We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #93 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Like some other reviewers we stayed here 2 nights as a pre cruise package and although I agree with some of the comments from the others it did have some good points. Free Wi Fi was available in the lobby which was also a bar area and unlike Alec's burger our toasted chicken sandwich was fine and so was breakfast.They did not have any disabled rooms available though

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. It’s always our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s breakfast and the Wi Fi.
Regarding the handicap room, we have one room available. Next time, if you have such a request, kindly inform us in advance, so that we could prepare the room for you.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Yous sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Nothing bad to say, hotel was clean, staff attentive, felt like somewhere you would happily stay for work but not so much as a tourist, food wasn't great but ok, overall disappointed with Beijing so perhaps reflected in view of hotel, stark faceless building just like the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We sincerely appreciate that you take the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.
Rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and we will strengthen our focus on the quality of our food. In addition, our new F&B Operation Manager is taking actions on restaurant food and service improvement. So, we wish you will have a refresh experience for your next visit to out hotel. Thank you!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to joining our cruise. Hotel OK staff ran around like headless chickens. Ran our of beer , ran out of wine glasses, was given a red wine in a brandy glass. Generally poor

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason198517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We appreciate your concern and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention.
It is with sincere regret that we noted your dissatisfaction with our services. Our Food & Beverage Manager is taking immediate action to enhance the service procedures. Emphasis on training the staff, especially new ones.
Once again, we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days before our cruise. They want your credit card right away and will ask you to enter your pin number. When you are given your receipt there could be any amount deducted. Everybody checking out the night before to save time but you will have to go throught the process all over again in the morning to have your card refunded with the amout they have deducted. This took me half an hour as they tried to fob me off. If you have paid for breakfast and you are on an early morning trip what a nightmare did it once never again as there was absolutely nothing left at breakfast. The hotel is really nice and rooms are large. Really good area right in the center with all the shops close by. Good and cheap Chinese restaurant just across the main road on the left hand side where you will be entertained by the English speaking staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 0501 which looked over the side of the hotel which was not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Regarding credit card issue, according to the hotel policy and procedure, FO staff will ask the authoritarian amount as deposit from the bank upon check in. The payment process is only completed upon check out with the real amount of the money you have spent. FO staff has been trained for the clear explanation on this procedure to the guest. About breakfast issue, Food & Beverage Manager has already taken immediate action to make sure all the food items are refilled on time during the entire buffet time. As you commented, our hotel is in the central of Beijing, it is very convenient to go to the shopping mall and the big supermarket.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights before joining a cruise at Tianjin Port. We arrived at teatime a day after leaving the UK so we were tired and needed to get in to our room as soon as possible. Unfortunately, their booking system was down and they could not allocate rooms. There were several other guests sitting around waiting, none of them very happy! However, they did give us a free drink voucher each which was very welcome. Some other guests said that the same thing had happened the previous day when they had checked in.
The room was large and well appointed, the bed although a bit hard was quite comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was adequate. We could have eaten in the main Restaurant but we chose to eat in the little Restaurant on the 10th floor and this was fine. Not an awful lot of choice but quite adequate.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an Executive room on the 10th floor and we were very glad that we did. The breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for bringing to our attention to the inconvenience you have encountered during your visit in our hotel in October.
Refer to the check in issue, Front office Manager has been informed and the training about how to do the efficient check in -even when the system is down has been done for all reception staff, especially new ones. Thank you for mentioning about the adequate breakfast in both our V9 Western Restaurant and Executive Floor Lounge. We will keep it up to better serve for all customers. Thank you.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before a cruise.The hotel is good but staff are terrible they don't speak or understand english and the service is terrible. Had to wait for up to an hour for a meal in the resturant At breakfast they run out of everything it was almost impossible to get a coffee and eventually the coffee machine broke down and they just turned off. Ordered a burger sent it back 4 times because it was cold,never did grt a hot one.
Complained to 2 managers they were just not interested.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments and our sincerely apology for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay.
Please rest assured that we have already passed your comments to Food & Beverage Manager and he is now concentrating on training the staff and also make sure all the food items are refilled for the entire buffet time.
We hope this experience will not impair your trust in Grand Mercure Beijing Central and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Yous sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here 3 nights whilst in China. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The room service is very good and quite cheap, a tip, use the drinks from the minibar for some reason they are cheaper than room service.
The restaurant is good and has some nice food on offer.
The breakfast has a good range for all chinese, western and other tastes. All food is piping hot.

The cleanliness of the hotel is very good and the room maids work very hard and do an excellent job.
The only gripe if I had to make one is the bathroom looked a bit dated where as the rest of the room looked modern and up to date.

It has an excellent location in the heart of Beijing for both sightseeing and shopping, as you turn right out of the hotel and down the road you will find a large shopping area. Another tip: Use the subways to cross the road they are clean, safe and stop you getting knocked down by the crazy Beijing drivers!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write the review and also thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice.
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our staff and enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Yes, our hotel is in central of Beijing. Three subways (Line1, Line2 and Line4) can reach our hotel around 5 minutes. To the north of our hotel, there are large shopping areas called Xidan and Da Yue Cheng. To the South of the hotel, there are also big shopping malls called Sogo. It is very meaningful for us to learn that you, as our guest, are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,547 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#134 of 6,599 in Beijing
378 reviews
Chongwenmen
Capital Hotel Beijing
Capital Hotel Beijing
#87 of 6,599 in Beijing
829 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#75 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#83 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £61 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing