as I have experienced in other Grand Mercure Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing central. A great comment like this has certain been a positive energy injection for us to keep up and improve at work.The Front Office staff check-in and check-out service status have been brought to the attention to our Front Office Manager to follow up.We provide superior service to every guest. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The location is good, just five minutes walk from Subway line 1, which goes through the heart of Beijing. Modern building with good quality bedrooms. Efficient check in, unlike some other hotels in Beijing, with staff who can speak good english.

I was on the executive floor. Nice to have a snack tray when I arrived in the room. There other executive "perks" in particular the "happy hour", had a very limited range of snacks compared to other Mercure hotels I have stayed at (see my review of Shanghai Mercure). But the staff were always very helpful and friendly.

I used the internet in my room for email. This was slow and I had to often reboot, I suspect not a hotel problem, but due to all the Chinese filters. Better late at night or early morning.

The gym is very minimal for a 4 star hotel. But at least the machines work.

I do not want to sound too crtitical, because despite all the above this hotel is very good value for money. Compared the the last two Chinese owned 4 star hotels I have stayed in this was definitely the best experience and I will certainly stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing central. A great comment like this has certain been a positive energy injection for us to keep up and improve at work.We provide superior service to every guest. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,185 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#134 of 6,565 in Beijing
373 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#82 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £63 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing