We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$175
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$424
US$382
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$216
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
US$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$160
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
206
428
207
59
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
428
207
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiananmen squaretwo metro stationsexecutive floorwalking distanceminute walkup to dateshopping areaenglish speakerslobby barstayed here for nightssubway linelocation is excellenttaxi driverchinesesogochinainternet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in the Grand Mercure, Beijing 5th - 8th October, 2012 before joining a cruise to Singapore. The hotel is lovely, very clean and spacious and close to Tiannamen Square. Just don't drink in the hotel bar - cost us about £35 for 2 beers! Lots of smaller bars around the hotel - and much cheaper. But thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Would stay again if we were ever back in Beijing - which is an amazing city.

Room Tip: We took advantage of the upgrade to a King Size room with the Executive Lounge package - basically an exclusive lounge where internet access is free / snacks / drinks provided from 5.30 - 7.30 p.m. Just make sure they stock up each day as on our 3rd night there was no beer / spirits / mixers.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Linda,

Many thanks for your kind words and heartfelt encouragement, we are indeed delighted to learn that you have a pleasant stay and particularly enjoy the amazing Beijing tour. With Grand Mercure re-branding, we are focusing on provide superior experience and wish a fantastic stay to all of our guests.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Beijing Central in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Like some other reviewers we stayed here 2 nights as a pre cruise package and although I agree with some of the comments from the others it did have some good points. Free Wi Fi was available in the lobby which was also a bar area and unlike Alec's burger our toasted chicken sandwich was fine and so was breakfast.They did not have any disabled rooms available though

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. It’s always our pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel’s breakfast and the Wi Fi.
Regarding the handicap room, we have one room available. Next time, if you have such a request, kindly inform us in advance, so that we could prepare the room for you.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Yous sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Nothing bad to say, hotel was clean, staff attentive, felt like somewhere you would happily stay for work but not so much as a tourist, food wasn't great but ok, overall disappointed with Beijing so perhaps reflected in view of hotel, stark faceless building just like the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We sincerely appreciate that you take the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.
Rest assured that we have taken serious note of your comments and we will strengthen our focus on the quality of our food. In addition, our new F&B Operation Manager is taking actions on restaurant food and service improvement. So, we wish you will have a refresh experience for your next visit to out hotel. Thank you!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to joining our cruise. Hotel OK staff ran around like headless chickens. Ran our of beer , ran out of wine glasses, was given a red wine in a brandy glass. Generally poor

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason198517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We appreciate your concern and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention.
It is with sincere regret that we noted your dissatisfaction with our services. Our Food & Beverage Manager is taking immediate action to enhance the service procedures. Emphasis on training the staff, especially new ones.
Once again, we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days before our cruise. They want your credit card right away and will ask you to enter your pin number. When you are given your receipt there could be any amount deducted. Everybody checking out the night before to save time but you will have to go throught the process all over again in the morning to have your card refunded with the amout they have deducted. This took me half an hour as they tried to fob me off. If you have paid for breakfast and you are on an early morning trip what a nightmare did it once never again as there was absolutely nothing left at breakfast. The hotel is really nice and rooms are large. Really good area right in the center with all the shops close by. Good and cheap Chinese restaurant just across the main road on the left hand side where you will be entertained by the English speaking staff.

Room Tip: We were in room 0501 which looked over the side of the hotel which was not pretty.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanorrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Regarding credit card issue, according to the hotel policy and procedure, FO staff will ask the authoritarian amount as deposit from the bank upon check in. The payment process is only completed upon check out with the real amount of the money you have spent. FO staff has been trained for the clear explanation on this procedure to the guest. About breakfast issue, Food & Beverage Manager has already taken immediate action to make sure all the food items are refilled on time during the entire buffet time. As you commented, our hotel is in the central of Beijing, it is very convenient to go to the shopping mall and the big supermarket.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews