We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service for a fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #97 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
An Accor traveller
31
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel is located near the Xidan subway station (5 minutes walk). It is possible to take a bus from the airport to the city (Xidan) and then walk to the hotel. Close to shopping areas. The hotel has good location!
The hotel has rooms with good areas. The minibar in the room was not working or had drinks ... Good breakfast!
The tourist spots in Beijing are far ... the best is to use metro and taxis (outside rush hour)!
The hotel sells trips to the Great Wall of four hours, charging an extra hour if you spend the 4 hours! The ride is very good but it takes at least 5 hours! You can not fulfill 4 hours ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Rui S,

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel location, in the city central, and breakfast , which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, therefore your comments is very important to us. Thank you to bring out the minibar issue, which is notified to our executive housekeeper immediately, who will better arrange the fulfill and updating even at the time of inventory, to provide a good experience to our guest in room.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and look forward to your next visit to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Disappointing hotel. Poor finishes, poor service. Not to the usual Mercure standards. Only saving grace, perhaps, the large size of the room. However I would not reccomend it nor think of going back to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Ratio R,

Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

Appreciate to share your experience with us and please accept our sincere apologies if there’s any dissatisfaction caused. And your comments have been notified to our Operation director immediately and he will double review our P&P and SOP with all dept. heads and taking proper measures. We are conducting Grand Mercure welcome ambassador team assisting with reception and service. At Grand Mercure, we are striving to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently stayed at Grand Mercure Beijing Central at Xidan district at the beginning and end of China. Best comfort ever! Beds are soft and comfortable and nice spread of buffet for breakfast. 2-3 minutes walk to the metro station which is a bliss. Most staff are friendly and they even have French staff on the front desk who speaks very good English and who are very helpful.

Every evening, they have a beautiful young lady who played the "guzheng". Location very central (near Wangfujing) and we were very very happy having chosed this hotel as it is not only clean, spacious and comfortable but also because of it's location near a metro station. Everything is just a metro away (2 Yuan per ticket)! I would definitely recommend this hotel. They also have a nice swimming pool. After a long hot day, it is nice to be able to enjoy the pool. Frankly why bother with taxi?

Room Tip: We requested for a non-smoking room and were given the 9th floor. Very quiet. Nice view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China.

we are indeed delighted to learn that you have a pleasant stay and particularly value our Room condition, buffet and friendly service, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. As for info, the amenity of playing the "Guzheng" is one of Grand Mercure signature after re-branding which is most tailor made to China, and we are so glad you like it.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank slxhggg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank caxtonlo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are currently staying in this hotel for 4 nights. It is in a great central location and most places are within easy reach, mainly by the subway. Line 2 and 4 are within only a few minutes walk from the hotel and it only costs 2 yuan for a single ride. The subway is very easy to use. There is a big shopping centre within a 10 minute walk and the forbidden city is about 20-25 minute walk.
The hotel is good. It has a nice lobby area where there is free wifi. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was quite big. It had all the amenities that you would need apart from an iron. Bathroom was ok but in need of updating. One major issue for me was the bed. I think it has to be the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in- extremely hard and I didn't get a good night sleep for the entire stay. This isn't a good combination with jet-lag. However the room was clean. Breakfast buffet was good and provided a wide range of food. Staff were helpful when we checked in and out. I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind rock hard beds!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#59 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,729 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#76 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £62 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing